We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 January 2008

The Hotel Eiger is the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

We stayed here for 9 nights in June. We booked a standard room but at check-in we were given an upgrade to a larger room with balcony and mountain view. We were given a welcome drink at reception and there was a flask of home made fruit tea in our room. A little chocolate was left on our pillow after the room was turned down each night and we were given a bar of Swiss chocolate when we checked out too!

Our room and bathroom were big and very clean. There was a sofa in the sitting area which was nice to relax on while watching TV (there's an info channel on the TV that gives a weather forecast and tells you which hiking routes are open). The balcony had a table and chairs and flower pots - perfect for sitting and looking at the mountains.

There were bath robes and slippers in the room as the hotel has a lovely spa that's free for guests to use. We used the sauna nearly every night - just the thing to ease muscles after a day of hiking! There's also a gym and exercise classes which are free for guests.

Breakfast was delicious - fresh and lots of choice. We ate in the Memory bar a few times and the food there is simple but filling and tasty. Barrys is a more upmarket restaurant that is very good too.

We loved everything about the Eiger! The staff were very helpful and friendly; they always said hello. There are lots of little touches around the hotel that give you the impression that the management care about their guests: free coffee and cake in the afternoon, play areas, ornaments and pictures throughout, information boards in reception and in the lifts that are updated each day.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the railway station and a couple of minutes' walk from the First and Pfingstegg cable cars. There are walking trails all around Grindelwald so it's easy to go anywhere. The public transport lives up to the Swiss reputation - it's clean, punctual and very efficient. Grindelwald is beautiful and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderingsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    141
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
141
244
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire, england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Took my boyfrind for his birthday treat here as he is a climbing fanatic and had always dreamt of seeing and maybe climbing the Eiger one day. From basle airport we purchased our return ticket to grindelwald and a half fare ticket which enables you to not only travel half fare on the railway journeys but also on many of the tourist attractions. Cost approx £90 each but great value!Transport great all trains and buses on time and so clean. On arrival to the resort we were met by the hotels taxi to collect us and our luggage.The resort is small but beautiful ,all lit up and so romantic! On entering the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in and welcomed us with a glass of wine(a soft drink is offered for the non alcoholics) We were shown to our rooms,a junior suite with a balcony and amazing view of the Eiger. The room was huge with a marble bathroom with corner bath,2 sinks ,hairdryer and heated towel rail. Room service was great, the restaurant was amazing.We booked half board and you can eat in 4 diff restaurants if you fancy a change but do make sure you notify the staff the night before.The staff could not do enough for you they were all great.Grindelwald has many little bars to just sit in and watch the world go by and a must is to go up the jungfrauhoch on the train through the Eiger .We will def return again not soon enough though!!!!!

  • Liked — the food, amazing views and the room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank callywallywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa barbara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

We had a fabulous stay at the Hotel Eiger.
The front desk was very friendly and most helpful.
The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Europe.
This will be our home away from home.
Grindelwald is fantastic and the Hotel Eiger perfect.

  • Liked — Spacious Room with view
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

How Wonderful!
This Hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in.
We arrived late on Saturday night and we were greeted by a lovely girl on Reception who said they had kept the Gallleria open for us, (as we were Half Board) so we could have a meal. When we booked for half board i really expected some ok food with ok service. On both accounts the Eiger exceeded our expectations. The food was beautifully prepared and was wonderful. The service from each member of staff was out of this world, the level of service from everyone was awesome. We would most book to go to Grindelwald again and stay at the Eiger. If you are looking for relaxation, beautiful views, great service and lovely clean rooms then Eiger is the Hotel.

  • Liked — The Service and Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HolidaysManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

After deciding to stay in Grindelwald, we start searching and from all the reviews we choose to stay 5 night in Hotel Eiger. Here is our evalution.

1.The front desk staff, is the most helpful people we have come across. They really make u feel at home and are always willing to guide you.
2.The rooms are really big for Swiss standards and very comfortable bedding. The turn down service in the evening with a little chocolate was really cool. The bathroom is a little outdated , but it was functional and clean. We got a room with view of the mountains and it was really nice thing to wake to.
3.There is no coffee machine in the room , but we use get hot water flaske from the restaurant below.
4.There a good choice of restaurants , but did not eat in any.
5.The best part of the hotel is the spa area , gym and play area for the kids. There is also a cozy corner for the reading and relaxing.
6.The hotel is a short walk ( about 15mins) from the train station and they offer free pick and drop off to station.

Overall we were very happy with our stay in Eiger. If we ever return to Grindelwald , we would definitely choose to stay with Eiger.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank monicanaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

This hotel was excellent and certainly made our holiday. We actually stayed in apartments but these are integrated into the hotel. The room was comfortable and perfectly adequate for 2 people. We actually had a 1 bedroomed apartment, the bedroom has bunk beds in it so ideal for kids if they need to be in bed early, if you don't use the room it's good for storage.

There was ample wardrobe space, even if 4 people were in the room, there were 3 large wardrobes, all with loads of coat hangers in and shelf space. The balcony was a decent size with table and 4 chairs - from ours you could see the top of the pfinstegg cable car and the other way the north face of the eiger.

The breakfast in the hotel was lovely, they had nearly everything you could think of for breakfast!

There is a gym and a selfness centre in the hotel, which is free for guests, this all looked very modern with snazzy equipment.

We didn't eat in the main hotel restaurant at night as we were in apartments and therefore only breakfast was included, however we did eat in the Memory bistro which is on the main street and this was lovely.

The staff in the hotel are very friendly and welcoming, right from check in. Everytime we went in or out of the hotel they would speak and check everything was okay. Also on a monday evening the owners of the hotel serve welcome drinks in the bar near the selfness centre - this was a lovely touch and a great chance to ask questions about the area, they were very friendly and helpful and made you feel very welcome in the hotel.

Whilst we were there we celebrated a birthday, it wasn't particularly mentioned to the hotel but on the morning champagne was brought to the table and then on our return from our day out chocolates and a card had been left in the room - these touches make you remember a hotel and make you feel special rather than just another guest through the door.

If I return to Grindelwald, which I sincerely hope I do, I will definitely stay in this hotel.

As for the Inghams rep Kevin, well, the previous poster said he was helpful and friendly - is this the same person?! - I had done a lot of research prior to going on holiday, we were there for a week and didn't want to spend half of it finding out about the area - he was condescending and sarcastic towards us and wasn't very helpful. This didn't spoil our holiday though, we asked the owner the questions we wanted answering - she answered them honestly and gave us very useful advice.

We had a fantastic time in Grindelwald and the scenery and excursions in the area are amazing! I would go back tomorrow - a week wasn't long enough to get everything done! A must is definitely the Jungfraujoch - make sure it is clear at the top the views and activities are brilliant - Skiing and 'Flying Fox' excellent! (channel 1 on the tv in the room shows live video from the top of the Jungfraujoch, Schilthorn and Mannlichen - all very useful for planning your day). I'd recommend the 6 day jungfrau pass - it means you can explore so much more than if you buy return tickets and it works out much cheaper!.

We travelled with Inghams and took advantage of fly rail luggage (check in at UK airport and the next time you see it is in your hotel room!) - this is brilliant and you need not worry about your bags - the green label fell of one of ours and we were worried when only 3 cases turned up - we needn't have worried, - it turned up in our room one hour later, in England it would have been lost for weeks! - the swiss have everything sussed! On return the hotel took the cases to the station along with passports and flight tickets and not only are your cases checked through to the UK airport but you are also checked onto the flight - no need to queue at check in in the airport - you can walk straight through to security! A brilliant system which means you can enjoy the scenic rail transfers without worrying about your luggage!

Despite the rep, I would definitely travel with inghams again, I have travelled with them 3 times before and they have been brilliant each time with everything spot on! They are definitely number one for lakes and mountains. I would also not hesitate in returning to this hotel, everything was brilliant, thanks for making our holiday and birthday extra special!

  • Liked — The friendly staff, attention to detail, location on the main street, but no noise!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Forest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Excellent location, good sized clean room and bathroom, balcony with view of the Eiger. Friendly, helpful, English speaking staff. Kevin the Ingams rep was friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and present in the hotel each day. Excellent breakfasts, evening meals beautifully cooked and presented but the choice of dishes was rather bizarre to us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Grindelwald.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank notrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Property: Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing