We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really nice little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cabana
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A really nice little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights which really wasn't anywhere near long enough to do the area justice. However the hotel was really nice and the staff friendly and helpful. All the rooms face the north face of the Eiger which is breathtaking. Our room was on floor -2 which actually put us at ground level at the back, so we walked out of our door onto grass, it was really handy with the pram as we could go down the back way to our door rather than using the lift which would have been way too small. The rooms are typical of the area, not 5 star modern as you'd get in a fancy hotel but comfortable and clean. The rooms had tea and coffee making facilities and breakfast was included. The shower was turbo charged! The hotel is a 10 min stroll up the hill to town, pretty easy. Although we were there in July we had a cold rainy day and the heating was on so it was nice and snug in the room. I'd imagine after being on the slopes all day it would be a lovely place to come back to. We'd like to come back in winter and see Grindelwald in the snow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoppyQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    27
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is my first to Switzerland. I have stayed at Hotel Cabana for 3 nights. The hotel location is good, just a 5-8 minutes walk from Grindelwald Station. This station is easily to take up trains to Jungfraujock, interlaken. The hotel's breakfast is delicious, wifi is steady. The staff are helpful and kind.

Room Tip: mountain view is preferable but the price is higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our room had a beautiful mountain view, and was spacious and clean. Breakfast had a nice variety of cheeses, deli meats, yogurt, hard and soft boiled eggs, fresh fruit, breads, and cereal. The owners were very helpful and friendly, and you can buy tickets for attractions and trains directly from them. The hotel is a little bit out of town, but not a bad walk, or you can take the ski bus into town (free).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjshelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

I have come to Switzerland for skiing many years. I am always impressed by their standards not because they are expensive 5 stars but even the small ones are so good!
There are a few things I truly like about this hotel !
Cabana is only 4 minutes from train station so it's very quiet and its a stand-alone building with a car park for the use hotel guests. The sweet part is the rooms are facing south with no other houses in front and away from the car road. it's pure tranqulity and privacy!
I always wanna a bathtub in my room and their ones are a little deeper so I can soup all myself in deep hot water after a day of skiing!
There's a washing machine for guests use at a small cost. That's perfect for someone like me who does not want to bring too much on holiday .
They have many TV channels including financial ones which I don't see in most other 3 stars hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyfromHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The team was very kind and helpful, the breakfast was very tasty. The view from the room was fantastic, and the room was big.
The hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the center.
The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it's on the "main road", so when you open all the windows it's a little noisy.

We highly enjoyed hotel cabana, great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inigo_montoya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel is situated perfectly with a great view towards the Eiger.
I dont know where to begin with. The Breakfast, the view, the staff every thing was perfect.
Only its a bit away from the train station (may be 10 min walk) but worth every penny.
We stayed there for 4 nights and had the mid week hit price so it was not that expensive as compared to the other hotels. But I might say that this one was the best we stayed in out of the 4 hotels we booked in Switzerland.
The feeling of the hotel is very homely and the staff is very helpful.
We requested for early check in but unfortunately couldnt get it. but that turned out very good for us as we visited mount Schilthorn on the very same day...
In the end, I will say we will definitely and only select this hotel when we revisit

Room Tip: take the south side eiger facing room.... you will love it Only a bit far from the train station th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Er_Hardeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Point, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 9 nights recently. The hotel provided me more than what I had expected based on the previous reviews. So I just like to add a few points about this hotel.

Reservation - If you are planning to book this hotel, check these links:
http://www.cabana-grindelwald.ch/en/prices/special-offers/
http://www.cabana-grindelwald.ch/en/hotel-cabana/culinary-arts/.
Some special offers (10% discounts for midweek/week stay) are available if you book through the hotel's website. The hotel can arrange 5-course-HP-menue including a small salad bar at restaurant Derby Bahnhof for you if you if you stay 3 nights or more. Although the restaurant offers one prefix menu per night, I enjoyed 3 dinners there. 38 CHF is very good value. If online reservation system doesn't show discounted price, e-mail to the hotel. The hotel responded to my inquiry within 12 hours.

Distance from Grindelwald station - I would rather walk 8-10 minutes for a quite environment than stay in a hotel near the station. Just make sure to leave the hotel early enough to catch your bus/train. There is a bakery between the hotel and the station. So add a couple more minutes to buy some sandwiches/pastries for hiking.

Free Wi-Fi - Worked also very well on my balcony. That made me spend more time on the balcony and enjoy the view of Eigar and beautiful landscape.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a south facing, eigar view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photographerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabana

Property: Hotel Cabana
Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cabana 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing