We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost, but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost, but not quite”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The good:
Good location walking distance from town
Good restaurant with traditional swiss fare
Reasonable prices
Decent hospitality
Excellent cleanliness
Amazing view

The bad:
The beds were not comfortable, very thin mattresses...They didn't use sheets, rather used comforters with washable sheet covers.
Noisy...unfortunately we were only able to book a room with shared bath so we heard people getting up and walking in the halls during the night. Our room was on the 2nd floor over the kitchen so every morning at 5AM we could hear pots and pans clanging- not tranquil at all. The worst part of the experience was the smoke...There is a bar that allows smoking indoors below some of the rooms and I was pretty sure some of the staff or cooks were smoking in it, causing cigarette smoke to rise through the floor- ughh.

The rooms with private bath are on the third floor and probably don't have any of the issues I described.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    50
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
49
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had a great stay at Alpenblick. I stayed in the dorm rooms. For $37USD, you will not find a better value. We did not eat dinner there, but we did enjoy the breakfast, included with the room cost. Everything a traveler needs: good cheese,meats, hardboiled eggs, cereal, coffee, tea, OJ, toaster, REAL butter, jellies of all varieties... Can't beat it. Couple VERY SMALL points that I thought would be helpful to other travelers...Bring your own soap, don't count on finding a large number of open electrical outlets, and the estimate of a 10 minute walk to the station is very aggressive. If you have a suitcase, allow 20 minute from station to hotel, 15 minutes from hotel to station.. The view is unbelievable, hosts were fantastic.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My rate of this cozy hotel is very good!
Location is not bad, 10 minutes from the train station along the main street with shops and restaurants… The room with two beds is clean with running water. Shower and rest room are sheared, but exceptionally clean, comfortable. Shower has a high water pressure. Cold water is truly cold; hot is hot. The main treasure of the hotel is the hospitality. I had a very early start and could not attend breakfast but they prepare coffee with toasts and juice, which I gladly handle with before going to bed.
It is important to mention that I am not a fastidious traveler and booked a bed in dormitory but, on a curious reason, they provided me with a separate room! I was lucky and happy drinking coffee with toasts in a room alone!
Thank you ALPENBLICK!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PavelSamokhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As one can tell from my many reviews, I travel a lot...especially in Europe. I can honestly say that I have never encountered better value for my money or more gracious, informative and fun hosts than the Hotel Alpenblick. The hotel has private rooms available, but I opted for shared accommodations for the first time in my travels. I was not let down. In typical Swiss tradition, the shared facilities are absolutely immaculate and for 30-some Swiss Francs a night you couldn't find better value anywhere. Not only are the beds comfortable, the bathrooms spotless and the wifi signal strong, they throw in breakfast for no additional charge. The incredible value is reason enough to stay. But the real bonus is the hosts. Juerg, his father John, Bernadette and the other staff are happy to help you make the most of your trip to this stunning part of the world. They booked para-gliding trips, provided maps, suggested hiking trails, looked up train times for me...they were awesome and if you are unfamiliar with this area - it pays in spades to have hosts that are this helpful. And fun. I will be return to this hotel for sure....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is situated on the edge of the town in a great location offering wonderful views of the surrounding mountains which you can really appreciate while dining in the outdoor section of the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The rooms are basic but well kept and you do not come to this part of the world to spend much time in your room. My tip would be to book half board as the 3 course dinners are very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhound20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had a great 2-night stay in a room on the top floor. The room was cozy and clean, beds were comfortable, showers were good, staff were friendly, and breakfast foods (breads, yogurt, cereal, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, tea, coffee, juice) were of high quality. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the train station (about 15 minutes) but this didn't bother us. It had great views of the mountains, as advertised in the name. One tip is to bring your own soap and shampoo. We stayed in a room with bathroom and there was only liquid soap provided, nothing for the shower. Liked this place a lot & would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milchtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Best part about the place was the staff and the breakfast. I still crave the fresh bread. As a non-smoking nurse, the smokey smell from the bar was a little much. We kept the windows open and made sure we shut our door right away. There is a no smoking in the hotel rooms but the smell is overwhelming still. The staff was so nice and recommended places to visit. The shower was fine.Would stay there again. The only affordable place in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayArnold479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant

Property: Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 16, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel alpenblick is located in one of the most breathtaking valleys of the world, and is worth a visit in winter or summer time. In summer the hotel is the starting point for hike and bike trips in the wonderful mountains of Grindelwald. The bus stop is located in front of the hotel, so you can reach all the cable cars easily without walking. On our nice terrace, you can get a drink and enjoy the mountains after a hard day spent in the nature. In winter the ski slopes end directly in front of the hotel. With the skibus, which stops in front of the main door, you can reach easily all cable cars. The hotel Alpenblick is located at the end of the village, and not out of it. The village centre is about 10 minutes or 1 kilometre away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing