We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We have just returned from a week's ski-ing holiday (xmas week 2008) at the Eiger Hotel in Grindelwald and had a really enjoyable stay.
We booked the hotel at very short notice (largely based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor) on a half board basis and the fact that Grindelwald is a good location for non skiers (my wife doesn't ski).
We found the customer service 'exceptional' (and we don't use this word lightly), all the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive - very keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable. It was also really nice to find that there was a no smoking policy in our restaurant (for those on half board) and that there were other public areas where smoking was not permitted.
The food was of a very high standard, plentiful, well presented and varied, The gymnasium and 'wellness' area (spa) was modern, well equipped and a wonderful facility for the non skiers.
Our room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and of a good size.
We also met the owners of the hotel- Mr and Mrs HELLER on several occasions throughout the week. They enquired if everything was to our satisfaction (which it was) and if there was anything further they could do for us. We were not selected for any special reason, this 'attentiveness' extended to everyone staying in the hotel.
It was clear that the hotel was very well run and that all the staff were well trained, knowledgeable and fluent in english. Mr and Mrs HELLER must take great credit for the high standards of service provided at the Eiger Hotel. We read all the reports on trip advisor before departing and thought that they sounded 'too good to be true'. It is therefore really nice (and the is the first review we have ever written) to report that the reviews are accurate, the staff are friendly, cheerful and well trained and that this is an 'exceptional' hotel.
At our evening meals we enjoyed the company of a delightful Dutch family who were making their sixth visit to the Hotel Eiger in the last three years.
Big thanks to Mr and Mrs HELLER and their staff.
Mick and Ruth, Worcestershire, England

  • Liked — The rooms were well equipped, quiet, warm and spacious.
  • Disliked — It was all fine, everything to our satisfaction.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderersworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    143
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
145
256
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The main building of the hotel is a concrete modern building, which was a bit disappointing as it detracts from the Swiss village image. However the room was well appointed and the staff friendly and helpful.

Our room was a Junior suite on the top floor with a balcony. From the balcony you had a grand view of the North face of the Eiger that you felt you could reach out and touch.

The room was large and had a good bed. The bathroom was also large and modern with an exceptionally big bath that you could get lost in. The water from the shower was strong.

The hotel had a good breakfast and complimentary coffee and cake in the restaurant. The fitness room was good with plenty of equipment.

We had a good stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Excellent Hotel, breakfast and staff. I checked in after 41 hour travel to a lovely warm clean room with offers of a free drink from the bar.
The staff were fantastic, nothing was a problem, in fact the girls on reception were far more helpful than the tourist information office a street away!

Loved the included coffee and cake each afternoon and the breakfasts were wonderful! A great place to stay.

My room was a single room, which was a little sparse in deocrations but I didn't go to Grindelwald to see the hotel room. The views from the balcony were amazing.

  • Liked — Friendliness, location, facilities
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snowyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

We had a very nice stay at the Hotel Eiger in Grindelwald.
The Hotel was well situated in the center of town just few short blocks from the Grindelwald train station.

Positives:
1) The "Comfort" room with balcony was nicely updated, very comfortable with a very nice view of the Eiger.
2) The on-site gym was surprisingly excellent
3) The restaurant (Barry's) had excellent food at reasonable prices by Swiss standards.

Negatives:
1) The bar area was unbearably smokey

Overall our stay was very nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smokey bar area
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DelGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I recommend the hotel, but with the caveat that you need to have the right expectations. The hotel is older, and the rooms haven't been remodeled anytime recently. As a result, they are quite dated, the heat is difficult to control, and the bathrooms are, well, not the nicest. However, the staff are incredible, probably the nicest and most genuine we met on our Swiss travels (quite a high bar), the location is good (in the centre of town), it's clean, and both of the hotel restaurants (which I would normally avoid) I would highly recommend. And if you are lucky enough to get a south facing room, the views are spectacular.

  • Liked — Staff & Views
  • Disliked — Rooms were dated
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller200802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Overall our experience at the Eiger Hotel was very positive. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was the best we had in Switzerland. The location was great -- a 10 minute walk from the train station and on the main street near shops and restaurants. Grindelwald was a good base from which to tour Wengen, Murren, etc. Our room, though smaller than anticipated, was comfortable and offered amazing balcony views of the Eiger. There was a great little restaurant on the premises, called the Memory Bistro. The problem, which is hard to avoid in Switzerland, was that it was very smoky. In fact we had a difficult time finding non-smoking restaurants anywhere in Switzerland.

  • Liked — Location, views, friendly staff, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Size of room, smoky restaurant on first floor
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank colbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Great Hotel booked direct and got better deal.

Clean spacious room with great south facing view of the mountains.

The welcome was excellent staff friendly and efficient and the owner seems to do a daily tour to see all is well with the guests.

The variety of food on offer is excellent and breakfast buffet superb. Afternoon coffee and cakes is a bonus. Great location for all the attractions of Grindelwald.

The only draw back is no sunny terrace to sit on as the hotel fronts directly onto the street.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Property: Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing