We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous setting!”
Review of Hotel Lauberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lauberhorn
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

People on this site are not exaggerating about the view out your window - it is straight out of a fairytale, gorgeous snow-capped mountains literally engulfing you! The room is basic but decent, and there was a warm comforter. The shower is not the best as it was a bit awkwardly designed. The breakfast was really outstanding: a variety of freshly baked breads, cereals, yogurts, loose leaf teas, granola, fruit, Ovaltine, and so many other yummy things to choose from! The staff spoke great English, and you can buy ski tickets directly from them if you wish. The hotel is not in the town centre and you really wouldn't want to try and walk there with all your stuff from the train station, but we arranged for a free pick-up with them, and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel as well. If you are using Grindelwald as a base to do some exploring/skiing, etc., I would say it is a good choice!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugOntarioCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel in summer 2011, the hotel was clean, liked the location (we were with a car), room was small but lovely, the view was magnificent, breakfast perfect, owners were friendly. The only difficulty was to park the car in the evening as it was almost full.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dacitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our room had a balcony and a great view. I really loved the breakfast - they had a wide variety of breads and homemade jams, local cheese, and a loose leaf Tea bar. It was very quiet (they are the last hotel up the mountain), and you get a free bus pass. There was free wi-fi (just ask for the password), but the computer they had was very slow - was easier to do everything on my cellphone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ownedby4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here in '09. This place has a view of winter wonderland. Really great to wake up in the morning and see the snow-capped alps in your window. Very cozy & homey with friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was good. Only fault would be the closet shower.

Quite a trek from the main part of town where the restaurants are, but the bus stop is right across. Call ahead to advise of arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packflashpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Nice hotel with great view. The hotel is operated by the owners that make a real effort to keep all gusts happy. Breakfast is good and rich.
The lobby is very cozy with a small bar and an internet PC.

The room is nice however the room setting is very "modern" - the shower and lavatory door is mostly clear glass - so no privacy at all.

Warm and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oodimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Although this is just 2 star rated, it is immaculately clean, breakfast is excellent and a lot of thought has been put into the furnishings and the atmosphere. Balcony view also very good and the 10-15 min walk into town was pleasant and there's a free bus right outside anyway. Grindelwald is expensive but this is a more economical option without feeling like you're skimping.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Overall this was a nice hotel, the staff were very friendly and they even picked you up from the station, rather than you having to drag your cases up the steep hill.

What I didnt like is in 5 days we were there for, they never changed the towels. When I put the radiator on, they turned it off. The lights above the bed were really sharp so when you used the on/off switch, you often scratched yourself on the corner of the sharp square metal light fitting. The bed was similar - it was made from a wooden frame with sharp corners so if you bumped into it, it hurt. It was a nice King size though. The shower and sink were right opposite your bed. If you are a bit shy there is no hiding when getting out of the shower. Also the shower was high up, so if you have bad knees like me, its not so good to step out of. Their hairdryer ate my hair - it sucked my hair into the hairdryer - there was no grill on the back like we ours are designed in the UK.

Everything you needed was there, apart from a kettle in the room. The room was modern.

Breakfast - there were yoghurts, bread, croissants, cereal, sliced meats, cheese, fruit, tea, coffee and hot chocolate - so all perfectly fine. You could have a boiled egg if you paid for it.

Yes there is quite a walk up to the hotel, up a steep hill, but its all very scenic so we didnt mind. In the winter you can get a free ski bus down to the station, but we preferred to walk as the views were so nice and we didnt want to miss out.

Beware - the food in Grindelwald is very very expensive compared to the UK or Spain for example. Its over double our prices.

The hotel was very good for the money. If you just want a nice room with lovely views and breakfast, then go for it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauberhorn

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £111 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lauberhorn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We (conny And Beni Kaufmann) Took Over The Hotel Lauberhorn From The Family Howald In May 2005. Since Then, The Somewhat Older, Traditional 2* Chalet Style Hotel Is Under Constant Remodeling And Is Now Slowly Turning Into A Colorful And Fun-loving Lifestyle Concept. Since 2017 We Belong To A 2* Superior Hotel. The Lauberhorn Is A Casual Hotel, Simple But Contemporary With A Strong Headed Personality And Refreshing Hospitality In A Particularly Relaxed Atmosphere. We Are A Downright Niche Product Which Can Not And Does Not Want To Please Everyone. We Do Many Things Better, Some Things Different, A Couple Of Things Less Consequent Or Not At All. Here Are People Behind, Not Money. As We Reinvest The Profit Into Our Hotel And Are Able To Do A Lot Or Almost Everything In And Around The Hotel Ourselves – You Won’t Find Any Pompous Features Here. Come As A Friend, As An Explorer Of The Joy Of Life, Indulgence Relaxation And Pleasure. Holiday In The Lauberhorn Is A Matter Of Lifestyle, Not A Matter Of Age. Load Energy And Well-being, Leave Your Social And Professional Status At Home, Be Yourself And Enjoy Our Attempt Of Being A Little Different. If This Philosophy Appeals To You, You Should Be Able To Have Fun With Us And Enjoy Your Stay To The Maximum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauberhorn Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing