We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bodmi is simply the best!!”
Review of Hotel Bodmi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bodmi
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. The Owners and staff were very warm and courteous, very child friendly. I stayed with my wife and three children (under 7 years old), the room was catered exactly to our needs. The service was great right from the start of the day breakfast to dinner. The food was very good with tasty traditional Swiss dishes. Our room amenities was maintained to a very high standard better than some 4 and 5 star hotels that we have stayed in. We had a balcony and wonderful view of the Wetterhorn and other mountains. Hotel Bodmi is ideally located a couple of minutes from the Childrens Ski School, with Ski/Snowboard hire on site. Other activities to keep both Adult and Children busy if you do not want to Ski. The Owners are very knowledgeable on all activities, transportation and must see places. We could not have asked for more and will certainly return again next year.

Room Tip: State clearly your needs during the enquiry process. Unlike the larger hotels, the Owners will alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic - Nana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Bodmi on an Inghams 10 day package, and booked a Junior Suite which we upgraded to a South facing suite so that we could get the fantastic Eiger views.

We were picked up at Grindelwald station by a Bodmi taxi, and on our arrival at the hotel we were given a warm welcome by Elisabeth and Kurt. Our room was spacious, well furnished and extremely clean, which was a feature of the hotel. On returning to our room every day after a long walk in the mountains, it had been cleaned and polished to a very high standard.

The room had a flat screen TV with over 100 stations and for English speaking guests, there were plenty of channels to choose from – BBC1-4 + BBC World, ITV 1-4, Channel 4, Channel 5, CNN, E4 plus a few more.

The food in the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was beautifully laid out with fresh fruit juice, hams and cheeses, different granolas and mueslis, yogurt, dried and fresh fruits and my favourite, Bircher muesli. A variety of freshly baked bread was also available with jars of home made jam to choose from. The evening meals were also fantastic. As we were on a package, our meal was a 4 course set menu, which was different every evening we stayed there. The food was delicious, well presented, and garnished with edible flowers grown specially by Elisabeth.

There was free Wi-Fi in the room which was fast enough to hold a Skype conversation.

We absolutely loved our stay in the Bodmi and cannot recommend it highly enough. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and one of their favourite sayings was ‘keine problem!’

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed with my wife and adult daughter on 31st August 2013 for 1 week at the Hotel Bodmi. This was for the second time, the last time being in 2006. The Hotel is perfectly located to give the best views of the Grindelwald valley, facing the Eiger, the Shreckhorn and the Wetterhorn, all towering across the valley. The food at the hotel was excellent, the four course meal each night was varied, well presented and delicious. The rooms are large and well furnished with A TV with English programmes, a writing desk, comfortable beds and a balcony with comfy reclining chairs to sit in late afternoon after a hard day in the mountains.
The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful and al spoke English while being happy to help us to speak a little German, which we enjoyed.

I will definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Grindelwald.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location, fairly quiet and very handy for walking. Staff give excellent service. Food is excellent although portions are quite large. weekly BBQ is extensive and breakfast taken on the terrace watching the sun creep over the mountains is a wonder to behold. Staff are knowledgable and helpful in arranging trips such as paragliding.

Room Tip: Larger rooms at back of hotel whilst smaller ones at the front have views of Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandSwissfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I visited Switzerland for the very first time this summer. Hotel Bodmi was simply the finest choice we could have made for our stay in this peaceful paradise of Grindelwald. Hosts Elizabeth & Kurt were the most gracious and friendliest of people that both helped, guided and listened to our needs at every opportunity. Their staff were so extremely attentive, without over intrusion. The surrounding panoramas speak for themselves and quite literally "take one's breath away!"..we had a suite that gave us every comfort that was required and views of the Eiger & Wetterhorn that will linger constantly in our memories. This hotel runs with precision and attentiveness that will make any stay an unforgettable experience, whether it's the exceptional standard of food from their kitchen, or the peaceful tranquility of the evenings. The 6 day Jungfrau pass is well worth the purchase if you really want to see this beautiful region, whether hiking on foot, taking the train, bus or gondola. We were graced with some beautiful warm sunny weather, which was just an added bonus to this indelible experience. Really can't wait for a return visit, please don't look beyond this perfect hotel and location for your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishing08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Owned and closely managed by a vivacious former Swiss ski champion, Elisabeth, who grew up hier on a farm, and her charming husband Kurt, who many guests at first think is George Clooney's younger brother, this chalet is totally unique in Grindelwald in that it is 300 feet above the busy village, and o.5 km east, surrounded by fields so that you feel totally alone in the splendor of the high alps, yet only a five minute ride in the Bodmi van to the heart of the village. Most guests prefer to walk into town, and up to numerous hiking spots above the Bodmi.
Kurt has added a dozen goats to staff of the hotel, and they work hard providing the ingredients for Kurt's homemade cheese. The goats graze in the extensive fields surrounding the Bodmi, sharing the meadows with the occasional para gliders that float down from the nearby peaks.
The views are fantastic, even in a country filled with terrific viewpoints. The hotel looks out in the center of the Fiescherhorner, the twin peaks above the Grindelwald Glacier. Perfect symmetry.
The waitresses in the Bellavista restaurant are delightful. Dining on their terrace, surrounded by mountains, glaciers, meadows , and goats, is a treat.
We return to the Bodmi annually, and are greeted with an introduction by Elisabeth to the improvements they have made that year. This year the dining terrace furniture was totally new. Even the goats were rewarded with a fancy new terrace of their own.

Stayed: July 2013
5  Thank TourDeSuisseKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Good famil hotel, but I think they should work hard a bit to renovate the rooms, towels are tiered & looks ugly..some coloring need to be added somewhere..
Overall the owners are very friendly & welcoming. View from balcony is spectacular & excelent for relaxtion

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdulrahman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
#29 of 41 in Grindelwald
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodmi

Address: Terrassenweg 104, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £218 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bodmi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation like in a picture book. A hotel for individuals! Our hotel offers you all comfort with spa in the stable and a unique view. Very quiet location within green meadows, situated directly at the ski-runs, hiking-trails and ski-school area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bodmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodmi Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing