We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the centre of Grindelwald”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just returned from a fantastic (Crystal) ski week with great snow conditions, which was made even better by our stay at the Eiger. This excellent hotel is in the centre of town and very near bus stops to all main ski areas.
The staff are very helpful and attentive, as are the hotel owners who host a weekly drinks and canapes evening to meet their guests and introduce what is going on at the hotel and in the resort.
Our room, with bathroom, was spacious, very comfortable and spotless, and with free minibar and coffe/tea making and even cable TV, we were very pleased indeed.
We were booked half board which included a very generous buffet breakfast; afternoon tea and cake which was welcome after skiing, and dinner was absolutely superb. The Bar was a good place to meet, with lots of atmosphere and lovely staff. There is live music in the bar on some evenings - tho not during our stay.
Although we did not use the "wellness" gym and sauna facilities, the equipment and the areas was top notch and run by sports experts who are there to give advice.
In all we wanted for nothing and will, without doubt return to this great hotel.
We also looked at their self catering apartments which looked lovely.

Room Tip: We chose a south facing room which faced the Eiger.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We satyed here for a week in early January 2012 and found everything about the place fabulous. The staff were exceptional and definately took an interest in their guests. I unfortunately developed a virus whilst travelling and the staff went out of thier way to organise a doctors appointment, drop at the doctor and followed up with me if I needed anything further. The room was excellent, with plenty of room to spread out. I also indulged in a massage at the spa and it was super. I was treated to a Thai Chi session as well as a walking tour of Grindelwald on the house, both terric and a great touch. This is truely a hotel that offers everything you might need and more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Excelent hotel for people who enjoy fitness, sports, etc, with very attentive personnel. One added bonus is the possibility to be attended to in Portuguese, for more than twenty of the staff are from Portugal.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergiofreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Hotel Eiger in Grindewald offers you a variety of wellness activities, perhaps that's the reason why it is a four stars hotel. MrPayne did find the view from the balcony of the lifestyle-room very nice, but found also something negative from this in Trip-advisor highly raised hotel.

The Room: Problem in the room was that the bathroom had somekind of wannabee-door. That means you have no privacy while you are sitting on a toilet. Other problem was that there is no kind of air-conditioning or ventilation in the room. So you should sleep the balcony door open to get some air, but can't do that because of the noise coming from the street below.

Service: Mr Payne was waken up at 8:17 am by a hotel worker who accidently entered Mr Payne's room without waiting an answer after knocking at the door. Later he excused himself and told that he had marked the rooms wrong in his books...

Breakfast: No hard boiled eggs, tea-bags were too tiny and gave no taste, and there was and a poor variety of cheeses (in switzerland Mr. Payne expects a little more when it comes the cheeses).

Mr Payne's matress-check: Matresses are old and they have lost their form a long ago. Typical box-spring solution, but without a matress-pad, and even without a deacent matress cover.

Room Tip: Choose one from the southside of building 1. The view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed at Eiger for one week from 7th Jan. Very spacious, clean well-appointed room. From the moment of arrival it was clear that all the staff put the customer's needs first. The hotel owners were very visible during our stay and regularly checked to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The hotel was relatively quiet meaning we ate in Barry's restaurant off the a la carte menu which was excellent. One night we chose to eat more informally in the memory bar and this was accommodated by giving us a substantial contribution per person towards the meal. Great location. Excellent staff. Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKD419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel is very well located in the centre of Grindelwald, with a direct view on the mythical Eiger peak. We have spent a fantastic stay for the new year 2012 and the staff was definteley friendly and attentive.

The SPA zone and fitness are not just "features" for the hotel brochure, but indeed of great value: modern/design furnitures, unlimited towels at disposal, fresh juices, aromatic herbs in one of the two sauna, relaxation room with a nice atmosphere and candles, lot of modern equipment at the gym, etc..

The breakfast is awesome: a buffet with delicious local cheeses and lmost everything looked home made: marmelades, breads, müseli...

Hotel Eiger is definitely a must in Grindelwald, and in the swiss alps. It is not so common to have this quality of service / value for money in Switzerland. I would even say that they are a model to follow for the renewal of the swiss hostellery, so often disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaisereymondin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

eiger hotel is very easy to find, right in the center of the town. the room is very spacious, given a upgrade with a balcony. we were lucky to get a good rate as we check in a bit late. the breakfast is quite good. the only thing is that to get to your room you have to pass through restaurant or the bar or the fitness place. i got lost sometimes. it has parking space behind the hotel as well. overall is good and i would come back again.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mchendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £129 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing