We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to sleep”
Review of Nature's Friends

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nature's Friends
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to sleep”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this amazing place, with great views, helpful staff, and a beautiful location. We slept well all 3 nights and had a great time, attacked the Grosse Scheidegg on day 2 and spent a restful afternoon basking in the mountain views. Even though we opted out of the dinner, it smelt great. The included breakfast was a good start to our days and the service was amazing. All around great stay.

Room Tip: Ask owner about local hikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtiG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for a weekend. Our room had 2 bunk beds, nothing more, nothing less. We had to share the bathroom and toilet. The hotel will pick you up from the station. It is a very basic hotel, and perfect if you are just looking for a cheap place to crash during your ski weekend / holiday. I missed out on dinner but my husband & friends who dined said that the fondue was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
333 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were on a 14-day hike on the Via Alpina and needed a place to stay on this leg of the journey. We'd stayed at a Naturfreundehaus before, and this one was every bit as good. We arrived hot and sweaty, and our hostess immediately gave each of us tall glasses of peppermint iced tea (no charge). She speaks excellent English (if that's important for you) and is courteous, helpful and accommodating. Our room was a little better than most of the hiker's lodging we encountered on the trail: bunks, a wardrobe, chairs. Good showers and WC. There's a coin operated washer and drier and a free PC to use (also WiFi). Dinner was excellent, and served with panache. The legendary breakfast buffet was out of this world (including many types of cereals, etc). I spent the evening relaxing in the yard.

The lodge is high on the Terrassenweg, about 300 feet elevation higher than the town. We walked up (steep), but you can also take a free city bus. Views are out of this world. This is a very quiet and serene location.

I cringe when people call this simply a "hostel." The Naturfreunde houses are aimed not at edgy, twenty-something "hostel rats," but at serious hikers. For that reason, the clientele tends to be older, quieter and more responsible.

I highly recommend this place to hikers and other nature-oriented visitors to Grindelwald.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed at the Naturfreundehaus as part of a hiking group and found it basic but good. It's a hostel so don't expect too much but it's better than the youth hostel down the road. Smallish rooms with bunk beds and a shared bathroom.

If you're not bothered about luxury and don't mind walking up the hill or working out the bus timetable then a good choice. Owners friendly but some what reserved in the Swiss way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our recent trip to the Swiss Alps. Very affordable, rate includes breakfast. We used this as a base for our hikes and excursions. The hostel has an alpine charm and is clean. The view of the north face of Eiger from right outside the hostel is terrific. Vreni and Heinz were both warm and welcoming. Vreni even helped us book a paragliding excursion on our last day. The only complaint is the rooms were small and the walls paper thin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

So much to recommend about this place: the location is very peaceful, the view is stunning, the prices are reasonable. We were traveling with our young daughter, so we opted to eat dinner each night at the hostel to avoid scrambling for something suitable at the end of each day. I'm so glad we did - it was always delicious. This is technically a hostel and not a hotel, so those standards of amenities do apply (eg: shared bathroom, no TV in room). We were perfectly fine with this, though I know others might not be. One tip: if you do choose to have dinner at the hostel, reserve in advance. They only make as much food as they have reservations for. Vreni and Heinz were wonderful hosts, and we look forward to seeing them again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A friend and I stayed here for just one night and really enjoyed how peaceful and quiet the location was out of downtown Grindelwald. Some say the downtown is too touristy, but this hostel is up on the hill of Terressenweg and quiet peaceful with quick access to a trail (a bit steep - this is the Swiss Alps) leading up the mountain for some beautiful nature hiking or down into the town. The husband and wife hosts were very helpful with orientation though the wife speaks a bit better English. The breakfast was really good, the most oats and yogurt I've ever seen in one place + bread, jam, coffee, milk and juices but no meat or eggs. I didn't have the dinner but it looked good also. I found the whole hotel to be quiet clean and well maintained.

The only downside I noticed was the creaky noise of the wooden building when walking around and thin walls, hearing others talking in the next room or hallway. If you're a light sleeper this might be an issue, and you'll also want to bring your own pillow if you have a preference. The 2 bed room we had was compact and narrow, but quiet sufficient with plenty of shelves and space under the bed for storing our stuff. There are bathrooms on the main floor but showers are downstairs along with the dirty shoes/skis room, and those showers had some great water pressure - such a delight after a long hike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view if available, it is quite a site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Friends

Property: Nature's Friends
Address: Terrassenweg 18, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Nature's Friends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing