We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Hotel & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eigerblick(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$752
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$717
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhotel Schoenegg(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
22
25
18
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
25
18
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bus passgreat viewthree starbreadgood sizecerealbalconieswifiswitzerlandwalkablemountainsviewsfurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel in June 2012... I have to say that is was the best experience that we had... the hotel has a fantastic view of the glacial beauty of Swiss Alps... it also was just a 10 minute walk away from the lovely riverside... situated in the quaint town of Grindelwald.. it is only an hour away from Interlaken... where all the adventure sports are hosted... The hotel itself has an excellent staff, great food and cozy rooms.. we had the bestest time at this hotel... although we do not ski I am sure this will be heaven for the skiiers..

Must recommend for a relaxing stay..

Room Tip: Get room on the second floor upto 25 #s... these are facing the mountains...the others have only a side view of the glacier..
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Hey peeps!
Well my partner and i arrived at the hotel around 11pm after a long transfur in the dark (boring) we where dropped at the sunstar and then taken by taxi to the hotel?? why i dont know? our crystal rep showed us to our room and even got us some milk after i said i was in need of some coffee, job well done by them me thinks!
the next morning my partner went for his early morning vitamins (marboro lights) to be confronted by the biggest mountains both of us had ever seen they seem to rise from the carpark! shock wasnt the word! oh and if you look to your right as people have mentioned and seemed concerned about there is a cemetery. all the people there seem friendly enough didnt say much and moved even less! what people dont like about cemeterys i have no idea, an invasion of the body snatchers? a real life thriller dance? who knows?....... back to the hotel.....
rooms where fine very 1980s travel lodge same layout too, the bathroom hmmm tiles tiles n more tiles but the pattern could keep you busy finding a path from one side of the room to the other while you where "busy" :-)
food: same everyday but all good, 3 types of cold meat 3 of cheese 4 of cereal, bread, juice, yogourt ect usual morning foods oh and a choice of tea or coffee.
as the dude below mentioned you could and can ski back to the hotel all be it 20m but whos counting, but if you got the speed right and your angle down the runs you could no doubt end up in the carpark? we only skied back to the hotel once rather icy in some parts theres me ooooh pretty mountains oh look a tree! is that a mountain goat i spy? then bang! ice and a rather long row of the naughty words! but all fun fun fun!
also you can use the pool for free at the sports center and a hotel round the corner the hotels is loads better plus they have a hot tub sauna and loungers to have a nice lil snooze.
hmm what else to say about the hotel...... salt! they need salt going into the carpark its a canny hill down and round to the hotel theres my partner minding his own and whoops down on his butt (lil chuckle inside from me) then the next day karma got its own back and i took a tumble skiis got thrown as i fell hip nice n bruised :-(
all in all a good hotel but if i ever went back id take some salt n sprinkle as i go ta ta for now travelers! :-)))

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durham6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We've just returned from a week's skiing trip. The Residence was a super base - a short 2 minute trip on the bus to the Firstbahn lift and a 5 minute walk to the town centre - you could almost ski back to the hotel from a blue run from the First area!
The room was a good size with plenty of storage and a decent sized bathroom with a shower with good water pressure - perfect after a hard day on the slopes. Although we were in a north facing room the view from the window was still good.
The hotel is very clean and has friendly staff. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with the usual continental breakfast in abundance (we took our own teabags to supplement the dreaded Lipton yellow Label tea bags).
The ski room and boot room with boot-warmers were just right and every morning we had nice dry boots.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulydoesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We had not been told that the hotel provided pickup and delivery between hotel and station. Unfortunately we did not find this out until we had dragged our bags up steep hills.
Breakfast was good and rooms were reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Rooms are standard. Cleaned once a day. Only breakfast is available (bread, sliced cheese and ham, tea / coffee, juices, jams, muesli). Hot breakfast is not seen. The restaurant is usually only works as a bar. View from the window at the mountains. One big disadvantage: CEMETERY is located 20 meters away from the hotel !!! It wasn’t mentioned in reviews at all ...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews