We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at the Hotel Eiger in late August . We stayed there 5 years ago and always wanted to go back. The location is fantastic for a week of hiking especially with the six day rail and gondola pass. The mountain hikes around Grindelwald have some of the best scenic vistas of anywhere in the world.
The hotel has a great spa with 2 saunas, steam room and best of all a cold plunge. Trust me, use the cold plunge to get rid of the aches and pains of hiking . If you can just make 20 seconds you will make it to a minute and your legs will thank you the next day. For us Americans the no clothing allowed in the sauna ,steam and cold plunge areas may take a little getting used to but "When in Rome........." besides the towels are big if you are bashful!
The hotel and the food (half board) are fine but the staff and service are great. Need walking poles...... they will get them for you. WIFI weak in your room......here plug in this repeater box. Train to the airport leaving at 5:19AM .....let me send a snack box up to your room tonight (Water, 2 pieces of fruit and a great sandwich) so you have something to eat for breakfast on the train. The staff could not have been more helpful and made our visit one to remember.
the view from the room is of the Eigers famous North face which on a clear day is fantastic! We highly recommend the Hotel Eiger and won't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We recently returned from our ninth stay at the Hotel Eiger, we have stayed both in winter and summer and have holidayed there with our respective family, as a couple and this summer returned with our baby.
There is always a warm welcome, the rooms are comfortable and the meals (we stay half board) are incredible. We continuously return to the Hotel Eiger as we don't want to have to find a hotel of an equally all round excellent standard.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Katherine
Thanks a lot for your great feedback! It's always a big pleasure to have you and your family with us! Take care and all the best for you
Gisela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have stayed at the eiger 3 times now and have always been treated like family with everyone that's works there,we travelled with my mum and dad in law and also our 4 children who we feel can roam the street on the music festival safely.only down side to the hotel/apartment is the parking situation we feel that if we are paying to park in there we should get allocated parking spaces apart from that we can't fault it x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you very much for your report - we are very glad to hear that you had a nice time with us and that you enjoyed the Street Festival on Wednesday evening! Thank you also for your feedback regarding the parking situation. We will discuss the theme in our team and will see what possibilities we have. Many thanks and best regards from Grindelwald
Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel , in two different rooms. The first night, in the front building,
in a renovated room, small but clean, with comfortable bed. The only observation i can make is that you hear everything : the steps of the people over you , the doors next to you , the showers,
etc.The hotel entrance hall need a makeup. The room we had could have less furniture ,as it was small,
but all in one it was ok. The next day we decided to stay one more night, but the room was taken so they put us on the waiting list and after 5 min(?) they discovered they have a free room in the building behind , and we can get it for the same price. So we went hiking and came back in the evening, very tired, and found out we got an apartment .The standard of the apartment is very low, everything outdated and just in front of the window - restaurant ventilation and loud air conditioner (I think ).The room was smelling of food and old carpet, the internet was not strong to reach this area , the TV was in a strange position,impossible to look at from a comfortable seat, or bed, the wardrobe was very ugly . We got no information about this room being so different from the first , and we did not imagine, as the hotel is rewarded by Trip advisor traveler s choice 2013. The pictures explain it better .After we complained we got 17% price reduction , but ,we should have checked the room before and go for another hotel . On a short vacation every day and night is important , and it is a pity to pay high price and sleep bad,
be tired next day, frustrated and just happy to go away.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a renovated room ,as high as possible,because the hotel is just by the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vimu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and apologize for all your inconvenience. You stayed in the second night in one of our apartments (3 star standard). We regret that we have not exactly explained this to you and not show you the apartment before. Unfortunately it was the last room available and accordingly we could offer no alternative.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the newly renovated lifestyle room. The rooms and apartments are gradually renovated, the rooms in the front building, we have renewed in the last two years and the room in the back building (quiet location) will be renovated next spring.
We thank you very much for considering our hotel and remain with our best regards,
Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The location is about 5minute walk from train station. The room is big, and so that the bath room size. Our room has a living room and from the terrace you can see the great mountain view. Very nice and peaceful.The staff are nice. The breakfast is standard. Overall, I think, the room rate is a bit high for the hotel, but yes, this is Switzerland, where everything seems to be expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris_th2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have felt comfortable with us and were able to enjoy the mountains and our nature!
Our hotels stays open all year around, therefore we offer in mid-season attractively priced special offers . Take a look on our website www.eiger-grindelwald.ch where we publish this offers or sign up for our newsletter (see under services), which we will send monthly and mention our special offers as well.
We would be delighted to welcome you again with us in Grindelwald and send you our best regards,
Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed in this hotel 6 times now and have never been disappointed. It is the most friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff and owners are amazing and so friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel is excellent. The owners of the hotel take a very active role in the hotel and take time to meet the guests. The location of the hotel is excellent and located in reach of the railway station and the First cable car station. I would never pass this hotel when visiting Grindelwald.

Thanks very much for another excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you very much for your lovey review! Great to hear that you had another unforgettable stay :-)!
With our best wishes from Grindelwald
Daniel & Gisela Heller and the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A very nice hotel the décor in the rooms is a little dated, but never less very clean. we had a room in the second building and on the 5th floor with excellent views of the Eiger. Very good reception staff. The breakfast was very good as was the evening meal once you had sorted out what was available in "Barry's" restaurant This can be a bit noisy but has a good atmosphere We enjoyed our stay. The bonus is that the TV has over 100 channels and caters for most languages.

Room Tip: Go for a Eiger view in the rear no2 building. The front one in the first block overlook the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCDurkin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for your great review! Great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)!
Greetings from Grindelwald
Family Heller & the Eiger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £125 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing