We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel & Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after driving into Interlaken without any reservations. The staff was exceptional! The gentleman at the desk took us to the rooms prior to committing to the stay. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and functional. Internet in the room worked great! Breakfast in the morning was included and was very good - typical European assortment of food. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HJN59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    92
    47
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
76
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

The locationis very good right next to the interlakne west station and bus stop. Although one has to go to interlakne OST to catch,OST of the trains but connectivity is good. The rooms are a it small but pretty neat. There is notes or coffee maker in the room. The hotel staff are extremely helpful.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bidyutbhanjdeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little worried after making the reservations. But it turned out to be a great choice, So convieniant, right across the road from Interlaken West Station. We had super service from the staff. Yes, the hotel is three star but I would certainly stay there again as we found it was good value. The breakfast was typical continental but no complaints there. In a very expensive Switzerland, we were glad we made this choice and would return

Room Tip: Facing the station/road can be a bit noisy - try for a back facing room rather
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurbanBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is more of a bed & breakfast than a hotel. There are so many rules & regulations you need to follow that you might want to keep a handbook for remembering all of them


The good:

Friendly staff - the staff is friendly & helpful. We had an early train to catch & they gave us some breakfast items to have on the train

Location - the hotel is right opposite the Interlaken west railway station & on Bahnhof street which is one of the main streets for shopping & eating. So everything you want is just a short walk away.


The bad:

Internet - no free Internet here. Internet charges are CHF 5 - 1 hour, 15 - 5 hours, 20 - 24 hours. Even with paid Internet, you can log in through only 1 device at a time. 

Too many rules - there are so many rules that the only thing you can do in your room is sleep. Some of them are understandable - like no cooking or washing clothes, no smoking. Others, quite unnecessary - like no eating in the rooms. This rules out travelling with children. If you smoke in the balcony & some of the smoke gets into the room, you are fined CHF 250.  If you cook in the room, you are fined 300 CHF (is this a boarding school or what?) This one is hilarious - "no talking in loud tones outside the rooms after 10 pm". Seriously? (Ok headmaster)

No fridge in the rooms - presumably since eating isn't allowed, but what if I want to store something for the long trip to jungfrau the next day?

Nano showers - showers are really tiny. A large person won't be able to fit in. The showers reminded me of the upright bath tubs they have in Tokyo, to save space. Don't think space is a problem in the Bernese Oberland.

Tap water - a sticker in the bathroom instructs you to drink tap water, since "all tap water in Switzerland is safe to drink". But down below in the restaurant when they ask you "what will you have to drink", you are not allowed to say "tap water"


Verdict:

Even though the staff are friendly, the overabundance of rules puts a dampener on your stay. I don't think I'll want to stay here again. 

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Arrived here after 24 hours of travel and found a pleasant welcome and a comfortable room. The hotel is nicely located on the high street with easy access to the rail station and shopping. It was very clean and the breakfast had a nice selection to choose from. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KansasTribesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Can't get a better location. Interlaken West Station (2min walk) across the road. Busy and popular restaurant and pavement cafe area at hotel entrance. Surrounded by shops, restaurants and other amenities. Good value 3 star hotel, and popular with tourists. Small rooms with balcony. Adequate selection for breakfast (cereals/yogurt/fruit/breads/jams/cold meats/cheese/boiled eggs/tea/coffee/juice). Hotel issues all guests on arrival with a free “travel card” giving one free access to all forms of transport systems within Interlaken.
Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Roger Jaun & Thomas Fuchs went the extra mile to assist me with obtaining and mailing back some clothing I could not retrieve at a local Laundromat before my departure. Ensure you only use the Laundromat which the hotel advises you to use!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street, which is lively and will give you a beautiful view of the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 682Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

It was a wonderful hotel with a balcony in every room. Ours had a front row view of the Jungfrau glacier, and overlooked the main street. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Our favorite lodging of six different hotels in three weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#25 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Property: Hotel Bernerhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 16, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bernerhof)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Bernerhof" is situated in one of the most beautiful places in Switzerland, between the two lakes of Thun and Brienz, on the feets of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. The hotel is very centrally located, near the railway station Interlaken West, the boat landing stage for Lake Thun and the bus station. The congress center, the Casino and the Boedelibad, with in- and outdoor swimming pool and a beautiful wellness area, are easy to reach. To explore the entire Jungfrau region we offer you a ideal starting point. Our 43 rooms are distributed on five floors and with the elevator comfortably attainable. From our roof terrace you have an unforgettable outlook on the Jungfrau and the surrounding mountain world. A hairdresser studio is also in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bernerhof
Best Western Interlaken
Interlaken Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing