We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too much money, never again”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
bluffton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“too much money, never again”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

For four hundred dollars I felt like a super 8 would have been better, here's why. No shuttle... steep walk with bags, very close to the train and main street though. No atm...The sheets were so bad, gave me a sore ear, woke my husband when I turned in bed. Finally used a airplane blanket to soften the pillow. The room was so small not what looked like on the web. Nice balcony and the view is awesome, but you can hear people opening their doors, walking in the hall. Be prepare to carry your luggage and walk upstairs to your room. Bathroom like a closet. The jaccuzi is lukewarm, did not use. Never saw the resturant settings like on the web.Cost for the safe. coffee only available if asked for it. No eggs in am. Front desk not staffed all the time. no newspapers. Kids unruly and loud. Loved grindelwald but would pick different hotel.

Room Tip: go for the biggest room ask for softer sheets or bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    40
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
70
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The owners and staff were extremely friendly. The room was cozy and very very clean. Breakfast was good and dinner was very good considering we only had to pay a very small fee for it.
We had been traveling in Europe for 3 weeks (2 weeks in Italy and 1 week in Swiss) and had stayed in nearly 10 hotels, Caprice is the BEST of the BEST!!
During our stay, the weather was not very nice on the first day. But it gave us the chance to enjoy the spa facilities at the hotel, which was a real bliss. It was very relaixing.
I love everything about the hotel, the room, the staff and even the guests. The hotel is very well located, only 5 mins walk from the main train/bus station and the view from the hotel is fantastic.
I would recommend Caprice to people who wish to visit Grindelwald. Though the room rate may be a bit higher than other hotels in the area, but it's well worth it. Both me and my fiance were very happy with our stay at Caprice .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleeeeeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is the best hotel we've ever stayed at, by far. The Glarner family made us feel right at home. The location and view, in the Bernese Oberland, are the most beautiful we've ever seen, and the service was even better. The hotel was built around 1960, and has been updated and modernized while retaining its rustic charm. They serve an outstanding complementary breakfast, and for a very reasonable additional fee, a 5-course gourmet dinner. Alex, the 3rd generation owner, took us on a spectacular hike through the Alps (at no extra charge), pointing out all kinds of interesting things we never would have noticed. They know every inch of this region, and are happy to make recommendations based on your interests and preferences.

The spa was the perfect spot to relax after a day in the mountains. All of the guests were as friendly as the owners and staff. Trust me, we are not in the habit of giving a great recommendation to every place we stay - in fact, we're fairly picky. But the Hotel Caprice exceeded even our greatest expectations. Thanks to the owners & staff for making our honeymoon a dream come true.

Go visit the Hotel Caprice and see for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Once again we had a wonderful stay at the Caprice in Grindelwald. The location is just perfect, the rooms are clean and Alex & Regula have the eyes for details. Go for halfboard, we can highly recommend it. The view from their restaurant is great. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. Hopefully we will manage to be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smillingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I guess the biggest compliment we could pay Caprice Wellness is that it was our 3rd trip here in 3 years.

Going to Grindelwald and staying at Caprice is like going home for us. The hospitality you receive is fantastic. That's why decided to end our honeymoon here.

Alex and Regula are fantastic host/hostess. The 5 course dinners are delicious and at a great price for Grindelwald. Breakfast is always something to look forward to with the fresh and filling choices. The rooms are cozy. We always get a balcony that we can sit out on and stare up at the Eiger. The sauna/steam room a fantastic way to relax after a long drive.

They offer various activities as well which I suggest you take part in. We went for a "moon lit walk" up to Waldspitz and it was fantastic. I couldn't believe how much we could see of the mountains at night. Gorgeous. A highlight for sure.

We swore this would be our last trip but the day we checked we were already making plans to return next year during the Jungfrau Marathon. See you in September 2013!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights for our 30th wedding anniversary and had a really lovely time. We were welcomed by Alex and Regula who went out of their way to make us feel at home. We had a lovely room with a balcony with mountain views, very clean and beautifully furnished. This is a family run hotel with high standards and we would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience genuine Swiss hospitality. We had half board and enjoyed the breakfasts and the 5 course evening meals.
Alex and Regula were happy to give advice on excursions and local knowledge of what to do in different types of weather was very helpful - especially as we went through the whole range of glorious sunshine, rain, snow and back to sunshine! The views of the mountains are glorious and we had some glorious sunsets over the Eiger from the dining room.
The hotel was very handy for walking to the station and the cable car but though so close to the village centre was still quiet and peaceful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the extended part of the house which was only refurbished a year ago and was beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaconline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Caprice and I can echo the positive reviews given here. It was easy to find from the train station and we received a very pleasant welcome.
We had a garden room which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was spotless and pleasantly decorated. The bed was comfortable and the room had tons of storage.
We looked out directly at Eiger and it was a breathtaking sight. We had half board and enjoyed both breakfast and the 5 course dinners. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nononsense42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Property: Hotel Caprice
Address: Kreuzweg 11, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#17 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caprice 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Caprice in Grindelwald! Small but beautiful and lovely to the smallest detail. So the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald invites you in its third generation, to stay in one of the 24 cozy single-, double-, or superior-rooms and two apartments. The hotel is centrally located but very quiet. You will reach in a 2 - 3 minute walk the train station, the village center can be reached in about 4-5 minutes. The bus stop from where you can go for free by the local ski bus to all cable cars (Grindelwald-First, Pfingsteggbahn, Maennlichenbahn), is also 2-3 minutes away by foot from the hotel. From the same location, three different mountain bus lines drive to Bussalp (Summer & Winter), to Waldspitz (summer) and the Grosse Scheidegg (summer). Wellness oasis with whirlpool, Finnish sauna and Turkish steam bath After an eventful day, we welcome you in our wellness oasis, where you can give your body the necessary relaxation in the bubbling Wetterhorn whirlpool. Subsequently, recharge your batteries in the Finnish Block sauna, our Turkish steam bath or the infrared cabin Physiotherm or enjoy a wonderful massage. The Hotel Caprice will be your cozy home for a relaxing and restful holiday stay in the middle of Grindelwald. You can take benefit from various advantages at the Hotel Caprice Grindelwald: - Central and quiet Location - Unique view of the world-famous Eiger North Face - Personal service from your host family Regula & Alexander Glarner - Suggestions for your individual hiking tours and excursions - We know the most beautiful ski slopes of the Jungfrau Region - We know the longest sledge run in Europe - Complimentary guest trips with your host Alexander Glarner (snowshoeing in winter and hiking in summer) - Do you prefer a sunrise excursion to the best photo spot - or should it be a full moon walk at 1900 meters above sea level? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing