We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel!”
Review of Hotel Lauberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lauberhorn
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Such a lovely surprise \when I went into my room and found a balcony all tomyself and the best view upon the Eiger. The room is very big for a single room. Although simple it had everything I need (so no TV, phone, refrigerator). The staff were lovely and knew everything about the environment from restaurants, public transport, guided tours, biking etc, and they were more than happy to share this with their customers.
When I was staying the EigerUltraTrail was starting at 04.30 for the 101km - runners. The staff got up and organised a breakfast at 3.30 for the 4 or 5 runners that ran that day. How good is that!
Upon leaving I received a bag of tea made of local flowers, such a lovely gesture! I can't wait to go back next year :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    53
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
80
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely small hotel for 7 nights in June. We had a balcony on the second floor, with a fabulous view directly on Eiger and Mittenberg Mountains,

The room was small, but more than adequate for us. It was cleaned daily and nicely organized.
The breakfast buffet included a selection of local cheese and sliced cold meats, muesli, other cereals, juices, and yoghurt. There were also many local breads and rolls, lots of fruit, and a cook-it-yourself egg station where you could easily make soft or hard boiled eggs.

Connie and Beni and Anita went out of their way to make our stay as nice as possible. We definitely plan on returning to Grindelwald!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains, preferably on a top floor. Also, we had a room at the end of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The proprietor Beni had good to great customer service, but...
Most all the other receptionists and hostesses had an edge that was hard to overlook.
For the money paid this made our stay uncomfortable.
1) On the first night I asked for a cocktail at the bar. The response for the hostess was "I get off in 15 minutes so you'd better be quick." She poured a thimble amount of whiskey into a tumbler. I found an 8 euro charge when I checked out.
2) We ate a picnic lunch outside under the extraordinary view. Since there are no trash cans anywhere to be found, I asked the receptionist to help dispose of my quart baggie of trash. Her response was "take it to your room!" (two flights up--and there was a can beneath her feet at the front counter).
3) Upon checking in my son could not locate his tooth brush. The front desk provided one but we found a charge on our bill when we left....
I could go on and on but the "culture" of the place was not warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Very very noisy between rooms. Choose the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lauberhorn for 3 days in March, 2014. We had a Top Double room with a TV. Both our room and the views from our balcony were great. Breakfast was excellent as well. We enjoyed the walk to and from central Grindelwald. Connie and the staff were helpful. We were very happy with our choice of the Hotel Lauberhorn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Mountain, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Lauberhorn in September for three days. The location was quiet, just past the main town. The views were great, room was very nice, NO TV's, the shower was strangely placed outside bathroom in middle of room. You had to step up at least a foot to get into shower. Breakfast was good. Great tea selection. Unfortunately, the owner, Connie seemed to have an attitude against Americans. She made several nasty remarks about Americans. Due to a misunderstanding on our second night, we arrived back at hotel to find Connie, the owner at the front desk irrate. She accused us of leaving our room a mess when she had asked us to pack it up and leave our luggage at the front door so they could move it up to another room. We said, you moved the wrong room. She proceeded to say no they moved the right room. As it turned out, she moved the wrong room. I was mortified that her staff had packed my belongings and personal items without my knowledge. Connie continued to have an attitude with us not wanting to admit she had made a mistake. As a small business owner, my husband did not take kindly to this attitude. He approached Connie in a professional manner in an attempt to resolve this situation. She continued to argue. My husband told her that if he had done this to a customer, he would give some kind of compensation for the error. She said, what do you want money? Go have a glass of wine and relax. The conversaton was going nowhere, so finally she said fine I will give you 20% off one night. After the conversation, her and her husband continued to make us feel like we were not welcome and we had done something wrong. The following morning, they made a point of greeting everyone at breakfast with the exception of us. This was totally uncalled for and I did not appreciate being treated this way. You can have the nicest views, but if your attitude is like this, you couldn't pay me to stay there again.

Room Tip: second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lake Tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Once in a while in your travels are you are treated to stumble upon a gem of a hotel – Hotel Lauberhorn is just this gem! A great hotel for the active guest!!Breakfast was hearty and delicious with all sorts of local items, our room had a balcony with a spectacular view of the Eiger, and the room was very clean, comfortable and modern. For the cyclist (we were on a cycling trip) you can have your dirty cycling clothes cleaned overnight free of charge – a wonderful treat of a service. The staff was friendly and very helpful in riding, hiking and eating suggestions! I would stay in Hotel Lauberhorn again and I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mischel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Lauberhorn and enjoyed the breakfast. Upon asking for suggestions on where to hike, the proprietors, were extremely rude and not helpful. Overall, they seem to be arrogant. Be careful when booking with this hotel, as we were not aware that we had a room without a TV. It does not state that on the website. Also, we got charged 5 Swiss Francs for using our credit card which is also not disclosed on their website. The walls in the hotel rooms are also very thin so you can hear everyone around you. Other than that, the view is absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ClaudiaR1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.8 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauberhorn

Property: Hotel Lauberhorn
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 41 | info@hotel-lauberhorn.ch, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lauberhorn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The philosophy...carpe diem - seize the day. Our biker and paraglider friendly hotel is located on the sunny side of the Grindelwald valley. All rooms have a shower/toilet and a balcony with a beautiful view of the impressive mountain scenery. Pets are welcome. Visitor tax and VAT included in the price. Our guest cardgives you various reductions in Grindelwald and allows you to travel for free on the public buses to and around the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauberhorn Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing