We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite which was wonderful. The view of the Eiger from our balcony was magnificent as was the spacious suite. The staff were excellent and as well as a welcome glass of wine the drinks in the bar fridge were free each day.During the plentiful and delicious breakfast a knowledgeable staff member stops at every table to offer advice/experience of the local walks/conditions e.t.c.
Reception also were so helpful and courteous. Thank you for a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiana00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Hotel is on the main street in Grindelwald, near to the station and shops. The front of the hotel has the hotel rooms and another block at the back has the self-catering apartments, which don't enjoy the same stunning view of the Eiger, but are nevertheless a very good, flexible and cheaper option if you are visiting Grindelwald. Called the Aprthotel Eiger) There is ample car parking round the back, though you have to pay for this per night, and, it's a bit of a trek to your room from the car park. SIgnage could be better. You'll need to get a card from reception for the barrier up to the car park.
Having said all that, our room was great. It had cooker and fridge and had we wanted, we could have eaten in and stayed very cheaply indeed. There was a nice balcony where you could sit and sun yourself in the warmth of the evening. The hotel has two places to eat, one has the strange name of the Memory Bistro. It's popular and does a good off the street trade, serving local dishes like Rosti. Barry's Restaurant is also part of the hotel and there you can eat in the slightly less crowded ambience of a Swiss Chalet lookalike restaurant. When we were there they were doing an eat all you can for 29SF Mongolian style. I gather they do a "special" like this every month.
We found the reception staff very helpful indeed, and restaurant service was brisk and efficient and friendly. We did try another restaurant too, as there are so many within a stone's throw of the place.
If you're staying in Grindelwald as a tourist, you will be issued with a visitor's pass which gets you into the Sport's Centre free, and there's a pool there. The Hotel has one too but I think you have to pay extra to use it and the other fitness and spa facilities on offer. The visitor's pass also gets a significant discount off the Gondolas (3 different ones) which take you up into the mountains, BUT NOT the mountain train up to the Kleine Schydeck and on to the Jungfrau Joch, which for some is a Grindelwald MUST DO. You can get a ticket to any of the stations on the way up, you don't have to go all the way. Do take the Gondola to First, and walk to the Bachsee.
The wifi for the apartments is not good. You have to sit in the lounge at the fitness centre where there is a strong signal. That was not a problem for us.
You get a complimentary drink on arrival and if you're sharp, you may see a voucher on the paper place mats in Memory, for a complimentary drink at Barry's. We cut them out, and presented them there (twice!). :) But then we carry a penknife with scissors for just such an occasion obviously!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back don't get a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frankribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Eiger in Grindelwald, Switzerland. First of all we had
a problem to find the hotel since the name "Eiger" is only written under another sign. To get to the hotel carpark you need to first call in at the reception to receive a card for the barrier. Since it was a holiday weekend in Switzerland, the carpark was full and it was difficult to know where to park as many of the places were private. For a four star hotel we were disappointed with the hotel room, clean but very basic facing onto the carpark. We had had better rooms in Zermatt at a 3 star hotel and superior fitness facilities.. To get to the rooms was a nightmare, take a lift from the reception, walk up half a floor, go through a massive fitness centre and then take another lift. In the fitness centre was a hot tub but it had no water and it was very claustrophobic. On checking out, we had to insist on a bill to see what the hotel had charged the credit card even if the booking was made through an agency. Surprise! A lot less expensive than quoted by the agency booking. Therefore, were we given inferior rooms? Also we had a pay for the carpark which we were not informed about at the reception on entry. Breakfast buffet and restaurant were the only good points.

Room Tip: Look for a superior room perhaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel Eiger provided one of the most comfortable and pleasant experiences during my time in Switzerland.

We checked in with Melanie at the front desk. She was extremely pleasant to deal with and entertained all of our questions about local hiking routes and activities in the area. We booked the Junior Suite on the top floor and as much as we loved the spaciousness and comforts of the room (large sitting area, flat scream tv, and a huge double sized tub in the bathroom) we were awestruck by the incredible view we had from our large patio. I could sit there for hours drinking a cup of coffee and looking at that incredible mountain view of the Eiger.

We spent much of our time hiking the mountain trails and exploring the local area, so we didn't take advantage of the other areas the hotel had to offer - spa, fully equipped gym, wellness room, lounge, etc, but we're quite impressed with all that was offered.

The hotel also has two restaurants on premise, Memory and Barry's, and each provided a delicious meal and friendly, helpful service.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back and would definitely stay there're again.

The only drawback I can say is they have a limited WiFi signal in the hotel. We were not able to get a signal in my room, and only a limited signal in other parts of the hotel... Overall though, I didn't go to such a beautiful location to browse the internet.

Room Tip: They are currently updating many of their older rooms. Ask for a newer one and definitely one with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdandCora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wte stayed at the aparthotel that is part of the same hotel.The only difference was that it was self catering and since we were there for a week it worked out just right for us.The reception staff was very helpful and we were offered a glass of their wine while we waited to be checked in.The location was so central and a five min stroll away from the train station which we used everyday to explore the beautiful area!There was a free evening tea with homemade cakes and local apples juices on offer everday...we could avail of it only a couple of times as we were busy exploring.Only thing negative was that the housekeeping had to be paid extra to clear our apartment everyday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anshoobajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

There are lots of thing I like Eiger:
- Good location
- Extremely helpful and informative front desk staff
- Spacious and model room
- Good breakfast
- Restaurant provides good food in reasonable price

Just 1 thing I dislike it:
- Wifi is not working properly in room, very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Many thanks for your review - we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are offering free Wifi in our public area (restaurants / lounge) and in the room we offer free Internet connection (with cable). If you would like to have Wifi in the room you can ask for a separate Wifi-Box at the front office (for free).
We would be very happy to welcome and spoil you again with us at the Eiger Hotel and remain,
with our best regards,
family Heller & the Eiger team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great little sport, under 5min stroll to the train (or catch the local bus which is just outside). I was in a single room - decor was a little dated but your not there to see your room. The complementary drinks in the fridge was a treat after a day on the slopes and the staff were very helpful when ever I need anything.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank SiFind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £138 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing