We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Excellent hotel from the moment you start your stay, the reception team are extremely helpful and polite, nothing is too much they are always happy to help. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very nice with lovely comfortable beds and thick duvets. we staid half board and the hotel and the food was very good. The location is fantastic very central to either the gondolas or the train and is in the main street so that all restaurants, bars etc and easily accessable. grindleward is such a beautiful, clean friendly place i cannot wait to return ! and i will definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynoldsg236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    144
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
149
260
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
isle of man
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Great hotel experience, from the moment we were collected from the station. All staff are friendly and eager to please and the owners circulate the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner. half board food excellent and again staff very attentive. front section of hotel has been renovated to a modern good standard. we were in the rear part which was comfortable, but bathrooms are bit dated and views limited. i believe these rooms are next to be upgraded. Only complaint would be walls are quite thin so inconsiderate neighbours can be a problem. the rear of the hotel is accessed through a modern gym/wellness area, which seems a bit odd at first but grows on you. Nice touches of apres ski cake & tea, party bomb given out at new year, and bottle of water on checkout for your journey. good ski room and brilliant central position as both the train station and first ski lift are walkable.
Service. Service. Great service. the eiger rates very very highly.

ps( if u) go sledging, hire the more expensive metal sledges or suffer the bruises caused by the wooden one. eiger run is awesome.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank johnnypigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcbexleyoh
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Hotel Eiger was great. My family spent 3 comfortable nights. The hotel has a large fitness program and comfortable lounge with free wifi. There was no wifi in the rooms, though.
Our breakfast was as I had hoped - terrific coffee and hot cocoa, excellent breads, cheeses, local specialities every day. Even the butter was locally made. The hotel also has a washer and dryer, several restaurants and free use of a computer in the lobby. They greet you with cake served in their casual bar. Our balcony had a nice view of the Eiger - of course. There is not a swimming pool but you can use the excellent community recreation center a short walk away for free. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbexleyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Nice Rooms with great view, rooms clean, nice breakfast, nice bar, very friendly people

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BettinaA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I stayed here in march 2010 on an educational with work, we stayed here for 4 nights, it turned out to actually be my best holiday experience ever!!!!
the rooms were spacious with a perfect front view of mount eiger, the bathrooms were lovely with a frosted glass sliding door a big pebble shaped sink and hot powerful shower which was great!
There was also a huge flat widescreen tv which turned which ever way you wanted.
We werent in our rooms much as we were out skiing all day but when we were we were totally relaxed.
We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and it was lovely, great service very helpful staff and the hotel was in a great location.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank good_4_u088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Hotel Eiger was everything my daughter and I had hoped for. The room was immaculate with a fabulous view, the staff was helpful, and the spa was terrific. There's a lounge with free wifi, a workout room, a small health food/wine bar, a hair dresser, a massage service, and a top-notch sauna area. There were 5 different carefully tended kinds of sauna/relaxing rooms. Since we were there in between seasons and many stores/hotels were closed, it was particularly helpful that the hotel had two restaurants, both excellent. One was a typical small beer/fondue stube, and other was a traditional-looking restaurant with a range of Swiss/continental foods. The entire Grindelwald area is postcard-perfect Switzerland (with tons of chalets to rent in the summer or winter ski season), with lots of walking routes and the nearby cog railway up to smaller alpine spots and the magnificent Jungfraujoch. I highly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring the area in any season.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Hotel Eiger, we had a fantastic room overlooking Eiger and Jungfrau. The room is clean, spacious and very comfortable. Great breakfast included in rate, free wifi but only available in common area, and free parking out in the public carpark out the back. Great location, very central to the shops.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Property: Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing