We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Beautiful mountain chalet on a lovely place. About 10 minutes to the centre of Grindelwald. Everything was perfect, rooms were clean and spacious and staff was very kind. It wasn´t too expensive and the food was also delicious.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the village. There are beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TePi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
13
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I also stayed in room 111 and have spent the last couple of weeks with my arms covered with painful bed bug bites. I knew I was being bitten by something all night but the volume of bites actually made me ill. What is worse is that I emailed to let them know and have had no response either. So rubbish service when I am left trying to boil everything I own!
Stay at your own risk....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SwissWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Please stay away from Room 111. My husband and I stayed there one night, and when we woke up the next morning, he mentioned that he had felt something biting him in the stomach at night. We never gave it much thought. One of the women also sleeping in the same room (we stayed in a 6-bed dormitory room on the first floor) said the next morning that she had been bitten all over by "mosquitoes". Little did we know that it would turn out to be our worst nightmare... BEDBUGS. We didn't realize it until 3-4 days later, when I found I had been bitten over 50 times. We're now worried we brought then back home in our luggage. PLEASE don't stay here. If you do, consider yourself forewarned and bag all your sleeping clothes in an airtight ziploc bag when you leave, lest you carry them home with you like we did. Bedbugs are very, very difficult insects to get rid of. The hostel should hire an exterminator immediately and let customers know what's going on. The service was actually great and the people running the place were very nice, so the reason for our very low scores are the bedbugs....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

You can't beat the views from the balcony of this youth hostel. We spent every evening eating and drinking for hours out there. The rooms are clean and functional although the older building has more character and warmth than the newer building. The staff is very friendly. One day we had to leave for Jungfraujoch early in the morning so they gave us a great packed breakfast to take with us. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends. Lots of families were staying there with kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madison_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

very clean, fun facility. Beds were fairlly comfortable, and not squeeky...being as they are bunk beds. Gorgeous view from bedrom windows...helpful staff...good breakfst... Would defntey stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Used to stay here when I was young and doing the "Eurail, Backpack, Youth Hostel Thing".

Loved it then. Met lots of other "backpackers" from other nations.

It has changed - it is now very "family friendly" and you no longer room with 20 other people. You have private rooms with balconies.

Your children will find friends. You will meet other families. You will be located in the heart of the berner oberland. You will save money.

The staff is friendly. The location is historic and perfect.

enjoy

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAndLubaAndJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We just returned from a weekend at the Grindelwald Hostel and we had a great time. We stayed in the newer annex and this worked out great. The annex has been nicely finished in wood so it really blends into the surroundings. The room had 2 sets of bunk beds and a sink. There was plenty of room for the four of us (husband and sons, 4 and 5 yrs). The view was amazing and the boys could play at the small playground while we watched from the room. The toilets and showers were very clean.

Like others have said, the walk up from town can be tricky if you are carrying lots of gear so try and get there in time to catch a bus. This was a bit expensive - 6chf for full fare but it was worth it! After that, even our 4 yr old happily walked up the hill. We had dinner there both nights and they were good, nothing too fancy but good. The first night there were only 7 people dining but the next there were close to 80. It can get crowded and loud so eat early if that bothers you. There were plenty of places to eat outside. Bring your own wine and beer from town for an after dinner drink because the wine there is very pricey. There were lots of people having impromptu picnics!

We found the staff very helpful and friendly! There were quite a few other families around so the children were occupied. Our boys thought it was the best "hotel" ever.

I recommend this place for anyone with a love of the outdoors but do your homework - plan on getting into town in time to take the bus there (the buses stop early - about 5ish), book your meal there before you arrive if you are getting in late, know your check-in and check-out times, and remember that this is a hostel! You are expected to make and strip your own bed, bus your tables and clean up after yourselves!

Have a Great Time!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#34 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grindelwald Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grindelwald Youth Hostel

Property: Grindelwald Youth Hostel
Address: Geissstutzstrasse 12 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grindelwald Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best of the Alps - have fun in the Grindelwald youth hostel! It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable hostels in the Alps. The welcoming cosiness has remained, but modern bedrooms and practical facilities for groups and families have now been added. More than ever before, the youth hostel is a rendezvous for sport fans and young guests from all over the world who want to experience the impressive world of the mountains around Grindelwald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grindelwald Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Grindelwald Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing