We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but watch your room choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is in a nice location on the main street. It has a beautiful loby and the staff seems nice. We expected a view of the alps, but instead got a view of the alley (very noisy at night). They called it a family suite, but it was the same size as a regular room with a bunck bed added - not what we expected for the price. The bathroom was large, although no place to do hair and makeup outside the bathroom with 4 people staying in the room.

I didn't try the exercise room, but it looked like they had very nice equipment.

The breakfast was wonderful. They had yummy rolls, meat, cheese, eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc. Everything was fresh and good.

The internet was free but very spotty.

The room was warm, so we had to keep them open to cool down the room. Unfortunately this caused the room to be very noisy.

Room Tip: avoid one with windows on the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Started of fairly well, the service was good and it seemed like they were very focused on their service but some staff are very juniors. But things only got worse from there on!
The rooms are very dated and not very large, for the price we paid and compared to other hotels in the village it was a bit of a let down.

Things went bad to worse when I spend most of the night fighting a rash, it was only in the early hours I could see and realized it was bed bugs (see photos).

My hand and body has a lot of bite and I hadn’t had more than an hour sleep the night before. I went to the reception and showed them the photos I took and the bites, they didn’t seem overly apologetic or concerned, they asked a cleaner to go to my room, luckily I had caught one of the bugs in in a jar and they could see it was bed bugs, otherwise they would have probably denied it.
Was told the room would be cleaned again. Luckily by the afternoon a more senior manager come on site and offered a change of room for the “incident” in the morning.

At checkout I did tell them it wasn’t a very good stay and all they could say was that they never had it before and they were sorry. Which didn’t really help me much, a decent hotel would have probably offered a refund for the first night.

They are trying hard on the service and did the little things well, but I think they are forgetting the fundamentals, nice clean rooms and ad good nights sleep!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mas_The_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I'm not writing this review because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our well-appointed apartment, our amazing view and the fabulous breakfasts. I'm writing this because of the first class service we received AFTER our stay. Our son had left an electronic device (his DS player) in a desk in the loft, so we called after we left to see if someone had found it. Melanie was a great help. She contacted the person who cleaned the room, they went back to look for it, called me to confirm they found it, packaged it up and mailed it to my home address, fully intact. We received it within a week and a half with a nice note attached. A big thanks to Melanie and anyone else who helped out.
I would recommend this hotel to the pickiest person I know! Thanks for a wonderful, Grindelwald experience!!

Room Tip: We chose Rm 606. It had everything a family needs in the kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adr1ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

After an exhaustive series of emails regarding room sizes and amenities, my wife and I decided to reserve a junior suite. In the course of these emails, I made certain that the junior suites had a regular "hanging stand under shower". (this is one of the things I am very picky about,,,I hate hand held showers). When we checked into the room, we were dismayed to see that the bathroom only had a large tub with a hand held shower...no place to hang the shower and no curtain or other barrier to keep the shower spray contained. Since we were staying for several days we decided to change to a "lifestyle" room with a regular shower.

The junior suite was large but had not been renovated. The furnishing and decor were dated but in generally ok condition.

The lifestyle room had been renovated but was still somewhat spartan, poorly designed and smaller than we would have liked. The clothes storage space was limited and was located right next to the bed. (making it very difficult to gain access to this space). The king bed was two separate twin beds placed along side each other. The mattresses were old, lumpy and not comfortable. The lighting was poor causing the room to be dark and dreary. The room was not air conditioned. There was often only one person manning reception which led to long waits for service. Also, surprisingly, reception was unmanned from 10 pm until 7:00 am

On the plus side, we enjoyed a nice private balcony with a breathtaking view of the Eiger, the breakfast service and quality were exceptional and the shower water pressure was very strong. Memories bar/restaurant on the first floor offered quality food and good service at reasonable prices. The central location of the hotel was convenient.

We will be returning to Grindewald but will not return to the Eiger. One afternoon I looked at several other hotels and was very impressed with the Sunstar . Their superior double rooms were new, modern, well-furnished and much larger than the "lifestyle" rooms. All rooms in this category had great views of the Eiger. Plus all their rooms had standard hanging showers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Eiger in Grindelwald, Switzerland for three nights. We had decided on this touristy village as a post river cruise vacation because our port of disembarkation was Basel, Switzerland. Basel to Grindelwald turned out to be a nice three hour train ride with a connection through the much larger town of Interlaken.

I had called the hotel as we neared Grindelwald and less than five minutes after getting off of the train, the hotel shuttle picked us up and took us up the main road to the Hotel Eiger. It turned out that the train station is an easy walk to the hotel with even light luggage but as we had a bit more just coming off of the river cruise, the free hotel shuttle availability was nice. We were a bit early, arriving around 12:30 PM for check in, so the hotel staff kept our bags, gave us free bus passes to us for our three day stay, and directed us to various lunch spots near the hotel. As we walked up to a nearby pizza place (Onkel Tom's Hutte) for a nice outdoor lunch, we found ourselves constantly exclaiming how incredible the views were of the Eiger Mountain and the entire Jungfrau region. Grindelwald sits across a little valley from this famous mountain so anywhere you are, the views are awesome. After lunch rode the bus up the valley to the last stop, turned around, and came back to the hotel to check into our room.

Room details – I wanted a balcony with a view and we had opted for the “lifestyle” room. We were rewarded with a 4th floor room with a balcony that had a direct view of the Eiger. The room had magnificent views morning, afternoon, and night and we used the balcony a lot when not out exploring the region. Although modern, the room still seemed a bit dated, if that makes sense – maybe a different era of modern? We found the big negative of the room was that our bed was really two twin beds pushed together. Not very comfortable and this is the one change we would hope the hotel would make – queen beds. There was a glass door leading out to the balcony with the fantastic view but one more quirk to this room was that although there were large windows looking out over the balcony, none of them opened. So, since there is no air conditioning, we found that we actually had to keep the balcony door open on the few warm days we were there. This probably isn’t too much of an issue and we were there in early July – the need to heat room is probably more of an issue in Grindelwald hotels and the Hotel Eiger looked to have a decent room heating system for the colder times. The lifestyle rooms have a nice sitting area and there was more than adequate storage for luggage and clothes, etc. The bathroom was large enough for the two of us with all expected amenities with a unique stone sink.

I can’t speak to the spa, which is supposed to be very nice at this hotel, as we were out hiking and exploring too much to use this. Speaking of hiking, the hotel clerks were very helpful with area information and you can use nice Leki trekking poles provided free of charge by the hotel for your hiking adventures around the area. There is a decent sized fitness room with a variety of equipment – unfortunately young kids overran this several times we were there. We felt the kids under 16 ban should have been better enforced. Next to the fitness area is a lounge both indoors and extending onto a nice outdoor deck. One evening we were there, the owners of the hotel, hosted a small get together (prosecco and small snacks) for hotel guests on this outdoor deck. This was a very nice touch with great information about the area from the owners who really seemed to enjoy mingling with their guests and discussing the Jungfrau region. Each morning we ate at the included breakfast buffet, which had a nice assortment of breakfast foods and attentive wait staff.

Three nights, booked through our travel agent, cost 1065 CHF. Expensive but we found Switzerland (at least in Grindelwald and Zurich) to be an expensive country – meals were generally 25% or more than a comparable meal in the U.S. We actually found that by purchasing cheeses and meats at one of the two local markets near the hotel, we could have a nice meal on our balcony while sipping wine and enjoying the view. Besides the above pizza lunch we had, we did eat a nice dinner at the Bistro Memory restaurant on the property of the Hotel Eiger and another evening we ate across the street (Hotel Spinne restaurant) at a great terraced restaurant. We of course ate outside for all meals to enjoy the jaw dropping views.

While in Grindelwald, we took the Jungfrau train up to the “Top of Europe”, hiked below part of the Eiger, and the next day, took the gondola from Grindelwald to First for a full day of hiking. We had Swiss Rail passes and found that by showing these we did get some discounts on the gondolas and Jungfrau train. With a few more days, we would have explored further, utilized the hotel provided bus passes more, and maybe taken the train to a few more villages in between Grindelwald, the valleys, and Interlaken. Suffice it to say that there is a lot to do while visiting here.

Even though this was an expensive end to our river cruise vacation, we’re glad we picked Grindelwald and the Hotel Eiger. We would recommend this hotel and village to anyone wanting to visit this region as long as you are prepared for “sticker shock” when you visit here.

Room Tip: Lifestyle rooms on the front of the hotel have balconies and views directly at the Eiger. If you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights following a biuking event on the Gurnigel - if the weather had been good then this would have made my year. Lovely staff and a very welcoming family feel to the place. Only criticism I would raise is the lack of a double bed in the expensive life style rooms. Two singles pushed together might seem ok but two single duvets just do not work. Good car parking but one hell of a long walk from the top car park to reception - and if you try to come through the hotel then it's a maze until you get to know the place. There's no where to park on arrival to drop off bags in reception either. Minor points but ones that stop the 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Piuck a front facing room with amazing views - when the cloud lifts that is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willow E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Hotel Eiger is reminiscent of a Scandanavian hotel built in the 70s: the bathroom is tiled everywhere in brown; the ceilings are low, and every room has (or seemed to have) a balcony.
We paid 240 CHF for a 'middle class' twin-bed room in June i.e. between seasons. This rate would be reasonable for a 4 star hotel in a select Swiss alpine village (is Grindelwald?). The Hotel Eiger has:
* "Selfness" gym. The fitness gym turned out to be pretty good for a hotel: dumbbells up to 30kg, simple rack for squats / chest press etc (weights to ~110kg), good selection of machines. It is only open (at least officially) from 9am to 10pm.
* Internet access. The wi-fi signal was non-existent in our room. This seemed to be a known problem since we were provided with a cable at reception. The socket was located near one of the beds, far away from the table, so the connection could only be used on the bed, and not outside on the balcony nor on the table.
* Breakfast. The buffet included hot food like scrambled eggs and pancakes.
* Sauna: did not try this.
The above are all included in the room rate.
Overall the facilities are good, but some attention to detail is missing. This also applied to the service, which is good, but the young age and subsequent inexperience of every single staff member lends the hotel the feel of a fast food restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £124 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing