We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Desserts and good food”

Central Hotel Wolter Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 72 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Desserts and good food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the restaurant during my recent stay in Grindelwald. Superb Rossti, excellent veg soup. Spinach stuffed Lasagne was well made. Food was served hot. The desserts were amazing. Service was prompt.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Devang2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The place we wanted was closed so without chance to review gave this place a try but regretted it. Long delay with 2 of the 4 meals ordered arriving after others had finished. Pork schnitzel meal was bland, soup was OK, gnocchi was OK. Seemed very over-priced for what was essentially diner food. Very traditional decor.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank All4Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“HUGE Portions”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stopped in here for dinner on our first night in Grindlewald. After a long day flying in from the states and driving in from Zurich (in the snow, nonetheless) we were walking around town looking for somewhere easy to pop into. That is how we selected this restaurant. The menu had a nice selection and the restaurant looked busy but not packed which was right up our alley.

They sat us at their "bar" in the back while we waited for a table. We were served drinks immediately, which I always appreciate while waiting for a table. The wait for the table wasn't very long at all, which was nice given our lack of reservation and how busy the restaurant was. As we looked around we noted how large all the portions looked. This was great because we have found food to be quite expensive in the area so at least getting a large portion made us feel like we got a good bang for our buck.

My husband and I ordered the meat fondue for 2 as well as French onion soup to start. The soup was stellar but certainly not necessary as our dinner came with a salad and we were also treated with fresh warm bread and delicious garlic butter when we sat down. The meal portion could have easily fed our full table of 4 with food to spare based on all the meat and the fixings on the side. And we are by no means light eaters and we came in very hungry. The portion was just huge. We joked that they must have seen we were Americans and given us "American portions" but all the dishes were like that from what we can tell. Another person in our party ordered the pork loin, which she was pleased with and I can’t seem to recall what our last party member ordered but I can tell you he finished it quickly and was pleased.

Good food, friendly service, HUGE portions, and prices in line with the area. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norlanderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner after a long day hiking.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

This was the best meal after a long day out for hiking in Grindelwald and other part of Swiss. The waitress was so kind to give me 2 cookies to take along upon payment. So sweet!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mslovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during our holiday. We had lunch on the terrace and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the views.

We returned on another day for dinner and ate inside. What a mistake, the food beared no resemblance to the quality of the food at lunch. Possibly there was a different chef on. The meat was dry and really lacked flavour.

The staff are really pleasant and were very helpful.

Not sure we'd return but if we did it would be lunch on the terrace with our fingers crossed!

Helpful?
Thank ChunkyMonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Hotel Wolter Restaurant also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Central Hotel Wolter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing