We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tell Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tell Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tell Hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great hotel,15 min walk from Interlaken Ost which enabled us to access Jungfraujoch, an absolute must if in this area
Hotel staff very friendly.
Good food choice and beer at very reasonable price (3.70sf)
Hotel issus a free local bus pass for the duration of the stay-very handy at the end of a long day up the mountain at Jungfrau

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJ125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For us, it was hard to find Hotel Tell- it seemed like a long journey, especially since we had to drag our luggage there. We had to use a phone gps after feeling lost. It's best to just take Bus 104 from the train station to the Hotel Sonne stop.

Once there, we had a warm reception, with the lady giving us general info and free transport tickets (which surprisingly, we were never asked to present when taking the buses during our 4 day stay). We arrived a few hours earlier than check-in time, but this wasn't a problem as the room was ready. She then helped carry our luggage to an upstair room (no lifts), right above the entrance to the bar. The room itself was nice- felt like being in a cabin. There's no air cond or fan that we could see, so for air, you'd have to open the windows, which would also let in any pub noise. However, it was usually so cold in Interlaken that our windows stayed shut and the room stayed cozy. The beds were comfortable, but pillows were flat, as is the norm in Switzerland. The TV worked well, but had no English channels. There was also a kettle provided in the room, with free coffee and tea satchels. With the third bed pulled down, there was only a narrow space to get through to the bathroom. There's not enough hanging space for 3 people.

The bathroom is small- like a cruise ship one- but functional. You will bump your elbows against the shower stall. The door has no locks. The hairdryer provided was good and so was the wifi. Eventhough we were right above the bar, the noise wasn't loud enough to make out any words. I slept well and my friend used ear plugs and had no complaints.

The included breakfast was good and value for money considering how expensive Switzerland is. It is served inside the pub itself. Ask the servers for great free coffee/cappuccino from their coffee machines. The spread each day is pretty much the same- cold meats, bread, jams, nutella, butter, orange juice, milk, cereal, yoghurt, apples. A toaster was provided. Their cereal with yoghurt and milk tastes quite good! The only annoying thing at breakfast is a couple of flies- it would be good if we didn't have to deal with them.

The hotel location is actually very convenient...there are 2 bus stops right outside- one on the hotel doorstep and the other right across the street. These will take you either to Interlaken Ost or West in a short time. One important thing to note is that the buses don't always run to schedule (yes, even in Switzerland)! Have a look at the timetable, but make sure you never aim for the last bus back. One night, we were out at 9:30pm-10:30pm (not sure exactly) at Interlaken Ost and our bus never showed up, while other bus numbers came and went. It happened to someone else too and they chose to take a taxi. We caught a bus that took us closest to where we needed to go, which was still several bus stops away and so, we had to walk in almost complete darkness to get back. There was absolutely noone around at that time of night where we were walking, until we were right outside the hotel and saw some teenagers. So I'd say this is the only downside to not staying close to the train stations.

The hotel's pub is very popular at night! The food and portion size is good and they do have specials going on certain days, but still expect to pay around the CHF16+ mark per meal. The first night we ate at the pub, it was a full house and we had to wait awhile before getting a seat outside. Obviously, it was colder out there, and we had to deal with cigarette smoke from other patrons. There were maybe 2 waiters, so the food took some time to reach us as well. The second time there, they ran out of the specials, so we had to order other things. So just be aware that this pub gets very busy in the evenings (for good reasons)- don't go too late. It would be really nice if hotel guests can order and take their food upstairs to eat in the common room or its balcony.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in a 3-room apartment which is located beside the main Tell-Hotel. The apartment is truly spacious with fully equipped kitchen. The reception was smooth but you need to carry your luggage to the unit which is located at the 2nd floor as there is no elevator. Co-op supermarket is located nearby. Beautiful view as you are surrounded by the mountains. Transport is not a problem as the bus stop is just located outside the hotel. Interlaken is anyway just a small town and most of the guest use it for a transit point en-route to Jungfrau. Food is expensive and it`s better if you can cook/prepare on your own. There is a also a halal doner shop near Interlaken west station but we did not have meals at that shop. Do visit Jungfraujoch and it will be a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamsul amri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with family and had a family connected room. Very convinient to city and TELL hotel provided free public transport ticket to City Centre. However didnt manage to utilise the ticket as we have a car and parking is free. Room is big and they provided hot kettle plus coffee in room. We certainly enjoy our stay and staffs are very helpful.

Pub/Restaurant serves very good dinner and we basically visit the Pub every night ! Free Wifi and heater in the room works perfectly.

No Complain.....What a good memory we had in this Hotel and look forward to stay in TELL again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We arrived early, met Peter the barman, and he gave us the facts of the room, the town, free bus passes for our stay and shared his knowledge, and then allowed us in to our room, which we very much appreciative of.
The room was nice itself, but the toilet / bathroom was made for dwarfs. (Room 5) Other than this fact, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here (3 nights). We were also very impressed of the universal plug supplied by the hotel management for us to use. In every other country we have travelled through we have had to purchase and we now have quite a collection, so to be able to have one located in the hotel was a pleasant surprise. Thank you.
Walking into Interlaken was no difficult feat, and we did it on several occasions, although we could have opted to use the free city passes given.
In all, an enjoyable stay and good sleeps. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

While the hotel is away from the centre of the town of Interlaken this is not a problem as it is a pleasant walk or you can use the free bus pass the hotel provides to get around. The efficiency and friendliness of the staff along with the information with regards how to get to the local train stations and prepare for any excursions was great. These are "no frills" rooms and the bathroom is very compact. While every care has been taken to make the room as comfortable as possible, in comparison to other places we stayed while travelling in Europe this was expensive accommodation for what you got, (I think this maybe just Switzerland) however we still enjoyed our stay. If you do not want to be in the bar area, there is an upstairs guest sitting area and a balcony with tables and chairs. Breakfast was included in the tariff. Parking is available and a supermarket is close by.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 which is at the back of the hotel and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Having reached the hotel prior to scheduled check-in time, the hotel staff was extremely co-operative and helpful by providing us with a space to keep our bags secured and also a room where we could freshen up while our Family Room was being prepared.

Right from the very first interaction, everything was extremely pleasant. The way the staff interacted with us (big shout out to Kate and the owners) was brilliant and were kind enough to sit down with us and help us in getting around Interlaken and other parts of Switzerland and what we should probably do and see.

As we were 6 of us, we went for the Family Apartment which was excellent, with 3 large comfortable rooms, a living room and a kitchen. The only problem we had with the apartment was that the Family Apartment has just 1 bathroom/shower room. This was a slight bit of an inconvenience, and we couldn't really complain as we managed to get an excellent deal on the room.

The location of the hotel is decent - about a 10 minute bus ride from Interlaken West station. The good part is that there's a bus stop bang opposite the hotel, making it easy to get Interlaken West (the station that connects all major cities of Switzerland and also kind of a city center, with lots of shops & restaurants). Also, having a Swiss Pass - commuting was extremely easy.

The hotel also boasts of an Irish Pub that sports a lively atmosphere thanks to the live telecast of Football Matches and the enthusiastic crowd. Didn't sample the food there, but they've got a wide variety of beers and liquors on offer.

All in all, it was a fabulous stay we had at The Tell Hotel and would definitely recommend it to any of you out there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GauravPunjabi1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Hirschen
Gasthof Hirschen
#6 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Derby
Hotel Derby
#8 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Interlaken Youth Hostel
Interlaken Youth Hostel
#2 of 23 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tell Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tell Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Tell Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Hauptstrasse 49 | Matten, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tell Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Under New Management May 2011- with fresh new Rooms and Irish Pub*** Hotel Tell is located in the centre of the well visited Matten bei Interlaken, 3 km away from Lake Brienz and 5 km from Lake Thun. It sells ski passes and offers free Wi-Fi. Guests can relax on the sunny terrace or rent bicycles in nice weather. A coffee bar is also available on site. The Tell offers traditionally furnished rooms with private bathrooms and hairdryers and a TV. Laundry service is available on request. Tell Hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Interlaken West train station and free public parking is offered on site. The hotel's owners provide help with arranging and booking several activities and they can offer extensive information about the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tell Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing