We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love it”
Review of Lehmann`s Herberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lehmann`s Herberge
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We come to grindelwald every year since 2012 in summer and winter. We stay at the lehmann's herberge and we realy love it. The first year we chose it because it looked nice on the internet and super well located in the center of grindelwald. Then we came again again, because of the lovely welcoming, the super breakfast, the calm, the beauty of the views. Our kids also love this place, they used to play with the kids of the owners. Prices are also very attractive. Thanks to the lovely family that welcome us every year. Emanuele and Antonia from Corsica.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Lehmann`s Herberge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Firstly, I have to say how beautiful this town of Grindelwald is, it is definitely worth a visit. It was the highlight of our trip. Our room was quiet and comfortable and located in the lower level, away from the main road in Grindelwald. I don't believe there was anyone else in our part of the accommodation so can't say whether it would be as quiet if other rooms were occupied. Our room had bunk beds (which was quite novel) and having access to a communal table & tea making facilities was a plus! The breakfast was the best we've had & we've been travelling for 13 weeks so it was very, very good. The fresh fruit salad was, in fact, FRESH & the owner went to a lot of trouble to vary it from day to day. She also made a point of offering us an even earlier breakfast if we needed this. The owners required cash and this was not and should not be a problem because they are up front about their preferred payment from the time you book. It just requires a little advance planning! Location was excellent and I would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you require one. Windows are double glazed, which is always helpful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 550Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in this B&B's because we loved it. The owner family is always friendly and very helpful. The rooms in this B&B's are small but cosy and clean and the Breakfast is great. The only point which was not good this time was that someone used a camping gas cooker inside the house. I was afraid he will burn down the lovely wooden old house. I'm glad the owner saw it and made sure he stop it right now. (As I wold have done if it would be my house.) I just save now on trip advisor that this guest wrote badly about the house and the owner family, but he did not tell that he used the cooker inside the house and made with this action the owner angry. So I would say stay away from this Kind of guest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We often use this type of independent accommodation but have never experienced anything remotely similar:
- The house owner got a screaming fit for no good reason directed at us, started banging doors
- It was not possible to deposit our luggage during the day
- When we had trouble leaving the parking space on there yard due to ice it was on us to disperse the gravel, took us about six tries and half an hour to take off.

To sum it up never again...

Since this was the overwhelming expression I rate this offer down although the breakfast was actually really good.

Room Tip: Beware of the owner
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great central location - five minutes walk in either direction from Firstbahn and the Bahnhof. Run by an extremely friendly and helpful family. Exceptional value for a town like Grindelwald. Clean, comfy rooms and a relaxed atmosphere. And a good breakfast spread.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Lehmann is a totally unique traditional house in Swiss. All here was made by wood. The owner of this house is so welcome and helpful. The room is very clean and neat. Even though we have shared bathroom, but she maintain it very well. The place is so homey and quite. The breakfast was so yummy with traditional cheeses, hams, fresh milk and colorful eggs :)
The location is about 15 minutes walking distance from Grindelwald train station. From the room, I could see the cow farmer, huge land and beautiful mountains.
I fully recommended this place and you won't regret!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fraenzi is a great host! She helped us with our hiking choices and answered any question. The breakfast food was delicious. The cheeses, the cold cuts, the milk and the honey! The place is newly renovated and sparkling clean! I recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bel Air Eden
Bel Air Eden
#21 of 41 in Grindelwald
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#28 of 41 in Grindelwald
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#24 of 41 in Grindelwald
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
Hotel Grindelwalderhof
#27 of 41 in Grindelwald
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lehmann`s Herberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lehmann`s Herberge

Address: Ahornengaessli 2, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: £83 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lehmann`s Herberge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lehmann`s Herberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lehmann s Herberge Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing