We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facility, but only for "bikers"”
Review of Hotel Lauberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lauberhorn
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a week long walking holiday in July. Good facilities, if "quirky" room layout. Food is basic but food orders didn't really seem to be welcomed (eg you have to order by 6.30pm, and the choice was very limited).
Hotel is approximately 10 mins from Grindelwald centre, with a walk back uphill. The hotel owners are keen cyclists and appear to favour cyclists as guests. On the whole clean and comfortable, but reception mood was a little surly.

Room Tip: As for a front facing room - facing the Eiger. Fabulous view, but we faced a field at the back with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

I 100% recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Grindelwald. The owners are friendly and helpful. My wife and I loved this place and really appreciated the neatness and cleanliness of the rooms. Summary: Great breakfast, great staff and great hotel! P.S. Beni (one of the owners) is a paragliding pilot. if you are looking for a great way to see the Alps in a unique perspective, talk to him.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danielphilipray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I absolutely recommend Hotel Lauberhorn to anyone who is looking to stay in Grindelwald and not spend a fortune on some of the higher-end hotels. It's the little extras that they do that really make you smile: the free sunscreen in the lobby, the games in the hangout rooms, the book exchange and the tiny bar that you can get a drink at. They also don't cheap out on the breakfast at all (which, amazingly, is included) - fresh espresso with hot milk, fresh muesli, local cheeses and fresh bread from the bakery etc. etc. The view from our hotel room was breath-taking as well. I was more than pleased - this hotel is worth every penny and then some.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicci_hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This place is totally set up for mountainbikers, the owners are very knowledgeable about the area and will help you choose the best route for you and provide a map. Bernie in particular helped us by planning a ride for our second day. They have electrolyte drink powder available for your water bottles at breakfast which is a decent spread, and even wash your bike gear overnight so it's ready for the next morning. We particularly liked the balcony with a great view of the Eiger north face. One con is that the ceilings are quite thin and we could here the people above us: their alarm going off and walking around but we slept pretty soundly due to all the exercise we got during the day. Yes, the shower stepped staright into the room but it wasn't a problem for us at all and the balcony and views more than made up for any small inconvenience. The prices were reasonable for Grindelwald too. Note that their wiring doesn't allow for an electric water jug to be used in the room but they were happy to provide me with hot water when I asked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onyabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was such an amazing place to stay as the view from the room was great and had a deck. Very very nice/remodeled room. I would call it contemporary with a cozy feel. Front desk staff were so nice and helpful. I felt right at home. Free bus pass given on check in. Bus stop right out front. 10 minute walk from town. The only down side was the buses stop running early ( 7 or 8) so if you don't make it you have to walk. Not a huge deal but it is a hilly town. Such a beautiful location that it didn't matter. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place for couples and families. Free wifi. Very nice free breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had the pleasure to stay in this Hotel early July. We had a great view of the value and the mountains from our Room. I think pretty much all the rooms have a great view on this Hotel. Breakfast was good, i loved the cheeses and bread served (all fresh). The Hosts provided us with a great deal of information and attended all of our needs. The Hotel is a family run operation so they make you feel at home and everything is cozy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtech101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I just completed an eight night stay at the Hotel Lauberhorn and loved every minute of it. We were returning to Grindelwald after a 35 year absence. Our extended stay reinforced to us what a magnificent place Grindelwald is and how lucky we were to stay for this amount of time.

Conny and Beni, owners of the Hotel Lauberhorn, and their wonderfully friendly and knowledgable staff (especially Anita, Susana and Ursi) made us feel welcome and wanted. They have an extensive knowledge of the area and encouraged our questions about what to see and how best to see it. Every day at breakfast we were asked what we had planned for the day and were given expert guidance on how to best accomplish our plans. Our room was comfortable, spacious, airy and clean. Our second floor balcony faced the Eiger and the view was indescribably beautiful. The Hotel Lauberhorn's breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive, fresh and healthy ones we've experienced. We started each day with this healthy meal and were ready to tackle full days of hiking and exploring. We particularly enjoyed the weekly barbeque put on by the hotel with Beni as chef. This all-you-can-eat meal was as good as the daily breakfasts with freshly grilled meats, vegetables and an array of salads and sides.

A Gridelwald bus stop is located in front of the hotel. We got a free bus pass when we checked into the hotel. The walk to town is about fifteen minutes. The free wifi was solid in the room and throughout the hotel (a critical item for us).

We were sad to leave Gridelwald and would like to thank Conny and Beni and their staff for adding to the excellent time we had in this wonderful area. We hope to return and stay again at Hotel Lauberhorn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmccb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Berghaus Bort
Berghaus Bort
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#36 of 41 in Grindelwald
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauberhorn

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £111 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Lauberhorn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We (conny And Beni Kaufmann) Took Over The Hotel Lauberhorn From The Family Howald In May 2005. Since Then, The Somewhat Older, Traditional 2* Chalet Style Hotel Is Under Constant Remodeling And Is Now Slowly Turning Into A Colorful And Fun-loving Lifestyle Concept. Since 2017 We Belong To A 2* Superior Hotel. The Lauberhorn Is A Casual Hotel, Simple But Contemporary With A Strong Headed Personality And Refreshing Hospitality In A Particularly Relaxed Atmosphere. We Are A Downright Niche Product Which Can Not And Does Not Want To Please Everyone. We Do Many Things Better, Some Things Different, A Couple Of Things Less Consequent Or Not At All. Here Are People Behind, Not Money. As We Reinvest The Profit Into Our Hotel And Are Able To Do A Lot Or Almost Everything In And Around The Hotel Ourselves – You Won’t Find Any Pompous Features Here. Come As A Friend, As An Explorer Of The Joy Of Life, Indulgence Relaxation And Pleasure. Holiday In The Lauberhorn Is A Matter Of Lifestyle, Not A Matter Of Age. Load Energy And Well-being, Leave Your Social And Professional Status At Home, Be Yourself And Enjoy Our Attempt Of Being A Little Different. If This Philosophy Appeals To You, You Should Be Able To Have Fun With Us And Enjoy Your Stay To The Maximum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauberhorn Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing