We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Nearby Hotels
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$367
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eigerblick(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$752
US$717
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhotel Schoenegg(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonnenberg(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
411
168
32
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
168
32
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmemory barlifestyle roomexcellent gymself cateringhalf boardthe main streetthe hotel staffa la carte menucoffee makerfantastic hotelbalcony roomtrain stationbooked this hotelski holidaybreakfast buffetbreadmountain view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The staff at this hotel is friendly and greeted us with a glass of white wine or sparkling juice. The beds and room are comfortable (added touch of a chocolate on the bedside table), the breakfast buffet is very nice. We had a pretty good view of the tops of the mountains, but otherwise our view was of the workout room and part of the back of the main hotel. We weren't able to access the free wi-fi from our room but it was available in the lounge. There was a very nice coffee maker in the room, which is a treat.

Grindlewald is a very cute little town. This hotel is a short walk from the train that takes you up the Jungfrau to the "top of europe"...walking on and in the glacier. On a clear day, which we had, it is spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We have stayed at Hotel Eiger 3 times; twice in Eiger Guest House 1 and once in a junior suite. The staff at this hotel is incredibly friendly. From reception to the restaurants to housekeeping, everyone has always been extremely kind. The beds and pillows are comfortable, the breakfast buffet is lovely (variety of juices and hot drinks, meats, cheeses, yogurt, breads, scrambled eggs, bacon, and a salad bar), and free wi-fi is available in the main hotel and in the lounge (if you happen to be staying in one of the out buildings.) Our family of four enjoyed several games of "foosball" in the children's facility. We did not take advantage of the sauna or work-out area, but both seem to be top notch. We only hope that our time in Switzerland extends through spring so we can make one last visit to the Eiger Hotel and Grindelwald.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed there for 5 nights in October. A bit of a trek to get to Grindelwald if you're coming by train, but boy, is it worth the walk!

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment - honestly its a 2 and a half bedroom apartment as the dining table's attached to the sleeping area - and has a kitchenette, but the view was just unbelievable.

Service was excellent, there was room service till 1.30 am, which is a first for me in my many Swiss apartment holidays and the food was excellent.

Helpful staff, lovely location, so much to do. In Grindelwald, stay at the Eiger.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prinx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed only 2 nights in this charming hotel and it's coasy, and different of the others because it's new and modern.
We stayed in the room with balcony and the views to the mountais were great! The staff was very Nice all the times that we needeed, welcoming new guests with a glass of champagne! The two restaurants of the hotel are very good, and the breakfest has different types of swiss cheese and fresh fruits and milk..
Of our 20 days euro trip this was by far the most beautiful, romantic and cute place.. If you are looking for all this, i recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yupitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Hotel is located on the main street of this quaint little town about an 8 minute walk from the train station. Walk to the hotel from the train is slightly uphill but very manageable - location puts you in the centre of town which is perfect. Lovely greeting on arrival with a complimentary drink selection of glass of wine or herbal juice - a very nice touch. We arrived early (before room was ready) and the hotel staff were very accommodating in looking after our luggage. Luggage was moved directly to our room when ready.

Room was good size (room 214) with smallish but spotless bathroom. Good sized balcony with 2 chairs/table and a fabulous view of the Eiger mountain. Free bus pass was also included for the length of our stay.

We only stayed the one night, leaving early the next morning to catch our train. We settled our account in the evening and when the staff commented that we would miss breakfast (provided), went out of their way to pack us a breakfast bag each for the next morning. Our "care package" included meat/cheese on a bun, cereal bar, nuts, apple, cheese, crackers and apple juice. This treat was delivered directly to our room that evening.

Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigWorldViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews