We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the oberland hotel July 23 rd for a week , with the family, this hotel catered for all our awkward diets , the staff we friendly and very helpful as they were last year , this hotel is so convenient to all amenities, right on the bus stops to local train stations. Lovely walks to breath taking views of the river. There is something for everyone at this resort and hotel . If we didn't want to seek out other parts of switzerland we would definitely stay at the oberland again

Room Tip: All were about the same really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were fortunate to sleep on the quieter side of the hotel away from the impossibly loud music celebrating the Swiss National Day. Very comfortable room and bathroom, good service at Reception and good breakfast buffet choices.

Room Tip: Avoid the main street side for noise and southern, hot exposure in the summertime. Get there early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susanjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hi Friends,

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I just do not have words to explain the beauty of Interlaken and the comfort at City Oberland. Its the kind of stuff you see in your dreams. I highly recommend staying here. The pros and cons below :

Pros

1) We stayed in their best quality rooms and hence got a room on the high floor in the main building. Very spacious (for swiss standards), clean with decent views. The bed was super comfortable and the entire room was carpeted. Tea/coffee maker was a big plus. Also A/C which is a must in the summer months else it can get suffocating

2) It is perfectly placed in Interlaken. Just 5 mins from West station and 10-15 mins from OST. Walk to west and take the bus to OST. Very lively place as well. A few bars nearby

3) Excellent restaurant options. For Indians, the Spice Route restaurant is right there. No need to go elsewhere. Its THE BEST. Can even put Indian restaurants to shame. Yes, its super expensive so take care of that. A pizzeria is right there as well. A small supermarket nearby.

4) The service staff were extremely polite. They seemed very well trained and many of them have been with the hotel for a long time. They helped us to plan the sightseeing. The TV screen with the weather update at the reception was super useful

5) Being on the main road its a good place to be taking late evening/night walks. Believe me the place looks like a film set.

6) The Breakfast was decent. More fruit options would have been nice. After all its swiss.

SPECIAL MENTION - LEA at the reception was the bright shinning star. She effortlessly handled all our queries. You have a long way to go lady. Management, pls convey my thanks to her.

Cons

1) Despite taking the highest category room with a provision for an extra bed we had to pay just to get that bed made. That seemed a little weird. Hotel should look into it

2) The service people at the breakfast area could smile a bit. They were the only people who
did not give you the right vibe

3) They should tone down their prices a bit.

Overall, every reason to stay here. Why spend a bomb at a 5 star property which is 100 meters away when you are going to be out the whole day in the mountains.
All I can same in Arnold style is - I WILL BE BACK !!!

Happy travelling,
Gautam

Tip of the Review -
1) Must dine at Spice Route
2) Must dine at the pizzeria right outside the hotel. Its part of Weiss Hotel
3) Must do Harder Klum sightseeing. Spend a few hours there chilling
4) Among all the mountain excursions - go for Matterhorn Glacier Paradise

Room Tip: Go for Mid-category or highest category rooms. They are worth it in non peak season when the prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GudduKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a group trip. The hotel was very good and I would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it. Once U.S. folks get used to European bathrooms and beds you should find this hotel to be one of the better ones. There were no room complaints. The hotel restaurant was excellent as was the small pub. We were there in what must be the off season (?) of mid May as things were not crowded ( in town either ) and the staff was friendly and able to carry on conversations at leisure. Lovely people. The food was very good here and going from other reviews it was our # 2 choice going in. We were not disappointed. The hotel location is excellent as you are within an easy walk of about everything. The rooms were quiet at night. We happened to be in a corner room which afforded beautiful views of the mountains. there was a small balcony which allowed us to sit outside.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner facing the streets as you will get a mountain view. We had no noise at night but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had read some bad reviews so was a bit concerned but I needn't have been. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My room-a single-was an excellent size with large window overlooking a pedestrian area surrounded by restaurants. No late night noise. Ample storage space plus usual tv hairdrier etc, even tea making facilities which is unusual in Switzerland. En suite was spacious enough with bath and shower above. The restaurant choices were really good but if there was a problem with a menu the staff always tried to offer alternatives. Breakfast was plentiful with usual cereals, breads and eggs bacon and sausages. All in all it was faultless apart from the towels and bedding. Towels were really small and thin. Pillows were flat as was the duvet itself but the linen was spotless. A very central position with free buses outside down to the station and lake cruising.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erich R, Manager at City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments. Sometimes it is challanging to meet the customers expectations. That's why we are even more happy, if our way of managing the place was understood and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Centrally located to everything. 15 mins walk to interlaken Ost station for trains to Junfrau etc. Very close to the co op. Lots of food joints around. The Italian joint downstairs was fabulous. A long walk in the roadway along the lake behind water is spectacular. Large rooms and large openable Windows. Who cares about views when you are out of the room for the entire day in the mountains nearby. Great breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srichilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Where do I start, our room was great, cleaners came to us everyday. We had fresh towels everyday and they topped up our tea and coffee daily. We don't normally get this wherever else we have been.
I have food allergies such as gluten and dairy, I cannot praise the chef and other staff at the hotels restaurant enough, everyday they made a separate meal for me making sure that all my meals followed my dietary requirements. I did feel abit of nuisance, but they made me feel like it was no trouble.
The hotels position is perfect as you are in the heart of Interlaken, but there isn't any need to worry about the centre being too noisey because Interlaken is quiet in the evenings.
I would also like to praise the Indian restaurant Spice India, one of the nicest curries I have in along time and being from the UK, we eat a lot of them. The staff were so friendly too :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayekaye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 39 in Interlaken
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#18 of 39 in Interlaken
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 39 in Interlaken
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland

Address: Hoeheweg 7, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: £95 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City Hotel Oberland! The Hotel is very centrally located in the heart of Interlaken, only a few minutes walking distance from the Interlaken West railway station and close to the best knwon sights. 191 rooms with a high level of comfort, different conference rooms, shops and boutiques, 3 restaurants and 2 bars cater for just about all wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Swiss q Interlaken
City Swiss q Resort Oberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing