We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of Hotel Bellary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bellary
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bellary as a group of 4 adult friends, sharing a large family room on the top floor. The room was spacious, clean, with a good en-suite and access to a shared balcony. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff friendly and ver helpful. Great to have a lift to get luggage to the top floor.
Hotel Bellary is a reasonable distance from the train station, although an easy taxi ride and on one of the free bus routes which made getting around easy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in July 2014. Hotel is very very clean, owners are very helpful and friendly. It was not problem for them, that I had to leave hotel at 6.30 AM - breakfast was waiting for me at 6 am. Free internet in the lobby and fantastic view for mountains and valley from balcony are additional advantages. In the lobby was also piano with Schuman's tune notation, so hotel receives from me few additional points.

BM

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 744mab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hotel Bellary (pronounced like "volarie,") is just outside the town center but a 5 minute ride on bus 41 or 21 from the bus lot next to the train station. Request the "Tuftbach" stop and Bellary is a half a block up the hill on your right. You can walk it also - weather permitting. The hotel provides a bus pass so local bus transit is free - on your way there the first day, just tell the driver you're going to the Bellary and the ride is free even though you don't have the pass yet. Later in the evening, when the 41 and 21 stop running there is a night (Nacht) bus that also stops at Tuftbach. We stayed 3 nights and found the accommodations simple but clean and the hosts very friendly. Breakfast is continental, with bread/rolls, butter, jam, cheese, meat, corn flakes and yoghurt, as well as coffee/tea. If you require a "full English" breakfast go elsewhere, but you'll pay more. Switzerland in general is expensive and Grindelwald is no exception, so it's a matter of where you want to spend your money and how much time you'll spend in your room. We don't need four star priced lodgings so Bellary was fine with us. WIFI in the common area worked well, the bed was comfortable, the room warm and the mountain views spectacular.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are the most spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bwq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice, clean family hotel within walking distance (15 min) from Grindelwald train station. Rooms are OK, wooden balcony all the way round on each floor. Good view of the valley. Private parking available for max. 6 cars. Hotel is run by Swiss-Japanese family, very helpful. Lots of Japanese tourists all year round. Breakfast was OK, but a bit simple.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-travelspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We found this hotel through TripAdvisor and it was perfect for us. Our family of four also had the third floor family room. It was really spacious, especially compared to the standard European hotel room, and had a fantastic view from the balcony. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The décor isn't fancy, but everything was very clean and well-maintained. And we liked that the location was a little out of the town center. It was an easy walk for us and was more peaceful. We would definitely stay there again - really pleasant and a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to us by a family that had been there 30 years ago. We are a family of five, with three children and almost everywhere we looked we needed to rent two rooms. Just like our friend said, the Hotel Bellary had a family suite on the third level that suited us just fine. They gave us a guest card, which got us onto the bus which we easily took around town. The bus stop was one half block away. We had a great time in Grindenwald, doing the Rodelbahn, First Sail (zip lining) parasailing, and taking scooters down the Alps! The owner, Vrendi, was so very nice and remembered our friends who got married there 30 years ago. It is a more simple hotel which is why I wouldn't give it all 5 stars, but there was nothing we didn't like and for the value, I'd give it top ranks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricM1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

a fantastic little hotel with probably the best location in grindelwald ,with all transport conveniences at the doorstep, its now bed and breakfast mainly .Excellent bedrooms plenty of hot water . wonderful views from the balconys direct to the Eiger . very good value for switzerland in one of its best resorts.. good variety of eateries in the village

Room Tip: room 27 or 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#24 of 41 in Grindelwald
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Kirchbuehl
Hotel Kirchbuehl
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
310 reviews
0 mi away
Residence Hotel & Apartments
Residence Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 41 in Grindelwald
66 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellary

Address: Near Train Station, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £118 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellary 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of a forest, surrounded by peaceful, green meadows, the Hotel Bellary is situated at ten minutes walking distance from the train station. The vast garden is a source of pleasure for the young and old. And the view from the balconies and the huge terrace is simply breath-taking. During the winter season, a ski-bus stop is located right below the hotel, which makes it very convenient for you to reach the trains and skilifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing