We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few quirks but overall nice hotel with fantastic views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Few quirks but overall nice hotel with fantastic views!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Eiger in Grindelwald, Switzerland for three nights. We had decided on this touristy village as a post river cruise vacation because our port of disembarkation was Basel, Switzerland. Basel to Grindelwald turned out to be a nice three hour train ride with a connection through the much larger town of Interlaken.

I had called the hotel as we neared Grindelwald and less than five minutes after getting off of the train, the hotel shuttle picked us up and took us up the main road to the Hotel Eiger. It turned out that the train station is an easy walk to the hotel with even light luggage but as we had a bit more just coming off of the river cruise, the free hotel shuttle availability was nice. We were a bit early, arriving around 12:30 PM for check in, so the hotel staff kept our bags, gave us free bus passes to us for our three day stay, and directed us to various lunch spots near the hotel. As we walked up to a nearby pizza place (Onkel Tom's Hutte) for a nice outdoor lunch, we found ourselves constantly exclaiming how incredible the views were of the Eiger Mountain and the entire Jungfrau region. Grindelwald sits across a little valley from this famous mountain so anywhere you are, the views are awesome. After lunch rode the bus up the valley to the last stop, turned around, and came back to the hotel to check into our room.

Room details – I wanted a balcony with a view and we had opted for the “lifestyle” room. We were rewarded with a 4th floor room with a balcony that had a direct view of the Eiger. The room had magnificent views morning, afternoon, and night and we used the balcony a lot when not out exploring the region. Although modern, the room still seemed a bit dated, if that makes sense – maybe a different era of modern? We found the big negative of the room was that our bed was really two twin beds pushed together. Not very comfortable and this is the one change we would hope the hotel would make – queen beds. There was a glass door leading out to the balcony with the fantastic view but one more quirk to this room was that although there were large windows looking out over the balcony, none of them opened. So, since there is no air conditioning, we found that we actually had to keep the balcony door open on the few warm days we were there. This probably isn’t too much of an issue and we were there in early July – the need to heat room is probably more of an issue in Grindelwald hotels and the Hotel Eiger looked to have a decent room heating system for the colder times. The lifestyle rooms have a nice sitting area and there was more than adequate storage for luggage and clothes, etc. The bathroom was large enough for the two of us with all expected amenities with a unique stone sink.

I can’t speak to the spa, which is supposed to be very nice at this hotel, as we were out hiking and exploring too much to use this. Speaking of hiking, the hotel clerks were very helpful with area information and you can use nice Leki trekking poles provided free of charge by the hotel for your hiking adventures around the area. There is a decent sized fitness room with a variety of equipment – unfortunately young kids overran this several times we were there. We felt the kids under 16 ban should have been better enforced. Next to the fitness area is a lounge both indoors and extending onto a nice outdoor deck. One evening we were there, the owners of the hotel, hosted a small get together (prosecco and small snacks) for hotel guests on this outdoor deck. This was a very nice touch with great information about the area from the owners who really seemed to enjoy mingling with their guests and discussing the Jungfrau region. Each morning we ate at the included breakfast buffet, which had a nice assortment of breakfast foods and attentive wait staff.

Three nights, booked through our travel agent, cost 1065 CHF. Expensive but we found Switzerland (at least in Grindelwald and Zurich) to be an expensive country – meals were generally 25% or more than a comparable meal in the U.S. We actually found that by purchasing cheeses and meats at one of the two local markets near the hotel, we could have a nice meal on our balcony while sipping wine and enjoying the view. Besides the above pizza lunch we had, we did eat a nice dinner at the Bistro Memory restaurant on the property of the Hotel Eiger and another evening we ate across the street (Hotel Spinne restaurant) at a great terraced restaurant. We of course ate outside for all meals to enjoy the jaw dropping views.

While in Grindelwald, we took the Jungfrau train up to the “Top of Europe”, hiked below part of the Eiger, and the next day, took the gondola from Grindelwald to First for a full day of hiking. We had Swiss Rail passes and found that by showing these we did get some discounts on the gondolas and Jungfrau train. With a few more days, we would have explored further, utilized the hotel provided bus passes more, and maybe taken the train to a few more villages in between Grindelwald, the valleys, and Interlaken. Suffice it to say that there is a lot to do while visiting here.

Even though this was an expensive end to our river cruise vacation, we’re glad we picked Grindelwald and the Hotel Eiger. We would recommend this hotel and village to anyone wanting to visit this region as long as you are prepared for “sticker shock” when you visit here.

Room Tip: Lifestyle rooms on the front of the hotel have balconies and views directly at the Eiger. If you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    144
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
149
260
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights following a biuking event on the Gurnigel - if the weather had been good then this would have made my year. Lovely staff and a very welcoming family feel to the place. Only criticism I would raise is the lack of a double bed in the expensive life style rooms. Two singles pushed together might seem ok but two single duvets just do not work. Good car parking but one hell of a long walk from the top car park to reception - and if you try to come through the hotel then it's a maze until you get to know the place. There's no where to park on arrival to drop off bags in reception either. Minor points but ones that stop the 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Piuck a front facing room with amazing views - when the cloud lifts that is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Suisse
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Hotel Eiger is reminiscent of a Scandanavian hotel built in the 70s: the bathroom is tiled everywhere in brown; the ceilings are low, and every room has (or seemed to have) a balcony.
We paid 240 CHF for a 'middle class' twin-bed room in June i.e. between seasons. This rate would be reasonable for a 4 star hotel in a select Swiss alpine village (is Grindelwald?). The Hotel Eiger has:
* "Selfness" gym. The fitness gym turned out to be pretty good for a hotel: dumbbells up to 30kg, simple rack for squats / chest press etc (weights to ~110kg), good selection of machines. It is only open (at least officially) from 9am to 10pm.
* Internet access. The wi-fi signal was non-existent in our room. This seemed to be a known problem since we were provided with a cable at reception. The socket was located near one of the beds, far away from the table, so the connection could only be used on the bed, and not outside on the balcony nor on the table.
* Breakfast. The buffet included hot food like scrambled eggs and pancakes.
* Sauna: did not try this.
The above are all included in the room rate.
Overall the facilities are good, but some attention to detail is missing. This also applied to the service, which is good, but the young age and subsequent inexperience of every single staff member lends the hotel the feel of a fast food restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Eiger has good-sized rooms, with the standard two twin beds pushed together in one area, a small bathroom and a sitting area. It also had a small balcony with two chairs and a table that was perfect for meals.

The clerk at reception made our stay very nice. She gave us the option of a room away from the noisier street in front of the balcony and a crowded hallway/elevator area near the door. Yet we had almost as spectacular a mountain view as those front rooms. She also spent a lot of time recommending hikes in the nearby mountains.

If you're not here during ski season, a good mountain hike adds immeasurably to your stay. She recommended a plan that included a relatively crowded hike to a lake, but then a more isolated trek nearer the mountains. Both parts of the hike were memorable, and very different. While travel in and out of the mountain areas is quite expensive (we took a gondola ride in, and a bus ride out for about 60 francs each), it's well worth the price.

The area of the hotel we were in was fairly quiet. The rooms weren't updated as recently as the rooms in the front building, but they are comfortable and in good repair. The showers are good. And we appreciated the coffee maker.

Grindelwald itself is a bit touristy and expensive - the main strip reminds me of Bar Harbor in many ways. I was also sad to see racist graffiti prominently on display on one of the main gas stations in town. I'm not sure I would want to return to Grindelwald, but if I did, I would definitely stay at the Eiger again.

Room Tip: A corner room in Eiger 2 is quieter, but still has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

30 years visting Grindelwald, Hotel Eiger remains the best choice for a successfull skiholiday.
Great food aswell in restaurant as in Memorybar!
Don't forget to ask your free pass for the town swimmingpool (Hallenbad), no Chlorine but ozon is used to purify water.If you don't like swimmingpoolsmell, this one is perfect and also spotless clean!

Room Tip: Rooms with viaw of the Eiger !Wake up and see the mountains, great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I spent a weekend with a friend at this amazing hotel. We had the corner suite with an breathtaking view of the Eiger. The balcony was spacious and comfortable. We spent most of our time just relaxing and reading.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weluvs2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Eiger for 6 nights while we were boarding with a local pass. We booked the hotel through Thomson Ski for about £1600 for the week (including lift passes).

The hotel staff made a real effort to be friendly and nothing was too much hassle. We stayed half board and the food was always really good, a great choice each night - either the daily special or simply off the menu.

Breakfast was good though the afternoon cakes (we rushed down from the slopes on the first day) were alright. They were described as having been made by "local housewives" but I doubt they were.

The wellness centre was great - sauna, steam room etc and we timed it right so it was quiet. You can ask sit outside after a sauna which was really relaxing.

There 'First' lift opens up a good selection of runs, head high in March as it is quite icy in the morning and quite slushy in the late afternoon. The 'Kleinesheidegg' area is also good. We went to the Jungfrau one afternoon but be warned it takes almost an hue to travel up there, cool use caves etc but i would rather have spent my time on the slopes.

We are borders and we were happy with the runs.

Overall I would definitely recommend staying at the Eiger but I would be unlikely to return - only because I like to try new places, rather than returning to one I have enjoyed before.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Property: Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing