We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, very friendly”
Review of Hotel Tschuggen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tschuggen
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, very friendly”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a family, connecting room, which was spacious and clean (This didn't have a mountain view, and we knew that when we booked). We arrived when reception was closed, but received a friendly greeting from the cleaner who booked us in. The location is perfect, in the middle of the town, close to the shops, the station and the cable car. The breakfast is served with a friendly, personal touch. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    93
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
145
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

It took just few minutes to walk from the train station to the hotel.

What we surprised the most is the breakfast they offered, there are plenty of choices, yohurt, cereal, boiled eggs, ham, fruits, and whatever drinks you can ask for.

Our family enjoyed staying here, view is nice too (if you are lucky enough to stay in mountain side view room).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, quality room in an excellent location with a great unobstructed view of the Eiger and surrounding mountains.

The owners were lovely, the rooms were clean and well maintained with plenty of space and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very cosy hotel in the middle of Grindelwald. Very friendly and helpful owners, clean, comfortable, well organized, nice breakfast, quiet and a spectacular view on the Eiger. We definitely come back for another stay. Thanks for taking care of us!!

Room Tip: Take room no 8. You can open the bathroom window for extra ventilation when its warm :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a wonderful holiday at Hotel Tschuggen, with a good choice of breakfast food e.g. cereal, meusli, yoghurts, various very tasty breads, jams, cold meats, cheese and fruit, with juice, tea/coffee/hot chocolate to drink. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a balcony and a fabulous view to wake up to each morning - the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau Mountains!

Robert and Monika are lovely hosts, very friendly and helpful with local information and always interested in where we'd been each day. The Hotel Eiger across the road, which they have an arrangement with, does very good meals at very reasonable prices.
The hotel is in a great location, being only a short walk away from the railway station and the First and Pfingstegg cable cars.

We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you would like a spectacular view from your room, ask for one with a mountain view, then you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. Small, family run, and the location perfect. Worth the extra $ to get a room with a view of the Eiger. Breathtaking!!
We were up and about before breakfast so they made us packed breakfast the night before. So fantastic!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecookstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel courtesy of my sister for a long weekend hiking. The hotel was very easy to find, and centrally located with easy access to all parts of the town. It's probably a little noisy if you're facing towards the street in the high Winter season, but our room looked right across the valley at the Eiger North Face and the village was quiet as we came between seasons. It was a fantastic view from our bedroom window, hard to beat anywhere in Switzerland.

The hotel was comfortable, friendly, with a good breakfast and very helpful hosts. I always struggle with Swiss duvets (they're extra warm) but with an open window it was fine.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in this beautiful village, particularly if you are going hiking because it is so centrally located. You can get to the start of any of the major routes out of the village within a few minutes walk or bus ride.

Room Tip: Room Tip: ask for one facing the Eiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenAndersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tschuggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tschuggen

Property: Hotel Tschuggen
Address: Dorfstrasse 134 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tschuggen 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, cozy chalet-hotel with personal service. Central location, 350 meters from the railway station and the first car. Quiet south-facing rooms with balcony and panoramic view to the Eiger North Wall and on the mountain. Apartments and family rooms. All rooms are non smoking rooms. Free Wifi, parking at the house. Free entrance swimming pool and ice rink (sports centre, 200 m away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tschuggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing