We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Great service”

Restaurant & Bar Golden India
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Food & Great service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We were delighted to find this fantastic Indian restaurant in Grindelwald. Food was amazing and staff great. Best Indian we had on our Europe holiday

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    69
    9
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Friendly staff + average Indian cusine = nice change of pace in the mountains”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The overall experience of this dining establishment needs to be taken in context - an Indian restaurant in a small Swiss mountain town. The food was good, not great. The variety was adequate. The prices high for Indian cusine, but not unexpected in Switzerland. The service was very (perhaps too) attentive. All in all a memorable and enjoyable evening - that special delight and reassurance in finding the unexpected in a very remote location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and awesome food!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The menu was so comprehensive that we did not feel that we are so far away from home.
the cleanliness was surprising and upon request the owner of the hotel Mr. Monty took us for a tour inside the kitchen in which hygiene was their top priority along with method of preparation for a consistent taste.
The service was great as you can imagine the owner getting involved and taking us for a tour to the kitchen.
The best place in Grindelwald by far!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank acdc550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, wonderful service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We are so happy to have finally tried this restaurant, which really stands up to all the positive reviews I read before coming. It's also the kind of restaurant which will be a great plus in and for Grindelwald (we are semi-locals). The ambiance of the restaurant is exactly what you expect for a special night out - well dressed tables, beautiful setting - but the prices are very reasonable (even more so if compared with other places in the region). The waiter was extremely helpful with special wishes due to food uncompatibilities and we received everything according to our wishes. Having heard that we have some common culinaire traditions (from another far-eastern country), the owner promised us to prepare a special food which is not on the menue, for the next time. That's an incredible service, which shows the utmost dedication to his customers! Thanks a lot!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gudrun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Based on glowing reviews for this restaurant and being lovers of Indian food, we opted to dine here on our first night in Grindelwald. Sadly, we did not share the same experience as other reviewers and while the patron and his team were friendly, the food and service were mediocre plus it was one of the most expensive meals we have eaten in Switzerland for a long time! Did not get the impression the place was too clean and the bathrooms certainly were not! Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Liz208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant & Bar Golden India also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant & Bar Golden India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing