We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
113
63
22
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
63
22
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain sports night box bread the bus enjoyed my stay amazing views train station to the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful mountain view would definitely stay here again breakfast was delicious simple hotel stayed here for nights pleasant stay north face every morning excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We came to this hotel because we love mountainbiking and we wanted to have the opportunity to paraglide. We only had one day of sun, but even when the weather is not so good you can do lots of other activities in the area (mountainbiking, visit to the waterfalls, gorge, hiking, wellness ...). The staff at Lauberhorn was very friendly and helpfull. They helped us get the best out of our holiday and I gave perfect advise. The room was clean and you can see the mountains from your bedside. Breakfast was well presented and excellent to start the day. We went mountainbiking and the day after we had fresh clothes again, because they have a washing service. The saune is a great surplus after and active day. We will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Would recommend a superior room with the mountain view
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

The Hotel Lauberhorn was a cost effective last minute deal and is very nicely decorated throughout. Modern but warm. Breakfast is included in the room price and is perfectly ok - bread, cheese, cereal, yoghurt etc. there is a heated ski boot rack and separate ski room.
However....
The hotel is not ski in / ski out and it's a good ten minutes walk into town for evening meals etc (although the ski bus parks right outside the hotel which is great).
More importantly, the hotel seems to have put more funds into decoration than into sound proofing. We spent four nights listening to the inhabitants of the room above snoring and using the bathroom facilities frequently during the night. You could hear their footsteps, opening wardrobe doors... Everything.
And finally - the hotel has a philosophy that (paraphrasing their welcome booklet) some people will like and some people will not. For us - the clear lack of customer service meant we did not. We will not be returning. We would rather pay a little more for a quiet night's sleep.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Freya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

I have stayed here twice with different people. The management is very accommodating. The breakfast has a lot of variety. Rooms are clean and comfortable. One morning we saw men parasailing into the vacant field nearby. The manager also let us leave our car in the lot while we took the Glacier Express on Swissrail.

Room Tip: On the right facing the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel as part of a tour package. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations, so while it has all the styling of a traditional old Swiss inn on the outside, it is modern on the inside.

I stayed in a small (or single) room on the 3rd floor. The upside to many of these single rooms is that while small, they face out toward the Eiger mountain. This view is jaw-droppingly spectacular and a great way to wake up each morning. It's not hard to just sit on the little patio of your room and watch the clouds play along the face of the Eiger.

As for the inside, the room was very clean, modern though admittedly small. The shower was a bit poorly placed as one had to step up almost 18 inches to get into the shower and then step down when getting out...all with no handrails, so be careful! However, other than that little issue, the room was great.

The Continental breakfast we enjoyed each morning here was also amazing. A great selection of fresh made breads, cheeses, yogurts, cereals, fruit, etc. It was considered Continental, but was a filling breakfast even for this American.

The staff was very friendly and even helped book our train tickets for the Jungfraujoch train. They also provided free wifi codes for use at the hotel too. The hotel is on the edge of town, so it's a little bit of a walk to the shopping and central part of Grindelwald. However, I never minded the walk and it was worth it for such a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the building. While the rooms are a bit smaller, the views are amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Located 1 mile from town center's shops, restaurants and the train station, but the hotel offers a free shuttle for check-in/out. The desk will give you a coupon for the bus that stops right outside, but keep in mind it doesn't run after 7 p.m. The walk is no problem, especially in good weather. There's a few restaurant choices within a 5 minute walk, too. Great mountain views, complimentary breakfast was fine, extra firm bed-same we found in every European hotel. Others have complained about the partially open bathrooms, but if you're traveling with your sig-other, it shouldn't be a problem! Very competitive rate, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: all have excellent views, front side have best sun
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wb81224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews