We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
sheffield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here in a triple room in the main building in August.We had two spacious interconnecting rooms with a big balcony and wonderful views.The location is fantastic with shops and restaurants nearby and free parking.The staff were friendly and helpful and they e-mailed me in advance regarding my dietary needs.They were happy to get more things at breakfast when they had run out.We didn't actually eat other meals at the hotel as there were so many other places to go.The only negative things were that it was very hot while we were there and with the balcony windows open there was a lot of noise when the many coaches picked up at odd hours.Also the glass doors on the toilet and bathroom along with a mirror opposite is an interesting idea!

Room Tip: Seems like the main building has the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nell63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    196
    113
    30
    31
See reviews for
123
159
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

First, let me set the background right. This review is strictly a comparison with other European hotels of similar class.

I wasn't too happy with this property - for starters our voucher said "City Oberland", but the accommodation was in a property called the City Oberland Guesthouse - you could just cross a small lane and get into it from the main property, but it seemed rather like the step child of the hotel.

Let me state outright that I had no issues whatsoever with the cleanliness or the amount of space available for 3 of us.

What WAS a pain was the room setting itself - our room was on the top floor (there was a spacious lift available to cart luggage), and by virtue of being squeezed into the level right under the slanting roof, half the room's height was occupied by the roof itself. Now this made it extremely inconvenient considering that the beds were placed at the very edge - so both beds had a slant right over them. Will try and fetch a pic to explain better.

The third bed was more spacious, as it was one rather steep level up. The two days that we stayed were fairly warm, and we found it extremely uncomfortable even with the windows open. A pedestal fan was provided, but it didn't help very much.

However, my biggest grouse was the lack of wifi connectivity in the "guesthouse". wifi was freely available - but only in the main building. Would have also appreciated an exhaust in the bathroom - after a hot shower, it became rather muggy in there.

The room was provided with a kettle and tea/coffee supplies.

There was a nice Indian restaurant right next door to us, and we enjoyed a good mean from there.

The main hotel had a charming souvenir shop, and location wise it was fantastic. You could just hop out to catch a bus, or shop, or walk along the astonishingly beautiful roads. It was also in close proximity to a large number of restaurants, vegetarian and otherwise. You could get off at either Interlaken East or West stations, and take a bus to the other side. The hotel is located in the middle. Any such bus would drop you less than 100 m away from the hotel. Or take a cab - cost us hardly about 14 CHF.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esoterika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

One of the worst kept rooms and hotel in my experience. Rooms are dirty, a/c does not work, room was never vacuumed, pieces of glass on the worn and dirty carpets, service is little better than horrible. Multiple complaints to the manager was not acknowledged. They primarily cater to bus load of tourists from conducted tours, if you are an individual family, please avoid like the garbage dump. Don;t ruin your vacation by staying here. You have multiple choices for a hotel in the beautiful city of Interlaken.

Room Tip: Just avoid the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rufenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Interlaken hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Rooms were fairly big. Although there was no air conditioning, a large fan was provided and there was cool air from open windows. Room and bathroom were clean. However, we were not in the main hotel but a separate guest house across the street. Breakfast was ok and filling. Located close to Interlaken West station and near main city sights.

The most annoying part was that there was only free internet in the lobby. Internet could be provided to your room for an additional charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttopolinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located near the train station and on the main street of town. There is a main building and a "guest house," which is a second building across a small alley. The hotel is modern and offers a nice breakfast. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the restaurant staff are not. We ate dinner at the restaurant in the hotel one night and breakfast there three times, and each time the restaurant staff was unpleasant and boarder line rude.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

we stayed 3 nights at city oberland. we had requested for a pickup from the railway station but were declined as the hotel does not offer this (were surprised as other hotels at zermatt, st moritz were happy to arrange this). anyway, the hotel is well connected by bus and a short walk from the station. We had rooms in the annexe directly behind the main building. The lift is tiny and can barely carry 3 people at one go. Good location with easy access. plenty of eating options around. Lot of Indians flock here as they have an Indian restaurant which serves great food. Since it was raining a bit we picked some umbrellas from the hotel which they offer against a deposit. They also provide bicycles on hire but we didnt try them as we were out most of the day. There is free internet and wifi in the reception area which was very useful. Bathrooms were a bit squeezed. Breakfast was crowded and was OK. Not many options for vegetarians. Fruits basket ran empty quickly but the staff was kind enough to refill it on request. Overall its a good option due to its location and especially for Indians. Anyway interlaken is swarming with Indian tourists so its hard to miss our countrymen in this town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzmehul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days in a triple room. The hotel's reception is grand and the rooms belong to 19th century which unpleasantly surprised us! The beds and cupboards creaky but the toilet was good with a bathtub and very big washbasin.
Location is 10 mins walk from interlaken west, but quite far from interlaken Ost
Main thing to be wary of are the cleaners who steal small items ( in our case) if they find bags unlocked! We lost hairbrushes, chargers.
Wifi was only available in the common areas and paid in the rooms which was quite inconvenient.
Overall it's an average place

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodhi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#24 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland

Property: City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland
Address: Hoeheweg 7, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City Hotel Oberland! The Hotel is very centrally located in the heart of Interlaken, only a few minutes walking distance from the Interlaken West railway station and close to the best knwon sights. 191 rooms with a high level of comfort, different conference rooms, shops and boutiques, 3 restaurants and 2 bars cater for just about all wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Swiss q Interlaken
City Swiss q Resort Oberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing