We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views, Helpful Staff, Good Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Views, Helpful Staff, Good Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We opted to stay in Grindelwald for our time spent in the Jungfrau region. We were thinking of staying in one of the other smaller villages higher up in the valleys, but the weather was looking iffy and we had a rental car that we wanted to make use of to explore the region.

Grindelwald, while known as being a more "touristy" and busy village in the region is still fairly small and provides awesome views of the Eiger and surrounding peaks. We found it to be a great home-base for day trips up the mountains via gondolas and trains to the other small mountain villages and various sights. I'm not sure if all rooms face the same direction, but the rooms that overlook the main road and the valley up to the Eiger are amazing. I spent every evening relaxing on the small balcony in absolute awe of the mountains and incredibly bright green hills. A walk down to the lobby bar to pick up a large cold glass of local beer to bring back up to the room to be enjoyed with the balcony view capped off a great day of exploring/hiking.

The rooms at the Jungfrau lodge were clean (albeit older) and comfortable. The included breakfast was decent with a good selection of usual german/swiss items (cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurts, juice, coffee, dried fruits, etc...). Considering how pricy things are in Switzerland, the Jungfrau lodge was a good deal.

They offer wifi, but you have to pay about 5CHF for 24 hour login credentials (I've seen worse). The staff was friendly and the ladies at the front desk helped us purchase a couple of gondola/cable car tickets as well as a pair of train tickets up to Wengen.

As I said, there is a lot to do and see in the region, and I feel that Grindelwald was a good base for heading out to the other towns (especially if you have a car at your disposal). If so, I can recommend the Jungfrau Lodge as a budget-friendly yet quality accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew_jitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    100
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
117
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We had been here for two nights in our honeymoon trip. As this was our first time in Swiss so we have a lot of questions to ask, the girl in the reception (I cannot remember h2er name) was so nice and always reply us in details and with respectful manner. The view in our room was amazing that I still missing even I had left for a couples weeks. Would definately return and hope we can meet the reception girl again in our next visit:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ph0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

My cousin and I spent one night here during a rail trip around Europe; we were on a tight budget and booked into this hotel primarily because it was so much cheaper than most of the others! We imagined for the price that it would be more like a youth hostel than a hotel but we couldn't have been more wrong!
The room was clean and spacious with a balcony and amazing views of the mountains, the public areas were very cosy and traditional, and breakfast was great - loads of choice. It was really useful to have a computer with free internet access in Reception too!
Special mention however must go to the incredibly helpful and pleasant reception staff who came to our aid during a crisis. My cousin fell very ill during our stay and they couldn't have been more accommodating. For no extra charge they let me help myself to food from the breakfast buffet to take up to him in the room, even providing me with a tray, a carafe of hot water and lots of little extras. We were meant to be checking out after breakfast but my cousin was too poorly to travel and they found him another room so that he could stay an extra night. Unfortunately I had to leave him and travel to Germany but the hotel staff loked after him in my absence, sending up more food (again for no charge) and checking up on him. When he was feeling a little better the following day, they helped him make all the necessary travel arrangements to fly back to the UK. We can't thank them enough for their kindness.
To have received such service in such a gorgeous hotel in such a wonderful location, the price we paid was unbelievable! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for breathtaking mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Super Location.. Perfect for Great Romantic Trip stay.. Breakfast is good so as Front desk Staff..
..Highly recommended!!..The staff was friendly and spoke good English. Very excellent view on mountains from Balcony @ Day or Night . train Station is only few min walks. is you have more bags than hotel staff will be more than happy to help you at no extra cost. Once again staff is very friendly and will give you good touristic advice. WOW factor when you see through your window out ..

Room Tip: Perfect for Great Romantic Trip stay.Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron-IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

There is no elevator in this hotel
The rooms are quite small
Some parking lots are very tight
There is no heating system for your ski boots.
The bathroom is small
Wifi and internet is not free

So why go to this hotel ?

There are more than enough positive things about this hotel that more than compensate for these negative points :
- staff is very friendly and give you good touristic advice
- the bar is very cosy and charming
- as always in Switzerland : everything is squeaky clean
- what a view from the balcony ! OMG !
- the ski bus stops at 100 meters from the hotel, the train station is just an 8 minutes walk away (walking with ski boots and skis)
- Food, both breakfast and dinner, is very good, especially if you consider the price
- And yes, if you consider the price, you really get value for your money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building. The adjacent building is across the street so you have to go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerrit-StPauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosca, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Very nice view on mountains. Balcony with small table and chaits. Clean room. Big soft bed and a lot of snow around. Very good staff, especially receptionist Andrea. Go to restaurant on the main bus station - very good food there

Room Tip: Go for new building Crystal - it is new and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

They were right. We stayed at the Jungfrau Lodge, and WOW what a view we had. The Lodge we stayed in was very nice and much cheaper than many of the Hotels there. The staff was friendly and spoke some English, A refreshing change for us. Our room looked out on the green hills with gingerbread houses scattered throughout. It reminded me of a Grandma Moses painting.
We so wanted to ride the train up the mountain but the weather would not cooperate. It was partly sunny when we arrived but very quickly clouded up. Then came the fog, then rain, then snow on the mountains. The next day was no better so we pushed on to our next destination.
With a little luck and a little money left we will return to Grindelwald. We need to ride that train!
Go to Grindelwald. You will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryPatandWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.9 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel

Property: Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 49, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Swiss Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing