We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and food”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is located at the end of the Grindelwald town so its slightly out of the main market. But you get a bus into the town right outside which makes life really convenient. The hotel has spacious, clean rooms. But the USP is the staff! The lady at the reception and the staff in the restaurant were very nice and helpful (one of teh best I have seen in Switzerland). They always went out of their way to help us and ensure that we had a good time.
The hotel has an Indian restaurant which serves delicious, authentic Indian food. We actually got masala chai and samosas for the evening snack. The food is slightly expensive but worth every franc.
Free parking, free wifi and free breakfast, all for CHF 150 a day in August, made this a pretty good deal and an amazing experience for us.

Room Tip: They charge you 20 francs extra for a room view with the mountain view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnehaBeriwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are an Indian and want Indian food then you will simply love this place. Vikas, the cook, makes it so tasty that you forget for a moment that you are out of India. Cuisine is authentic Indian and simply mind-blowing to come back to after a tiring day of sight-seeing. Even Interlaken or any place else could not give me such precise & yummy Indian taste.
Bridgit, the General Manager, and Alexandra, the Stewardess, are simply fantastic. Super energetic and always cheerful. Humility is not something Swiss know as a quality so don't feel insulted by their in-your-face replies - once you see the country you will realise everyone's like that. These ladies did make our stay and eating very very nice. On an odd rainy day, they don't hesitate to send a Driver to Stn to pick you up provided you inform in advance.
Rooms are very very small so you feel claustrophobic but the view of snow-capped Mount Eiger lying from the bed is blissful! Very clean and fresh. Beds & Pillows are nice and comfy.
The hotel is a good 20-25 minutes walk from Railway Station which makes its location very very irritating when you return in the evening. In Switz, you invariably walk a lot thru the day so legs couldn't be fresh at that time. Public Bus service is available from Railway Stn to Hotel provided you catch the last bus at 6:59 PM. Who would be back so early especially when you have only a few days to spend in one of the most expensive countries in the world, I mean who would visit again so one would want to make the most of this visit and days will obviously be long. Shops enroute are too expensive & close at 6 PM. Bars galore so you can always stop for a drink.
Grindelwald as a place to stay in is nice, peaceful country side in the hills. What I did was to stay here and travel all over Switz, which made my every day travel to various cities rather time consuming because Grindelwald is not centrally located at all. Its where the Railway network almost ends. Most visitors to Switz live in 2-3 cities for 2 nights each but I hate to pack bags every other day so I like to live in 1 place. For this Interlaken is a better option- close to hills, touristy & long nice promenade!
Indian plugs don't enter Swiss sockets. Carry an international travel adapter to suit your country's plugs.

Room Tip: Take a corner room, it gives a more roomier feeling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank live_to_travel4250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed one week in April 2013 in Residence Hotel Grindelwald. The hotel is simple, but offers everything you need for a quiet week of holiday in Grindelwald. The hotel is located near the church in a quiet side street. You receive a free bus pass for the excellent bus service in Grindelwald. The hotel offers simp,le rooms or apartments. The apartments have a small kitchenette (that we did not use). The views are stunning and you can relax on the balcony with a glass of wine. The design of the rooms is simple and in traditional style. There is everything you need, and the beds are comfortable. The combination of the comfortable beds and the good mountain air made me sleep very well. Breakfast is simple, but sufficient. Try the alp cheese that comes from the cow that the hotel hires from the local farmer. The service in the family run hotel is excellent. When I was young, I travelled very often to the Alps with my parents. But nothing beats the stunning views in Grindelwald. From Grindelwald, it is also easy to explore further Switzerland provided you have a car. We made sidetrips to Bern, Basel, Thun, Zermatt, etc. Great (but expensive) holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and with a balcony. Why not opt for one of the apartments?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Gridelwald is a ski destination on mountain side.Residence Hotel is 1st Indian Friendly Hotel in the region and in Switzerland .offers INDIAN food and Hindi speaking staff,provides free pickup from train station.

Room Tip: eiger view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1romi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in an apartment as a family of 4. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town, but we received a free bus pass for the time we stayed. For such a small town, it has a very comprehensive bus service. The views were absolutely brilliant from our balcony. Breakfast was simple continental but good. The hotel did not offer much more than bed and breakfast, but you've got the rest of Grindelwald on your doorstep. Brigita who runs the place was so friendly and helpful, an absolute delight. Gridelwald is not cheap in general, but the Hotel Residence was great value for money. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Our view was brilliant. Not sure what other rooms had. If graveyards creep you out, ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Don't let the title fool you. Grindelwald is a small mountainside village so nothing is really far from the center unless you have to trek through a lot of snow. We stayed in room 223 which faces the Eiger (amazing)! The room was clean and met our basic needs. There was no refridgerator but in winter just put your drinks on the balcony and it's just as good : ) A continental breakfast is provided as well as WIFI. If you are looking for a quiet place with easy access to mountain activities this is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

this is a great place to stay,away from all the crowd, in the foothills of snow covered alps.....facing the famous eiger peak. simple but very warm place, great staff,very friendly and informative. rooms are cozy but not so large...very clean. the room i stayed was no 324,is a large room with balcony,with a pantry. good parking area. the restaurant and bar and simple but elegant. there is a small church in front of the hotel. local buses ply during the day time. a nice hide away among mountains. the famous jungfrau is not so far. you must stay atleast 2-3 days if you want to enjoy this place. enjoy free wifi in rooms

Room Tip: if you are staying longer ask for apartment rooms with pantry and a lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourdesigners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Eigerblick
Hotel Eigerblick
#32 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#18 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#12 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel Restaurant

Property: Residence Hotel Restaurant
Address: Rybigaessli 3, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hotel Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing