We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & room”
Review of Hotel Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cabana
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great room with a south view to the mountains. We booked the Junoir Studio for our family of 4 and there was lots of room. The kitchen included full service so we could also make dinners there. Breakfast quiality was very good but the eating space was quite tight when it was full. Easy walking distance to all train stations in the area and parking is available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndrewDad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The view says it all - get a room looking into the mountains. The rooms are clean and nice, the service is great, and the breakfast is very good. The internet was good. The only issue is the price, but that is Grindelwald, expensive. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for a few nights in Grindelwald on our honeymoon. We had a ground level room with views of the Eiger. The views were AMAZING, but being on ground level brought in A LOT of flies into the room. It was difficult to relax in the room (and even sleep well) because the flies were constantly landing on us. The room itself was nice, not as modern as the hotel we stayed at in Zermatt, but this may be a common thing in Grindelwald... I'm not sure. Regardless, the room was nice and comfortable. The breakfast in the lobby was delicious every morning and the staff was great and hospitable.

As far as the location, it was a bit of a walk to downtown where the restaurants and shops are. But, on the other hand, it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of town. Definitely walkable but if you have a lot of luggage it may be worth it to get a ride from the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foxgirl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The only thing I would say about this place is that it's amazing. Great location, breath taking views (make sure you take a room which faces the valley on the back). Brilliant breakfast spread. Very helpful staff. Only downside is that it is a bit of a walk from Grindelwald train station but the owners are willing to pick and drop if told in advance. Liked it so much that I sent my parents as well and they too have the same opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rishi9437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After travelling around Europe for a month and experiencing the various sorts of service you can receive, this hotel was just amazing. Only a 5 minute walk down the hill from the train station, so very close to all the restaurants and shops. Firstly, AMAZING views. Absolutely breathtaking. We sat on our balcony for hours just taking in the views. Breakfast was the best selection we have had whilst in Europe. Many pastries, drinks, cheese etc and all of it fresh. Staff were lovely and offered us coffee and omelettes as soon as we sat down. Service was so helpful, booked our tickets to Jungfrau. On our last day we had to leave super early and miss breakfast, so staff made us a huge bag of food the night before to take with us! Wifi worked fine for us, not a single issue. Room was big and bathroom more spacious then most we have encountered. I honestly could not fault this hotel. When I next come to Grindelwald I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

"WOW!" is the only one word when we walked outside of our door. We were three couples and stayed at Cabana for 3 nights. Our rooms face the Eiger at ground floor with stunning view and a verdant lawn. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff are very kind and friendly. The breakfast was wonderful as well, they served many kinds of bread, croissants, yogurt and fruits muesli. 10 min walk to the train station and supermarket. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Grindelwald.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desmond_Chen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Although it is a bit further out of town than I thought, and not walking distance for us, we still found this hotel to be great. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room on the ground floor which had a little patio with 2 chairs and a table outside our door with the most magnificent mountain view. The room was quite comfortable with a minibar and kettle to make a hot drink. The breakfast was the standard European type food but quite good and plenty of it. My favourite part of the hotel though was the cute red lift--I mean it IS RED. It's only tiny (fitting 2 people and a bit of luggage) but it whizzes you from floor to floor in no time.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are on the ground floor with patios. Other rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#14 of 41 in Grindelwald
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabana

Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £120 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cabana 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing