We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing Value”
Review of Bel Air Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bel Air Eden
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Brilliant hotel! Have in the past paid so much more, for so much less. The rooms, although basic, were very clean and tidy, the excellent breakfast was brilliant value and the hotel had the most friendly of staff. We would definitely go there again in the Winter or the Summer and I am sure it would be just as good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank GraemeHadwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Bel Air Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

This place definitely has more of a B&B feel than a hotel. Our room was very spacious and had a great view of the mountains.

The water pressure in the shower was amazing. It was great after a day of snowboarding. Although I think Grindelwald is better for skiers than snowboarders.

The location is very convenient. It is a short walking distance from the train station, buses, restaurants, and bars.

There is a good breakfast selection, but no lunch or dinner.
My only complaint is the water jug doesn't have a lid. I think it attracts the smell of the food.

The owners are super nice and helpful. Every morning there was a different piece of chocolate on our pillows and they gave us a key chain, pen, and bar of Swiss chocolate on our last day... it was a nice touch!

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have a view, so make sure you ask if that is your preference.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aysfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I had a wonderful week at this hotel in 1984 - thirty years ago this winter - with my girlfriend when we were both 20 years old. The skiing was great, and as others have noted, everything is close by - that doesn't change. I can't say anything about the current furniture or staffing, but I have many happy memories of that week. I was glad to see that others are still able to enjoy Grindelwald.
The website requires that I give a date - but it was actually 30 years ago in January, not January 2014.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank EricInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Easy to find, centrally located, killer views from balcony and friendly staff. Breakfast is included and good with bread, meat/cheese, hard boiled eggs, jam and cereal as well as coffee/tea and fresh juice. Decor is a bit dated and there is no staff in the evening. Parking is free and you get a pass for discounts to the sports center and other attractions. Bed is comfortable and duvets are warm. Free wifi that works in the room.

Bit pricey (160CHF) but all of Grindelwald is expensive. Be warned the grocery stores are closed on Sunday and buses outside the central town are very pricey. Consider buying the discount card at the train station if you are here a few days. Eat at Onkel Tom's Hütte.

Room Tip: We had room 28 which had wonderful views from the balcony and was very quiet being at the end of the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisakav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Well what can I say about this hotel, everything from the booking process to stay at the hotel was perfect. Location is very central, hardly 5mins from the main train station in Grindelwald. The town centre is hardly 10mins walk and everything is close by. Best part was that the hotel had a lift (a big relief when you are carrying 2 big suitcases).
We made our booking with Peter and he reserved the room for us without taking a credit card as a guarantee.
We booked a small room but upgraded to a big one facing the Eiger. And all I can say is every extra bit of money was totally worth it. We loved our room and the view. Room was very spacious and well laid out. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good and fresh. Wi-fi was also available and was fast. Hotel stored our luggage after check out.
Peter was really helpful, friendly and made us feel welcomed.

Would highly recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again if we visit Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the room facing the Eiger mountain.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I are currently doing the Alpine Pass trek in the Bernese Oberland. The Bel Air in Grindenwald is, by far, the best hotel we have stayed in along the route. May be it was not the most modern or the fanciest, but the welcoming was excellent - we felt at home from the very first moment. And, more importantly, the room that they gave us, No29, had a balcony with the best views in the world - an wonderful view of the north side of the Eiger. That was priceless - absolutely priceless. So wonderful was the balcony that we decided not to go out for dinner. Instead, we order some food and ate it in the balcony, watching a memorable sunset. Seriously, the hours that we spent in the balcony is one of the things that you remember long after returning home. As I said before, totally priceless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Found this through reviews here. A great value in an expensive area. Clean rooms, elevator, nice breakfast and fabulous views. Would definitely return. BUT ask for a room with a view NOT the train station side.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Lehmann`s Herberge
Lehmann`s Herberge
#27 of 41 in Grindelwald
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#26 of 41 in Grindelwald
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Eden

Address: Dorfstrasse 76 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £90 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bel Air Eden 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bel Air Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Eden Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing