We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stay like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alphorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alphorn
Ranked #2 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A stay like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and i stayed there with two of our friends for a one night in july. Christine, the owner, promptly replied to my post- booking queries through email and was really helpful even before we reach there. We were late catching a train from Lucerne and were late to reach Interlaken, but it wasnt difficult find the place. We walked from the interlaken west train station with our medium sized luggage. Rooms were spacious and had a tv and wifi Bathroom was well equipped, felt more comfortable than most of the hotels althouth the building seems bit old. Had to open a window to get some fresh cold air in the midnight as it was a very warm day in July as there was no air conditioner. Had a good breakfast where Christine personally attended to us. We opted to keep our luggage at the interlaken west train station lockers as we were going to Lauterbrunnen and coming back later today go catch the train to Bern-Paris. Christine was very knowledgeable about the area and helpful for our short trip to Wengen and Lauterbrunnen. Actually felt like home at Hotel Alphorn and would stay there again, definitely for a few more days.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samdtvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    86
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
161
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a charming hotel with a charming owner. We had booked our accommodation there a couple of months beforehand. At short notice our son decided to join us in Switzerland for a few days. The owner had a free room for him on our first night there but not for the second night. However she organised accommodation for him herself, at a B&B close by, making everything easy for us. Our room was lovely. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel is a short walk from the Interlaken West railway station, so is very convenient if you are travelling by train, as we were. A big plus is that there is excellent WIFI throughout the hotel ... and you don't need to constantly log in again and again as you do in so many hotels!

Room Tip: Book early because the hotel is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed one night with parents before went to Jungfrau, small building, maybe has only about 25 rooms, nothing fancy, but very sweet. Nice home style breakfast, the owner, a senior sweet lady, was there very early to prepare breakfast and give clients suggestions about trip to Jungfrau. very cute she painted all the hard boiled eggs, make them so beautiful, just to delight everyone at morning.
Highly recommend to stay there if the destination is Jungfrau, just about 50km from Bern, everything at Bern is over priced and service is incredible bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely hotel :) We greeted by the friendly owner upon our arrival. Checked-in was done pretty quickly. Everything was good. I believe the room we stayed has the most gorgeous view :) Almost every morning me and my bf were drinking coffee/tea at the balcony.

I love the room decoration, mainly in blue and white. Pure and simple :) Bed was comfortable. Nothing to complain. The hotel is located near to Interlaken West train station (walking distance).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vianlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Traveling with my daughter and sister. We were greeted very warmly by the owner of the hotel. She showed us to our room which had a separate entrance from the hotel. The room was large and nicely decorated. The included breakfast was very good. Cereals, breads, cheeses and meats were included. A very nice thing for us was the free Wi-Fi. The hotel is located very close to the West train station on a quiet street. Walking distance from restaurants and shopping.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I choose this B&B because read review from the internet. The room is very clean, and new renovated-look.

I just want to complain Ms. Christine Roseway. I think she is the owner of this B&B. We have did miscommunicate with luggage overnight leaving. She think i will take the luggage in the same day, but i already e-mail to confirm that i will take it back tomorrow. I leave the luggage and i travel to stay at Murren one night. She called to me about 20:30 and shout to me that "Why you do not take the luggage back" , "She have to wait all night", and very surprise she hang the phone on me. I complain because this problem caused by the communication mistake, and no one absolutely right, no one absolutely wrong. She is not my boss, but she act as she is. I am her guest and pay money to her. I have never have experience that hotel shout to customer, or complain to customer. However, my wife want to finish this argument, then she say sorry to her. oh! customer has to say sorry to hotel first. I just have second experience with B&B stay, and i do disappoint. I hope another B&B should not treat the guest like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitsanupon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at this friendly hotel and enjoyed it very much. Although the room was small, it had everything you could need, including a bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. It was close to Interlaken West railway station and to the Migros Supermaket and cafeteria. We could buy groceries and eat in our room whenever we liked. Dining at restaurants in Interlaken is very expensive!! Breakfast was enjoyable and we had red painted/dyed hard boiled eggs which were a talking point...All local attractions were able to be easily reached by walking, train, boat or by car. ( be prepared for the fact that Switzerland is an expensive place to visit ). Lastly, but certainly not least, were the extremely helpful and friendly "crew" at the Alphorn. The owner, Christine, is an expert on the area and offered great advise on where to visit! The other staff ( Nelia, Sylvia and Monica ) were always happy to chat about our day and where we had been/ were going next. We felt "at home" at The Alphorn and would recommend it to others visiting Interlaken!!!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is advisable in Summer, as there is no air-con. We opened the doors and window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#33 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphorn

Property: Hotel Alphorn
Address: Rothornstrasse 29A, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alphorn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alphorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing