We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The view from the room was amazing. The room is quite basic though - like an old lodge. The breakfast was ok.

I would still recommend this hotel for being value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohitb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hotel advertises with decent p-ricing at the roadside, when asked they will tell you it's a really basic room, without bathroom. We took a room with bathroom and breakfast. The room was a bit shabby, though reasonably clean. A nice seventies-style shower curtain completed the step-back-in-time experience. We had bed and breakfast so no judgement about diner. Breakfast was ok, but nothing more than that. Fried eggs were at a supplement of 8 francs a piece. I can imagine a supplement for a champagne breakfast, but for fried eggs?????

Room Tip: Avoid this one, check the internet for better value hotels
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

i got double booking and no room, so very terrible . they should inform to me , when they get the double booking. they introduce another hotel which has tree star. i dont know which hotel is better .they should introduce good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank ぽんた2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Nice located hotel with friendly, helpful staff. We stayed for two nights at a apartment type building on the other side of the street from the main building. Although the building itself don't perfectly match the Swiss-mountain atmosphere, the room was cozy just like a nice old lodge, and the view from the room was absolutely fantastic.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank frauunterberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel lives up to its reviews. The staff are amazing. I forgot my jacket and just when it seemed like my weekend of hiking was going to be ruined, they lent me a jacket to wear. Awesome.

I stayed in a single room which even came with a bathrobe to make the trips to the shared facilities more comfortable.

Good breakfast too. 5 mins walk from the train station. I give this hotel 10/10!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in the lodge not the annex. The room was more than adequate, beds comfortable. The staff were 5 star (Kristeen, Nichole, Jacques, Peter. ...) and always eager to help. The breakfast was basic but plentiful and the dinners were always a surprise and very enjoyable.

The one negative baout the room was that it was a bit hot and it was difficult to get any ventilation with the drapes closed.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the lodge. All double rooms face the Eiger.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brobadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

First of all the positive comments
1. Great views of the Eiger as have most hotels in Grindelwald
2. Excellent reception staff who couldn't do enough for us
3. Excellent cleaning staff who kept our room spotless
Now the negatives
1. And this is a big one. We booked to stay at a traditional Swiss Chalet hotel as shown on the advertising material. What we got was a 1970s style pre cast concrete block clad with pre cast concrete slabs, typical of ( inmo) old East German brutalism architecture. It was.situated on the other side of the road and further up towards Grindlewald, not very convenient when it was raining, which it did frequently during our stay. Quite simply we felt cheated. If we wanted to stay in a UK Premier Inn or a US Howard Johnson syle hotel we would have booked one!
This "annexe" even has another name, The Hotel Crystal!
2. Very few facilities, and those which were available on demand were extras.
3 by Swiss standards, the breakfasts were modest. The only hot food were bullet hard boiled eggs. Bacon was available but for £8 extra. On one day only there were croissants, however we were too late to get some and we never saw any again, just brown bread to cut yourself and rolls. Compared to the breakfasts we have had earlier on our tour through Germany, this did not begin to compare.
4. Paid over 30% more than they were charging direct at the hotel, using Trivago/ Olohotels - Will certainly never again book with Olohotels.
5. Not a significant point but as the TV stations available catered for Swiss, German, French Austrian, American and Italian guests amongst others, there were no English stations for U K visitors.
No BBC World Service - one of the World' s most watched international stations?
This may seem a somewhat critical review however for what we booked and what we were provided we felt very let down. Only the superb staff saved the day for us, and of course the views.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the main hotel and you are not stuck in the Annexe
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 49, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £91 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Swiss Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing