We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Alphorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alphorn
Ranked #2 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

What a friendly place! The employee that checked us in was incredibly helpful and offered advice on attractions, public transport and restaurant recommendations.

The room and bathroom were both on the smaller side, however, both were extremely clean. Wifi and breakfast were included in the rate.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    90
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
60
166
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenacres, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As, you can see by the title, I would give this place 0 stars because we didn't even get to stay there! We arrived and showed our reservation for the place, but the clerk just shook her head and said we never booked a room there. She didn't even check the reservation list in front of her desk. But the story gets wackier from here! She led us to a hotel which was obviously worse and claimed it was better than Alphorn (nothing against the hotel she led us to). As soon as we arrived, the clerk at this hotel already knew our names even though the Alphorn clerk didn't say anything. This shows that all of this was planned, 100% by the Alphorn clerk. I advise you to be careful before you book this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Quaint hotel. Friendly and very helpful staff. Lovely town with lots of shops and restaurants. A beautiful emerald colored river runs through the town. Our hotel room was very clean and comfortable. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503SueN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best places we've stayed on our 6 weeks away. Really lovely room and Christine and her staff go out of their way to make you welcome and enjoy your holiday. Great coffee and scrumptious breakfast. Room has fridge and kettle which helps with making lunches and keeping the Chardonnay cold!! A short walk from Interlaken West station, shops nearby and free buses and trains around town.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank retiredlivingthdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Loved this hotel! Easy five minute walk from Interlaken West train station (10 minutes from shops and restaurants). On your way to the hotel there is a Migros grocery where you can pick up anything you need. The staff was extremely friendly and kind. We stayed in a triple room which had everything we needed. It was not huge, but it was clean, had storage, plently of room for three, and great Wifi! The breakfast was lovely too. Thanks to the Hotel Alphorn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaicajazzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Neat and clean. Very helpful staff. The bathroom was small but overall great value for money. The lady at the reception who perhaps also owns the place is very knowledgeable and gave us great suggestions on places to eat at :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajesh_devaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Comfortable modern squeaky clean rooms, nice breakfast, helpful staff, and at a reasonable price. What more could you want? If only the weather were better. We had a choice of eight or more different kinds of cheese for breakfast - see photo.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphorn

Property: Hotel Alphorn
Address: Rothornstrasse 29A, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alphorn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alphorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing