We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you're a smoker”
Review of Katy's Lodge

Katy's Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Katy's Lodge
Ranked #36 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok if you're a smoker”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This place is exactly as advertised, no-frills, clean and well located. It is a 1 minute walk from the Interlaken West station with regular traIns to Ost if you need to get up to Jungfrau or whatever. There are also supermarkets and places to eat nearby. We had a family room which was a double & bunks and fine for 3 adults. We had a sink in the room and shared bathroom facilities. (The first and last time for me!) The major issue was the smoking indoors which caused everything to stink of cigarette smoke! Even having our window open in the cold evenings did nothing to remove the smell from our bedding. Gross!! On the second night the roof developed a leak over the master bed and I had to climb up into the top bunk bed to sleep. This place is okay for expensive Interlaken but next time I'd spend a bit more money and go elsewhere. Unless you're a budget traveller who smokes in which case it would be perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Katy's is very nice, friendly and helpful.. The room is huge, clean and homey. The view from the window is spectacular. We can use the kitchen which is very useful to us and we can find a supermarket just on the opposite of Katy's Lodge.
The location is just the opposite of West Station Interlaken.
The shared bathroom is clean.
This B&B is recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a great experience at Katy's. The room was huge and I like that we had our own bathroom. We shared the shower but not a problem. The B & B had a microwave and small fridge so to save money you could buy some food at the mall next door to make sandwiches while touring the area. Great location for families and if you are travelling by train, walking distance is very short.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdecker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had a one night stay at Katy's Lodge in a family room on the second floor. Even though there were only 4 of us, the room consisted of two singles joined together to form a double, and four bunk beds. The room was fairly basic, though it was neat and clean and had enough space to store a large suitcase. Katy was a very friendly host and it felt like we were staying in a room in an old Aunt's house! The bathroom facilities were shared but quite clean. A microwave was also available in the dining area for self-caterers, with a Migros supermarket just across the street. The breakfast was disappointing, with only a small selection of cereals, some bread, cheese and jam on offer. The lodge is located very close to Interlaken West train station, barely a three minute walk away. Overall it offers good value basic accommodation for families on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank test_opener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We travelled in September to Interlaken with our three children. Katy's was great. We were made to feel at home and the lodge was immaculate. The faclities allowed us to self cater which was great. The lounge area near our room meant our kids had space to relax and watch a movie or play a game. The owner went out of her way to make our stay great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My adult daughter & I travelled with a small group through Europe for a month. We stayed at Katy's Lodge for 3 nights. Katy was very welcoming and even let us cook in her kitchen one night! The Jungfrau & Trummelbachfalle are accessible by the train that leaves close to Katy's. The grocery store is across the road & other shopping just around the corner. Katy cooked for us, washed our clothes and provided free internet. The beds were the most comfortable of all that we slept on in Europe & the bedroom was quiet. Our group had afternoon drinks in the garden, watching the parasailors land. Interlaken was a highlight of our trip - I would recommend Katy's to all travellers. Rosemarie (& Sarah).

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room on the first floor, with a shared bathroom. Some rooms have more beds in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemariemccaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Katy's welcoming smile and helpful nature made us feel right at home. It was perfect place to be with kids. We had all of 2nd floor to ourselves between 2 families. Abundance of books both in English and Deutch, great view from our rooms. Large rooms, wide staircase and big common area between rooms where we chilled out in evenings with our own beer. There was a small fridge and microwave on 2nd floor and full access to kitchen at all times.
Just loved staying there.... Amazing value for money...
Will definitely go back
We were also able to with wide common area

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namtush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MyHotel Merkur
MyHotel Merkur
#39 of 46 in Interlaken
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
#19 of 46 in Interlaken
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blume
Hotel Blume
#9 of 46 in Interlaken
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katy's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy's Lodge

Property: Katy's Lodge
Address: Bernastrasse 7, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Katy's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing