We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lehmann`s Herberge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lehmann`s Herberge
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We often use this type of independent accommodation but have never experienced anything remotely similar:
- The house owner got a screaming fit for no good reason directed at us, started banging doors
- It was not possible to deposit our luggage during the day
- When we had trouble leaving the parking space on there yard due to ice it was on us to disperse the gravel, took us about six tries and half an hour to take off.

To sum it up never again...

Since this was the overwhelming expression I rate this offer down although the breakfast was actually really good.

Room Tip: Beware of the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
32
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great central location - five minutes walk in either direction from Firstbahn and the Bahnhof. Run by an extremely friendly and helpful family. Exceptional value for a town like Grindelwald. Clean, comfy rooms and a relaxed atmosphere. And a good breakfast spread.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Lehmann is a totally unique traditional house in Swiss. All here was made by wood. The owner of this house is so welcome and helpful. The room is very clean and neat. Even though we have shared bathroom, but she maintain it very well. The place is so homey and quite. The breakfast was so yummy with traditional cheeses, hams, fresh milk and colorful eggs :)
The location is about 15 minutes walking distance from Grindelwald train station. From the room, I could see the cow farmer, huge land and beautiful mountains.
I fully recommended this place and you won't regret!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fraenzi is a great host! She helped us with our hiking choices and answered any question. The breakfast food was delicious. The cheeses, the cold cuts, the milk and the honey! The place is newly renovated and sparkling clean! I recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I booked last minute and everything in town was either sold out or VERY expensive. Lehmann's also had one of the only rooms that could accommodate 3 people, my fiance, her 16 y.o. son and I. So based on availability and budget I booked it on Bookings.com. I kinda held my breath as we were shown the room. It was basic, but very clean, private bath and had an outstanding view! The place got better and better with each night we stayed. The hosts are wonderful, the breakfast is great and we didn't bust our budget in a very expensive town. If I return, Lehmann's Herberge will be the first place i search for availability. If you plan to make the most of the beautiful outdoors Switzerland has to offer and just need to place to sleep and freshen up, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the mountains. The Hotel is situated so you'll have an unobstructed view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichK_MilfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a lovely place in the heart of Grindelwald. Walking distance of everything, incredible views from our window. Access to the balcony to enjoy the views with a glass of wine... Friendly service and extra help if needed. Excellent breakfast, all you need for a good day outdoor. The room and bathroom were clean and were refreshed every day. I Would definitely come back giving the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nato462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

A lovely, comfortable auberge in the heart of Grindelwald with stunning mountain views. Four of us shared a comfortable, adequately sized bunkroom with en-suite shower room. The breakfasts are fantastic with fresh, locally sourced produce. Hosts, Franzie and Marco, are very friendly and welcoming and are more than willing to be helpful. This was our second stay here and hopefully will not be our last. Barbara and friends, UK.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Bel Air Eden
Bel Air Eden
#22 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#10 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lehmann`s Herberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lehmann`s Herberge

Property: Lehmann`s Herberge
Address: Ahornengaessli 2, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Lehmann`s Herberge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lehmann`s Herberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lehmann s Herberge Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing