We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, bit pricey.”
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
Ranked #12 of 171 Restaurants in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, bit pricey.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A nice alternative option for dinner. English-speaking owner who is very helpful. Good range of Mexican food - fajitas, burritos and enchiladas all very tasty! The food is a little expensive (especially if you factor in starters) and some may be a bit disappointed with portion size. Pleasant atmosphere and so long as you're used to Swiss prices it's a good option.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    73
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fantastic food in friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had dinner there a few days ago. we felt a very warm and friendly welcome of the staff. the menu has a big selection of mexican Food. According to the exposed cooking books the Manager seems to be a experienced Chef and author of cooking books.
our meals were all delicious, colourful and tasty.
nothing to complain about .
and of course we had some of the best margaritas ever!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
788 reviews
469 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“BEST Food for a steep price!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I researched El Azteca before we even left the States for our European Vacation. The plan was to eat there for my birthday dinner on Christmas Day. I was so pumped! We arrived and El Azteca was closed. :( However, we saw they would be open Dec. 26, so I wasn't so crushed. After a day of skiing in Grindelwald, we arrived back in Interlaken and went straight to El Azteca. I had the nachos plate and my husband ordered a burrito. The food was FANTASTIC! We enjoyed every single bite of our food. The price however...what can you say? The Swiss franc just doesn't compare to the dollar these days and the price of food in all of Switzerland was just overpriced in general. I think it was 75 Swiss francs for our dinner, about $85 for what we would normally pay no more than $30 at home. Oh well, it was worth it that day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polorosas, Propietario at El Azteca, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Im glad that you and your housband enjoyed your meals at my place, its a bit sad your toking about the prices, unfortunly this country its much more expensive than the one you live, we have for sure also more expenses, and like you kann notice our food is realy fresch, good presentacion, we had live music (no extra charge), in my country we said,"el que convierte no se divierte" that means if you compare the prices like at home you dont have fun, anyway thanks for visit us and if you come baack we will very happy to have you again, and the margarita is from the hause, nice greetins!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Between average and excellent”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Nice to have Mexican instead of fondue and Italian. Waiter was very pushy and thought he was being funny he was being a little obnoxious, we ordered the mixed starter, but it was very small with a big price, the fajitas were a big disappointment, everyone else seem to enjoy their meals. Live music was wonderful. On the whole food was tasty, but really very expensive for what it was, but then again what is not expensive in Switzerland.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst service I've ever encountered. Would rather go to McDonald's.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The waiter was obnoxious to say the least. He gave us all a filthy look when we ordered 4 main meals (for 5 ppl) as the 5th person wasn't hungry and ordered a starter instead. Since then the waiter was ignoring us and being outright rude. Would never go back and would strongly discourage others too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mano8uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polorosas, Inhaber at El Azteca, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear mano8uk and Guyandlady
We are very sorry that your visit in our restaurant did not satisfy you. Last Friday the restaurant was fully booked – and yes we were not very happy about ordering just tap water and not even a dish. We do apologize for the reaction, but we are sure no restaurant owner is happy about that. As always we give our best with the service we also did with you, explaining the whole menu, giving recommendations, checking if everything was fine and serving the food as fast as possible, as you had a very tired and hungry child with you (at 9 p.m.).
However after a short small talk and you leaving the restaurant smiling, you gave us the feeling that you enjoyed your visit, that’s why we are very surprised about your reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Azteca also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing