We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The restaurant..pl”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bahnhof
Ranked #41 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
AUH
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The restaurant..pl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Surprised at the reviews of this hotel...so I am pointing out here that I am writing on a visit to the café downstairs(opp. Interlaken (W) station. Needed lunch , so with family decided to get a late lunch at the café on the ground floor of this hotel. It was late in the afternoon. We ordered the cheese fondue, which I cant comment on, never having had one before, so what's a good one and a bad one? Had some fish fillets and were recommended the chicken salad. They were good and we enjoyed the meal. Best was the friendly service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Missingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    17
    8
    19
See reviews for
11
23
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is situated right across the Interlaken west station. The main street and market are right there infront of the hotel.

Rooms - Rooms are big enough with a nice view but have a very very bad smell in the bathroom. Not sure what it is but we managed to stay through. The hotel does not have a lift and if you get a room on second floor there is a problem because the stairs do not have light.
Breakfast - Its only sufficient with few breads and a glass of juice.
WIfi - signal is very weak in the hotel room

All in all the location is the best part and if you are looking for a place just to spend the night after roaming in the city during the day, this hotel may be suitable for you :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swapnil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL, even if it is an emergency. It is the most disgusting hotel ever. PERIOD. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this hotel. 1.The room carries an awful smell. 2. There is no elevator; the steps are crooked and dark. 3. There are absolutely no toiletries. 4. The bunk beds were literally on the verge of collapsing. 5. The bathroom was extremly small, barely enough for one person. 6. The receptionist disappeared after taking the payment. 7.The breakfast that was included was barely enough for one person. 8. They treat you like you are a begger, no courtesy or anything. 9. Nobody answers your questions or concerns; bug bites. 10. The hotel provides no outlets to charge, if the adapter even fits. 11. The building is literally 200 years old.

THEREFORE, DO YOURSELF A HUGE FAVOR AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL. My rating for this is a -10.

Room Tip: Pictures can be deceiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_TAK115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

1. The stairs were very dark and the hand rails were very dirty (Before entering the room).
2. The room had a very very bad and unacceptable smell.
3. The situation of the mattresses, pillows and bed sheets were disaster, very old and scratched from several places.
4. There was an Indian Man at the reception and no manager available to registered my complaint, upon asking about the Manager, I have been told by the available staff that the Manager coming once a Month only, I asked about his Cell Number in order to talk on phone, which was not given to me.
5. The breakfast served on my table with 32pcs of breads (1 each of three types), Orange Juice, Butter & Jam, half glass of orange Juice and Coffee, any other item they asked me to pay additionally, even the Eggs they did not provide.
6. The Breakfast provided like not to guest but to Beggers.

7. I understand that this was a 2 Star Hotel, but in my opinion it is even not a -2 star property, as compared to other 2 star hotels in Europe.
8. Due to the above reasons, I checked-out at 9:30 next morning while I paid for two nights, One Night Money extra for the Mother and father of the owner of this hotel

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel otherwise your pleasure trip will turn into disaster one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very run down hotel, sufficiently clean to stay the night and opposite the train station but you would not want to stay the second night. Very old fashioned rooms and furniture, terrible decor and squeaky floors. Beds are clean and comfortable, bathroom very small but clean and has good shower.

We only wanted a one night hotel as close as possible to the station. Breakfast included and the fastest free wi-fi we found in Switzerland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisw300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

the Hotel is located right across the train station and makes travelling to Jungfrau very easy. the only trouble is that the hotel does nto ahve any lift. the breakfast was very nice.the staff were very nice and accomdated allt eh requests that we had..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidharth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very strategic and excellent location (Right Opp to Interlaken Ost Station). Nothing more to say really.
The reception was unattended most of the time. The keys were given to us by a helping person. there is no lift in 3 story building. The breakfast is not Buffet. it is very limited in quantity.
All in All, Don't see value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhi_sin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
MyHotel Merkur
MyHotel Merkur
#38 of 46 in Interlaken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alphorn
Hotel Alphorn
#2 of 46 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katy's Lodge
Katy's Lodge
#37 of 46 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alp Lodge
Alp Lodge
#10 of 23 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahnhof

Property: Hotel Bahnhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing