We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy little chalet for three with terrific views”
Review of Hotel Kirchbuehl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kirchbuehl
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
BARCELONA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cozy little chalet for three with terrific views”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

After two weeks in Switzerland we spent our last two nights in a nice Chalet in the surroundings of Hotel Kirchbul.
Close to the village but far enough to be an extremelly quite place to sleep or take night pictures of the stunning scenery (weather permitting).
Staff absolutelly attemptive and willing to help. Free parking besides the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    53
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
75
124
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wistow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in Chalet Fruggerhorn at Hotel Kirchbuehl and it was fabulous. Very spacious and comfortable, plenty of room in the apartment and a huge balcony overlooking the Eiger.
The location and views are stunning and only a short walk into town....the walk back however is another story entirely..........steep to say the least, but worth it for the views.
The hotel picked us up from the staion and transferred our luggage to the chalet, we then had dinner in the Swiss restaurant which was nice but very small which made it very hot. The next two nights we ate in the International restaurant which is much bigger with views over the mountains. The food and service were both superb, the staff were very friendly and the owner/manager (not sure which) stopped at every table every night to say hello and enquire if all was well.
Breakfast is a large buffet with everything you could want. Unfortunately we missed the cake buffet every day as we were so busy being tourists!
We also sat out on the terrace on a couple of occasions, really nice to sit back in the sunshineand enjoy the views.
There really is so much to do and see here, I feel like I need another break to recover.
I would definately recommend this hotel and the chalets, perfect mini-break and could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01022010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at the apartment & it was great! The kitchen was stocked with what you would need for short stay. Laundry facilities were available near by for our use also. It s a ways from town but an easy walk or can get bus to get around.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham - UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very nice hotel situated in stunning surroundings, extremely helpful and friendly staff and excellent food in the restaurant. A bit off the main high street in Grindelwald but liked that as its also very quiet at night. Can't really comment on the Spa facilities/gym as I only had a look at these but did not use (but who wants to go to a gym in an area like Grindelwald!)
Would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolzano
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We spent 4 wonderfull days in Grindelwald, unfortunately not in the Kirchbuehl, but looking we came by chance and beeing so warmly welcome, with excellent food on a beautiful terrace with a stunning view, we "had" to come back a second time.
The food presentation, freshness, homely made made just a perfekt place to go !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philfisgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We took an apartment there because it was cheaper than the hotel rooms and we didn't care about having the spa/wellness or internet nearby. Very happy about the choice: the apartment was larger than a typical hotel room, very quiet, great view on the Eiger, and we had hotel-quality service. Great breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff, all of them. Also found very convenient to buy the train passes at the hotel and charge them on the room. Restaurants are very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have been to Grindelwald several times and have stayed at various hotels in town. The last two times I've been there, I've rented one of the Chalet apartments that are owned/managed by the Hotel Kirchbuehl. I like the location -- sort of the east end of town -- where it is close enough to all of the restaurants and shops in town, but just far enough away to not be in the middle of all of the tourists --and Grindelwald has lots of tourists. Last time I stayed in the Chalet Dolomit; this time in HIlty Hus. The living and kitchen areas were in pretty good shape, but the bedroom and especially the bathroom really needed updating. However, the views are great and it's peaceful and quiet. Plus, I like that the hotel is nearby and you have the front desk to help you with whatever you need. In fact, one day I wanted to cook something that needed to go into the oven and there wasn't really an oven dish. I mentioned it at the front desk, and when I returned from hiking that afternoon, there was a brand new dish sitting on my kitchen counter! If you are looking for something fancy, then these chalets probably aren't for you, but if you are okay with something a litle more rustic and lived in, then these would be fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagsPacked58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kirchbuehl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchbuehl

Property: Hotel Kirchbuehl
Address: Kirchbuehlstrasse 23, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#15 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kirchbuehl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First-class holidays at the foot of the north face of the Eiger: the chalet-style Hotel Kirchbuhl, which includes some holiday apartments, has been run by the Brawand family for four generations. Personal care and attention is therefore part of the special charm of this comfortable first-class hotel, which is also famous for its food: while you can find sophisticated delicacies in the gourmet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kirchbuehl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirchbuehl Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing