We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Nearby Hotels
US$320
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$433
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eigerblick(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$137
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
408
168
32
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
168
32
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmemory barlifestyle roomexcellent gymself cateringhalf boardthe main streetthe hotel staffa la carte menucoffee makerfantastic hotelbalcony roomtrain stationbooked this hotelski holidaybreakfast buffetbreadmountain view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 6 times now and have never been disappointed. It is the most friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff and owners are amazing and so friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel is excellent. The owners of the hotel take a very active role in the hotel and take time to meet the guests. The location of the hotel is excellent and located in reach of the railway station and the First cable car station. I would never pass this hotel when visiting Grindelwald.

Thanks very much for another excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you very much for your lovey review! Great to hear that you had another unforgettable stay :-)!
With our best wishes from Grindelwald
Daniel & Gisela Heller and the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A very nice hotel the décor in the rooms is a little dated, but never less very clean. we had a room in the second building and on the 5th floor with excellent views of the Eiger. Very good reception staff. The breakfast was very good as was the evening meal once you had sorted out what was available in "Barry's" restaurant This can be a bit noisy but has a good atmosphere We enjoyed our stay. The bonus is that the TV has over 100 channels and caters for most languages.

Room Tip: Go for a Eiger view in the rear no2 building. The front one in the first block overlook the main road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCDurkin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for your great review! Great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)!
Greetings from Grindelwald
Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Heartly welcome with a glass of white Wine offered an "old fashioned" quiet room away from the street... after 12 hours by The Glacier Express and other regular trains, just what 2 Senior Danes needed to prepare for next day's returntrip via Jungfraubahn to "Top of Europe".
Cheese fondue and Swiss beer in the hotel's interesting restaurant rooms served in top-professionalisme upon the advise of a friendly waiter. Value for monty.

Room Tip: Mountain view may involve street noice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Danish guests :-)
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your "Swiss" stay with us! Thank you very much for your feedback and best regards from Grindelwald
Family Heller & the Eiger Team
PS: The "old fashioned" rooms will be renovated in spring 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is family run and we think the best hotel in Grindelwald. Ensure you pick a room with an Eiger view. The breakfasts are excellent and there are three restaurants to choose from for dinner - Barry's is a must. If you are staying midweek make sure you book yourselves on the mountain BBQ - it isexcellent

Room Tip: choose a room with a view of the Eiger
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Sirs,
Many thanks for your wonderful review - we are very glad to hear that you had an unforgettable stay with us and on the BBQ up on Männlichen!
Best regards from Grindelwald
Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

You can imagine,after a gruelling 7hr drive from Lake Garda via Milan in exceptionally bad weather and traffic jams@Gotthard Tunnel you need something special when you arrive!!??
Well,after being greeted by the staff at the Hotel Eiger we knew straight away this was going to be a 'special' 2 night stay.
The staff/hotel and food in the bar was just the best,in fact it topped the hotels we stayed in on Lake Garda!!
Just wished we'd stayed here longer,as unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side for the trip to the Jungfrau.........but the hotel even supplied us Poncho's without charge.
So thank you to the team.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor Rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clivewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Great to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us :-), thank you very much for your feedback and best regards from Grindelwald
Family Heller & the Eiger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews