We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - yet again”
Review of Hotel Tschuggen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tschuggen
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have already said it all about this fabulous hotel but will write again for the benefit of anyone who has not seen previous reviews. We stayed for 10 days at the Hotel Tschuggen in August and had another fabulous stay. We had our usual room with the wonderful south view to the Eiger which just can not be beaten. Robert & Monika always go out of their way to help and are really friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are very comfortable. I have to remember to ask where the duvets come from as they are so light but keep you at the perfect temperature whether it is warm weather or cold weather. Breakfast is typically Swiss with so much choice - at least 3 very fresh breads and rolls, croissant, jams, cheeses, meats, fruit, bircher muesli, cereals, yogurt, eggs, juice, tea, coffee, hot chocolate. The hotel is right in the centre of Grindelwald about 10 minutes gentle stroll from the train station and a similar distance in the other direction to the cable car to First. it is really close to all of the restaurants and shops and the fun crazy golf course. if you stay for a few nights you get a pass to get in to the sports centre/swimming baths for free. Excellent - again - thank you :-)

Room Tip: if you can afford the small extra cost choose a south facing room with a view of the Eiger. not only...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tc241103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tschuggen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tschuggen Hotel is a fantastic hotel with only about 14 rooms. We (Me and my wife) stayed about a week, and have a room with a view of the Eiger mountain for 3 nights and experienced a stay for further 3 nights in a room with no balcony (limited view to the Eiger but still very good rooms, clean and well arranged).
Our stay was more than nice and pleasant and the credit goes to the lovely hosts (Monika and Robert). The hotel is a family run hotel and you feel that you get full attention and care in every request or help you need to ask for.
Absolutely one of the "best value" hotels in Grindelwald. We will be back there FOR SURE if we visit Grindelwald again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muhanad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a great small hotel with only about 15 rooms. We did not have a room with a view of the Eiger but you can see it most of the day when you are either in Grindelwald or travelling around so it didn't really matter. The hotel is a family run hotel and they could not do enough for us. Breakfasts were very good and run with typical Swiss efficiency while at the same time being very laid back.
A very nice friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We just finished 6 nights at the Hotel Tschuggen (early September 2013, a family with two teenagers). We were extremely happy with the hotel and would highly recommend it!!

LOCATION: Excellent location, very central, 5 minutes' walk from train station, surrounded by restaurants and shops, UBS bank, and coop grocery store 3 minute's away. Also just 3 minutes' away from a big indoor pool with slide that guests may use for free.

HOTEL: A cute hotel, very clean and with charming and tasteful decorations. We stayed in room #15 on the third floor -- two adjoining rooms facing the street, with a private bathroom. The rooms were spotlessly clean. One room had a double bed, the other had two singles, and we found the beds and pillows comfortable and slept well. Although our room overlooked the street, we found it very quiet -- we were able to sleep fine even with windows open. One evening there was a party going on at a restaurant nearby, but with windows closed all was quiet. The rooms also contained closets, bedside tables, and desks. The room also had a flat-screen TV, and coffee pot. There were plenty of towels. The hotel had wifi that we used heavily. (I don't know if it was because we were on the third floor, but often the wifi connection would disconnect, sometimes every half hour or so -- we were always able to immediately reconnect again, but it was an odd quirk). Hotel reception is open until 9 pm (with a bell for after hours).

BREAKFAST: Breakfast was included in the hotel room price and was wonderful!! A big basket of delicious breads, butter, jam, cheese, fresh sliced fruit, sausage / meats / more cheese / sliced vegetables that could be used to make a sandwich, hard boiled eggs, cereal, milk, birchermuesli, yoghurt, nutella, orange juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. So filling we usually skipped lunch! And if you will be departing early (before breakfast time), the owner will make you sandwiches the night before!

OTHER AMENITIES: Guests at this hotel (as in many parts of town), may ride free on the Grindelwald busses, which are wonderful. Guests may also use the pool at a nearby sports center (3 minutes' away) - for free. We loved the pool with a fun slide and used it several times. It also has a separate cute little baby pool equipped for toddlers. The water was very warm.

OWNERS/STAFF: Extremely pleasant, cheerful, kind, helpful. When we walked in to breakfast someone would immediately greet us and escort us to a table. When we had questions about restaurants or directions they gladly helped. When I needed help with printing some documents the owners very patiently helped. As mentioned previously, the owners provide sandwiches to guests who will miss breakfast due to early departure -- we greatly appreciated this on our last day when we had to leave at 6 am.

Switzerland is very expensive, and before coming to Grindelwald we had researched several hotels or other lodging alternatives. We are convinced that the Hotel Tschuggen is a great value. We were very happy to stay there and would love tor return. We would highly recommend it to other travelers!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amosnliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Very good location, a short walk to the train station and Grindelwald- First. We had the family room, perfect for us with two teenagers. It's clean and comfortable. Our room was facing the street. The street noise was quite loud however. Their south facing rooms have a stunning views of the Eiger mountain. The owners, Monica and Robert were very nice and very friendly. When we told them that we'll be checking out early in the morning, they open their kitchen early to serve us breakfast. They served generous and hearty breakfast, a good way to start a full day of activities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prescy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were leaving Interlaken and decided last minute to spend a night in Grindelwald. We were lucky enough to find a room at Tschuggen just the night before arriving and it turned out to be one of our most pleasant hotel experiences the whole trip. We stopped by the hotel (which was a very short walk from the train station) early hoping to drop off our bags and instead were told we could just check in since the room was ready. We got great advice on where to hike and what to do while in town. The room was cozy and clean. And breakfast was wonderful with our own pot of coffee and steamed milk and just the right kinds of things to set us up for a fabulous hiking day. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a comfortable night, a warm experience, and not interested in paying for super luxury (such as a huge bathroom).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Tsuggen for three nights at the very end of August 2013, and we honestly could not have asked for a better place, friendlier hosts or anything else that makes this hotel so amazing! The hotel is absolutely spotless, the size of the room was perfect even with the extra luggage (climbing gear, etc.) that we had with us, and the breakfast was yummy--even when we didn't eat in the breakfast room! :)

Robert and Monika are the most amazing hosts, so friendly, and approachable and overall... NICE. They're really great to talk to about many things, and know a lot about Grindelwald and surrounding areas, made great suggestions for where to have the best Fondue and the best Rösti in town, gave us valuable advice regarding what we had planned to do around Grindelwald, and were overall... well, awesome--there really is no other word for it. :) When they heard that we are planning to leave for our hikes and climbs before breakfast was served, they instantly offered to make sandwiches for us to take along. But it wasn't only sandwiches.. they put eggs in there, juice, yogurt and so much other stuff that we even had food for lunch! The one morning when we did have breakfast in the room, the selection was great and so was the coffee. (I mention the coffee because it was absolute garbage at most other hotels where we stayed in Switzerland, except at Hotel Alex in Zermatt.)

The free access to the pool at the recreation centre was a great and unexpected perk--and such a welcome one too, because, there's really nothing better than having a good soak after a whole day of hiking and climbing.

Stay again?! ABSOLUTELY, no question about it. We simply can't WAIT to return as soon as possbile and stay longer so we can do everything we didn't have time for.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are just as clean and comfortable. We didn't spend all that much time i...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taladas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tschuggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tschuggen

Address: Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: £79 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tschuggen 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy chalet-hotel with personal service. Central location, 350 meters from the railway station and the first car. Quiet south-facing rooms with balcony and panoramic view to the Eiger North Wall and on the mountain. Apartments and family rooms. All rooms are non smoking rooms. Free Wifi, parking at the house. Free entrance swimming pool and ice rink (sports centre, 200 m away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tschuggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing