We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy, but paper-thin walls”
Review of Nature's Friends

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nature's Friends
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights and the view from the (tiny) window was simply amazing. The beds were not really couple-friendly and the walls made every conversation well audible from at least one room over. However, since this is not the party hotel, the sleep was sound and unbroken.

The hotel is a bit from the center, so when the buses stop going (at about 7pm during summer) you have to walk which in this town means height difference. But it doesn't take long (10 minutes) as long as you go without your luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergman740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Nature's Friends
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stayed here with my teenage daughter and the place was great.
it was a bit of a trek up the path to the hotel but, no point in going to Switzerland if you are expecting it to be flat. The reward, however, was opening the window to our room and seeing the Eiger in front of us...it almost didn't look real (a picture postcard).
The owners were perfectly pleasant and very hospitable...rooms were small but perfectly okay....and breakfast was an excellent choice of breads, pastries, yoghurts, fruit, cereal...and much more. Prices were very reasonable for Grindelwald so would definitely recommend...we have been back twice since.

Room Tip: Take a taxi from station if you not feeling fit
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevontrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I really have nothing bad to say about this hostel. We stayed for 3 nights while touring the Jungfrau region. Simple but clean rooms, a fine breakfast, free web access, laundry facilities - plus the view from the front garden is nothing short of spectacular! Yes, the walls are thin, but armed with earplugs we slept well. I would however echo the cautionary note of other reviewers regarding the steep walk up to the hostel from Grindelwald village. Approaching on foot is probably best avoided in favour of the bus if elderly or infirm. Great place overall.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meenaleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

http://www.nfh.ch/grindelwald_e/the_nf-hostel_.php

Great hostel, situated at the highest point of the village.
I suggest you go either by bus (check the timetables, the stop is "Naturfreundehaus"), or be prepared to hike. Ok, it's not so uphill, but the path that leads you to the hostel may be too steep for older travellers who also carry luggage or skis.
The owners are very nice and pleasant and the breakfast's buffet competes with many 3-4 star-hotels that I've been to: a big varirety of jogurt, cereals, nuts, jams (some made by the owner's wife), bread, a bit of cheese and ham, a choice of teas, coffee, hot chocolate... and I's sure I'm forgetting something.
However, the walls are too thin, as are the floors too. You could hear the people next to your room talk and walk. But if you're into the sporty life, which means you'd anyway wake up at 7-8 in order to go skiing (and have breakfast, which finishes at 08.50), you won't mind a lot. But if there's a group of students or you want to sleep more, bring good earplugs with you.

Other than that, the hostel has free internet (wireless or a pc situated at the entrance), great fondue and rösti, 4 showers for each gender. The rooms are very narrow, but I don't think you'd want to stay in and miss on the great nature and activities out there- plus, it's one of the best hostels I've been in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlgaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We found the Naturfreundehaus in our Rough Guide, and easily booked it by emailing the owner. It was easy to find, but is located a short way out of Grindelwald, so you need to be good at walking down and up a hill for dinner, or happy to drive and not drink. It was 100CHF for the night, so quite cheap (about £60).

The hostel is nice and clean, with basic rooms. The curtain didn't close properly but it had shutters so was dark. However, this meant the room was then very hot. At the time we visited (August 09) the car park was being dug up, so we had to unload our bags, and then go and park the car down the road. The few spaces that were available were kept for older guests, so as we were the youngest and fittest we were told by the owner to park down the road. We still had to pay the 5 CHF parking fee though! I thought this might have been waived given the inconvenience..... Our roon was a bunk bed and a single bed, and there was a shared bathroom at the end of the corridor. Showers were down two flights of narrow stairs and you can hire towels for a couple of francs. This was all fine, but you should be aware of these issues if you are perhaps infirm or elderly, and that this is not like a hotel as such. We had a steep walk into Grindelwald for the afternoon and spent a very pleasant afternoon walking in the sunshine looking across to the Eiger. Then a steep walk back - again, fine for us but something to bear in mind if you have difficulty walking. You can pay to park in Grindelwald though.

We did not get a good night's sleep unfortunately, as we were constantly woken up by the creaking of the paper thin wooden walls, and other guests. A the bathroom was down the hall, people were coming and going all night; at one point about 6 people followed each other down there, slamming doors and stamping round! Just as we have dropped off to sleep again, someone mistook our room for his own and tried to get in our door. Then more people visited the bathroom, loudly, at 3am and woke us again. We were then awoken by people leaving the hostel early the next morning and slamming doors, and then again a little while later (7.30am) by the building works starting outside in the car park. Certainly, this will come to an end, but I can only write about our experience at the time we were there. I would not stay there again based on the complete lack of sleep, and as a bed for the night and some sleep was really what we had paid for we were disappointed. I imagine this was a lot cheaper than the hotels down in Grindelwald, but if we go again, I think we would pay more to have an en-suite bathroom and not be woken up all night by other guests going to the toilet. If you don't mind these issues however, they will not affect you, and the hostel was perfectly clean and pleasant.

Make sure you ask for the 'guest card' from the owners - we did not know about this and were not given one. When we came to use the cable car to take us up to go walking, we were asked for our card and told there was a 5 CHF discount! I said we hadn't been given one - they took pity and gave us the discount, but make sure you ask if the owners don't offer it to you!

The only reason that I would not recommend this hostel to a friend is that all my friends would not like the lack of sleep and the noise, and leaving the room to go to the bathroom and shower, or the location out of town. As I say, these issue may not be important to other, but this was our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stefan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irene071688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
953 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Friends

Address: Terrassenweg 18, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nature's Friends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing