We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a convenient location with incredible views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Ranked #3 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a convenient location with incredible views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel was within reasonable distance of the train station. The room was big and the views from the balcony were incredible. The Eiger could easily be seen from the balcony of our room. The hotel featured an Italian restaurant which served very good food. Best lasagna that my wife and I have ever had. The staff was friendly, and accomodating. I would recommend this hotel to someone that is not looking for 5-star accomodations, but a good place to sleep, eat, and strike out for adventure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Dear Steinbock guests.
Many thanks for taking your time to write a nice review about our Chalet Hotel Steinbock.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and yes, from your balcony you had a great view. Important to say for people reading your review and my response, that not many rooms have such a balcony and that guests should especially ask for it in advance.
The restaurant with Italian and Swiss specialities is the most popular one in town, on winter weekends, waiting lines are normal, a reservation would do therefore no harm.
The hotel's category is 3 star, there no additional facilities can be expected (free WiFi available), however the location, just next to the First gondola is of course ideal.
Thanks so much for recommending our small family run hotel to the world.

With best regards
Urs-B. Hauser, co-owner with Salvatore Ponzio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just back from here after a recent stay of a few nights. Looks very nice from the outside, very traditional looking and right next door to a laundry facility. The rooms are a good size, but the sheets are not comfortable (nylon and bubbly), the pillow is a large soft big square thing that you have to fold over to resemble a traditional pillow.

Downstairs there is a very busy pizza restaurant, the wood burner keeps locals and visitors coming night after night. We tried a pizza and it was good, trouble was competing with all of the flies in the restaurant.

The breakfast was very basic, the breakfast staff were abrupt and again you had to compete with the flies (I counted over 20 of them one morning).

For the money I would probably stay somewhere else next time, maybe somewhere with a hot tub and sauna.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Dear Sir
thank you for staying at the Steinbock .For the money you paid, you will not find a hotel with sauna and hot tub, such a hotel will cost you double.
We are however sorry, that you did not enjoy your stay. You know that tiny chalet hotel is just a 3 star hotel, offering rooms, also family rooms and the restaurant. But outside of the hotel, on its parking you find cars like Porsche, big Mercedes, you see famous company booking one seminar after the other, funny isn't it ? Just behind the hotel you find the First gondoal, hiking paradise in summer, skiing paradies in winter.
The restaurant is the most popular one in Grindelwald, but yes, sometimes, like last week, when it is so rainy and dump outside, then flies enter the restaurant and despite all the measures we take to get rid of them, we never catch them all. But believe me, many places have that problem for a few days during the summer season.
We hope you will return to Grindelwald and find a place you will enjoy better.
With best regards
Urs-B. Hauser, Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

The Ponzio family operate the Steinbock and they are the most wonderful people. You get warm Southern Italian hospitality in the heart of the Swiss Alps! The rooms are spacious and newly renovated with gorgeous bathrooms, plush bedding and flat screen tv. The location is the best in town, right below the First Lift Station, which whisks you up to many spectacular hikes. The train station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Not only do you get a terrific room and location at the Steinbock, they have the best restaurant in Grindelwald hands down! Salvi Ponzio, the owner of the hotel and restaurant serves up the best food we have ever had in Europe. His wood-fired pizzas are better than any we have had in Italy. His filet of beef is the single greatest steak dinner I have ever had in my life! The cuisine is classic Italian cooked with the freshest local ingredients. The locals love it as much as the tourists! It was packed every night we ate there which was 4 nights in a row! Salvi, an Anthony Quinn look-alike, will make your stay at his hotel and restaurant the best part of your Switzerland trip. The Hotel Steinbock and Ristoranti di Salvi totally rock!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterBespoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypcbeam, Co-owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 5 February 2010
Dear Steinbock guest
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and thank you for having chosen the Steinbock for your stay in Grindelwald. We highly appreciate.
The Steinbock is the oldest inn(from 1738) in Grindelwald and was rebuilt in 1991. The hotel has a wonderful history, which will be shown on our new website, once ready.
The Ponzio family (many members of the family are working at the Steinbock) are doing a wonderful job, I full agree with you. The food is delicious, his wine and grappa selection fantastic.
Please come back, Grindelwald is great, winter and summer.
With best regards
Urs-B. Hauser, Co-owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

I was looking at booking a stay at the Hotel Steinbock, and pulled the info off Travel republic, the building is very much a swiss chalet in appearance so I was confused to see the building illustrated on here, it is only when I clicked on Hotel Amenities i discovered that the building shown here as Hotel Steinbock is actually a different hotel probably where the cheese store is, the hotel is Central Hotel Wolter.

Hope this helps the confusion, as the Steinbock looks like a fabulous place!!!!

Clearly i haven't stayed here but had to enter to complete the review

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amanda_perfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
Thanks for your review.
You were correct, the hotel shown BEFORE once was the Central Wolter.
In the mean time it has been corrected by Tripadvisor and the hotel shown NOW, is the Chalet Hotel Steinbock.
Thank you also for recommending our hotel and restaurant, we hope you will come back soon.
with best regards
Salvatore Ponzio and Urs Hauser (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Property: Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Address: Dorfstrasse 189, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Steinbock 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Hotel Steinbock is a beautiful wooden chalet, right in the centre of Grindelwald, just next to the first gondola (skiing area in winter, hiking paradise in the summer). The Steinbock was mentioned in books in 1700, but was completely rebuilt in 1991. It is famous for its restaurant - the most popular restaurant in town - with Italian and Swiss cuisine. The restaurant is famous for the huge steaks, the great pizzas, the excellent liver, to just name a few dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing