We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
111
63
22
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
63
22
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain sportsnight boxbreadthe busenjoyed my stayamazing viewstrain station to the hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulmountain viewwould definitely stay here againbreakfast was delicioussimple hotelstayed here for nightsoutstanding hotelpleasant staynorth faceevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The good:
The place is very clean , recently renovated and all facilities are in excellent shape.
Breakfast is great, with good chose of cheese , tea, jams, yogurt and freshly baked bread.
The room we were at (eiger balcony) was spacious and nice.
The staff is helpful whenever asked.
The bad:
The location is 25 min uphill from city center - there is a free local bus that ends at 6.30 pm so if you want to have dinner after or you are not in the timeline of the bus you need to walk.
The Shower located in the room on 20 cm step. - very dangerous to go out from :) seriously.
The bed is squiking and noisy

over all - good stay for bike riders and young people (or you have a car)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smoshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Solid hotel, good deal. No frills, good quality for the price paid. Small, quaint place run independently which I favor over chains or large busy hotels especially in a beautiful place like Grindelwald in one of the most beautiful areas I've visited. Beautiful location with a balcony (ask for a view facing Mt. Eiger!). Downside were the very thin walls as I could literally hear people talking and moving around in their beds next door and upstairs (!) and the sound of road in front of hotel. I'd give it 3.5 stars if that were an option but will round up cause that's the way I am!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombwhiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

View from the room was good however that's all...
When I could not open the key, no staff was found and I could not order the drink in the bar
since there was no person...
Far from the Grindelwald Station thus shuttle service was provided.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenji-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

As others have said: the mountain views from the front-facing side of the hotel are truly world-class; the breakfasts are generous and tasty with many choices, though I've had better espresso; the rooms are not flashy or large but are quite good (the showers, though small, have superior water pressure and the hot water comes up instantly); the hosts and staff know everything there is to know about hiking, paragliding, mountain biking, and probably every other sport in the area; the location is very nice if you don't mind walking uphill to get there (and if you do, probably Grindelwald is not the right place for you to visit since it's all hills) -- and the owners can sometimes be not all that friendly and even a bit defensive in strange ways, which is why I don't give it the 'Excellent' that it might otherwise deserve. Sometimes they were great, sometimes not. Some of the staff, like Susana, were super friendly and helpful at all times.

As far as 'sleep quality', one side of the hotel can be extremely sunny and loud (birds singing) in the early morning -- it would be better if there were real curtains on that side of the hotel to keep the sunlight out. Otherwise it was fine.

I would stay here again if I was going to stay in Grindelwald, because in almost every way they do go above and beyond with many nice little extras, but personally I'd choose another town as my base for a Jungfrau hiking trip next time.

Room Tip: Face the Alps!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived to be told we had been upgraded to a "superior" room, which turned out to be a newly (2010) modelled room, small but very chic, with the most amazing views from the balcony, out to the valley and the magnificent Eiger. Conny and Ben were very friendly and helpful, the amenities and breakfast excellent. Buses are reasonably frequent - and free - though the last bus back up the hill to the hotel was 6.45pm so careful planning was needed! We loved everything about the hotel, especially all the little extras - except the bathroom, which although well designed and modern, has glass (not opaque glass!) door and windows from the bedroom, with one roller blind covering part of the door. We were told this was "intimate" and allowed light in to the bathroom. Hmm.. well we've been married over 40 years, but still found that a bit too much intimacy - "your turn on the balcony now, dear...." was the order of the day!

Room Tip: Front rooms have a jaw-dropping view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequent-flyer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews