We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved staying here.”
Review of Nature's Friends

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nature's Friends
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We visited during summer and the place was clean, peaceful and the food was delicious. They upgraded us to a couples room for free. The staff were also very helpful. Grindelwald town is quite touristy but if you hike into the hills it is really really beautiful, which we loved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diné B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was a fun place for us to stay. Owners were so friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. We were there 3 nights and had no problems. Just make sure you take the bus up the mountain or you'll have to walk...and by walk I mean hike.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this amazing place, with great views, helpful staff, and a beautiful location. We slept well all 3 nights and had a great time, attacked the Grosse Scheidegg on day 2 and spent a restful afternoon basking in the mountain views. Even though we opted out of the dinner, it smelt great. The included breakfast was a good start to our days and the service was amazing. All around great stay.

Room Tip: Ask owner about local hikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtiG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for a weekend. Our room had 2 bunk beds, nothing more, nothing less. We had to share the bathroom and toilet. The hotel will pick you up from the station. It is a very basic hotel, and perfect if you are just looking for a cheap place to crash during your ski weekend / holiday. I missed out on dinner but my husband & friends who dined said that the fondue was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were on a 14-day hike on the Via Alpina and needed a place to stay on this leg of the journey. We'd stayed at a Naturfreundehaus before, and this one was every bit as good. We arrived hot and sweaty, and our hostess immediately gave each of us tall glasses of peppermint iced tea (no charge). She speaks excellent English (if that's important for you) and is courteous, helpful and accommodating. Our room was a little better than most of the hiker's lodging we encountered on the trail: bunks, a wardrobe, chairs. Good showers and WC. There's a coin operated washer and drier and a free PC to use (also WiFi). Dinner was excellent, and served with panache. The legendary breakfast buffet was out of this world (including many types of cereals, etc). I spent the evening relaxing in the yard.

The lodge is high on the Terrassenweg, about 300 feet elevation higher than the town. We walked up (steep), but you can also take a free city bus. Views are out of this world. This is a very quiet and serene location.

I cringe when people call this simply a "hostel." The Naturfreunde houses are aimed not at edgy, twenty-something "hostel rats," but at serious hikers. For that reason, the clientele tends to be older, quieter and more responsible.

I highly recommend this place to hikers and other nature-oriented visitors to Grindelwald.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed at the Naturfreundehaus as part of a hiking group and found it basic but good. It's a hostel so don't expect too much but it's better than the youth hostel down the road. Smallish rooms with bunk beds and a shared bathroom.

If you're not bothered about luxury and don't mind walking up the hill or working out the bus timetable then a good choice. Owners friendly but some what reserved in the Swiss way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our recent trip to the Swiss Alps. Very affordable, rate includes breakfast. We used this as a base for our hikes and excursions. The hostel has an alpine charm and is clean. The view of the north face of Eiger from right outside the hostel is terrific. Vreni and Heinz were both warm and welcoming. Vreni even helped us book a paragliding excursion on our last day. The only complaint is the rooms were small and the walls paper thin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#34 of 41 in Grindelwald
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
#1 of 24 in Grindelwald
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
#2 of 24 in Grindelwald
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature's Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Friends

Address: Terrassenweg 18, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nature's Friends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing