We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Central Hotel Wolter
Nearby Hotels
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eigerblick(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$752
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$717
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tschuggen(Grindelwald)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alte Post(Grindelwald)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
94
119
50
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
119
50
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busannex buildingmind your headhalf boardsmall kitchenlocation is greatbreadclose to the train stationfamily roombetween seasonsstar hotelsingle roomhotel breakfastview from the balconyrestaurants and shopsenjoyable stayswiss style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I have stayed here 6-8 times in the last 10 yearsfor hiking trips and always find the folks at the front desk very helpful and friendly.
With the US$ so devalued I usually opt for a cheaper room on the 4 th floor but it is always clean bright and modern and with a great view to the alps!
The breakfast buffet is quite good for a 3 star property offering the usual cheeses meats rolls breads fresh fruits coffee.This year noticed the addition of egg dishes which one does not often find at 3 star properties.
Excellent location :an easy 1-2 minute walk from the train .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggerduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

A scene of fake 3D rocks overhead on the ceiling ('like looking out of a cave' said my wife), alpine views on the wall, cupboard and fridge, and even a mountain goat with its head jutting out from the wall, greeted us when we entered our bedroom but after the initial shock we took it in good fun and this reflects the whole hotel. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful, nice buffet breakfast with hot and cold food, a terrace for guests overlooking the Eiger, and we had a lovely dinner with some of the nicest staff I have ever encountered. OK, the bathroom was small, and our view out of the bedroom window was bleak, but it was still great value and the location in central Grindelwald, and only 2 minutes walk from the station made up for this.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Our room was small, but bright and cheery. The bathroom was large and had a heated towel rack that we really enjoyed. There was a small table in the room, which served as a dinner table (if you bought food from the grocery store) or desk. The associated restaurant was great -- we ate there 3 of our 5 nights, and we ate at an affiliated hotel/restaurant on another night. Kangaroo was even on the menu (because the chef came from Australia). The ice cream desserts were beautiful and tasted great. Breakfast was good, but as other reviewers have commented, you need to get there early in order to get any of the fresh fruit. There were always Japanese tour groups at the hotel, but they were well mannered. They did, however, tend to eat breakfast before we did, and the would overwhelm the breakfast room and eat the fresh fruit before we got there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BigTrips/Year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

The Central Hotel Wolter was recommended by the Grindelwald Tourest Bureau: they were very helpful in suggesting alternatives that meet needs and budgets over the phone. The Hotel is located at the center of town, very convenient to the central bus parking and the train station (These are very clean, quiet, and tasteful facilities: there are no worries about noise or safety and it's a net plus for convenience). Covered parking is located behind the hotel (get directions at the desk).

Reception is located up one floor from the street level, where there is a restaurant: for disabled people, there is elevator service to Reception at the back of the restaurant. The desk gave a discount for a two night stay, and provided maps and directions for local trail, lifts, and restaurants. There is an elevator up to the rooms, and the hotel is quiet and clean. Rooms are traditional, lots of exposed wood and beams with a very nice balcony. Street noise was moderate and continuous through the night. There are no 'large' beds, only single beds pushed together. Wireless internet access is free (coupon at the desk), and there was minibar, cable television., and safe in the room. The bathroom had a tub and shower, good hot water and pressure.

Breakfast is served in the lounge adjacent to reception: the buffet has meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, and fruit: coffee pots are left for you at your table. It's good to get there early: as items were depleted, they were not replaced, and fruits and meats were in short supply. There are a number of good lunch and dinner spots within walking distance if you go up the road away from the train station towards the First chair lift.

The views of the mountains are magnificent from the hotel: when the clouds part, the full face of the Eiger looms overhead. There are wonderful trailheads a short bus or train ride away, or take a lift to the upper meadows and walk down.

The Hotel Wolter is a comfortable and traditional property located in the center of the city. It is a good choice for travelers wanting to relax in a place with easy access to all of the activities and sights of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We originally booked this hotel as it was the only one in Grindelwald that had free child places at the the time we wanted to travel. I was expecting a rather shoddy little hotel judging from some of the other reviews and was totally prepared not to expect anything great. Well, we had a very pleasant surprise.
After a 2 and a half hour train journey from Zurich airport (all of which was beautiful scenery) we were thrilled to see the hotel was literally across the road from the train station. No taxi needed or long walk with two children in a pram and suitcases. The hotel reception is above the hotels restaurant (not a pub as earlier described). You do have to climb some stairs but unless you are disabled or otherwise infirm it really is not a problem. The staff were really friendly and were expecting our arrival. The breakfast room leads off of the reception and is a bright and airy room with views of the Eiger Mountain. We were staying on the 4th floor and had interconnecting rooms with balconies with tables to sit and view the mountains (if you wished...not suitable for us because of the kids kept trying to climb over the balcony!) Bathroom was a good size, beds a little hard but not a prob, mini bar in each room and two tv.s, safe in one bedroom. We were staying on a half board basis and again I was not prepared for anything special. But the food was great! Four courses, all lovely fresh ingredients and really filling. They gave us a childs menu for the kids and they had extra icecreams every night. The restaurant has a really warm, homely feel. We were very comfortable. There is no swimming pool or other luxury touches but for the money you wouldn't expect there to be. There is so much to do here that you really dont miss these facilities. And if you really want to go swimming - or ice skating - , they give you a free pass to the sports centre just up the road. This looked really nice and is worth a visit with the kids - we however didn't go as we really didn't have time. The tourist info office is next door.
The train rides in the mountain are excellent - but very, very expensive - be prepared. Still worth the money. The trip to the top of the Jungfrau is amazing. The scenery is jaw dropping. Our boys are 3 and 5 and even they enjoyed it. They loved the fact that they could play in the snow at the top. They also loved the cable car rides and the horse and carriage ride.
October is the end of the season for Grindelwald and some cable rides are closed. There was hardly anyone in the village at times! But it didn't effect us, we still did everything we planned to do. The Tea Rooms in the village do excellent food by the way. The town is small but it has everything you need.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as a good, warm base. No frills but certainly adequate and we would stay again should we go to Grindelwald. Switzerland is outstanding, picturesque, people are friendly and well organised.
You must go.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovefrance22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews