We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros & Cons”
Review of Katy's Lodge

Katy's Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Katy's Lodge
Ranked #37 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pros & Cons”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Katy's Lodge is in a good location which is a short distance walk from the Interlaken West station. My boyfriend and i stayed here in August 2013 as part of a group tour.

Pros:
-Coffee & Tea provided
-Excellent location
-Very friendly host
-WIFI
-Laundry could be done for a very cheap price

Cons:
-Bathrooms are quite old and need updating
-Bed was uncomfortable
-The lodge quite often smelt of smoke

While there were some cons i would still recommend this as a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panda_eyes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This lodge is a declared heritage property and Katy welcomes all with a warm and friendly smile. Cosy lodging with a very nice breakfast provided. She even cooked us a Swiss specialty with no garlic and meat, since as Jains we do not eat these. I really loved our very short stay of 1 night at this lodge. It is 2 minutes walk from Interlaken - West railway station which was great for us, since we used the Swiss rail for our Swiss visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pintuj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at Katys Lodge as part of a trip around Europe.

The B+B is in a good location close to Interlaken West train station, it's only 2mins walk. Also, the town centre is very close with bars, restaurants and a couple of supermarkets.

Katys Lodge felt more like a youth hostel rather than a hotel so it might not be ideal for everyone. Plenty of rules and regulations apply, posters on the wallls remind you of them!

My room (2A) was clean and comfortable with an ensuite toilet plus balcony. A shared shower was available on the same floor.

Breakfast is very basic, I think I'd use the supermarket if I stayed at Katys Lodge again.

Wi-fi internet access is available but only on the ground floor not in the bedrooms. Also, all the main hall lights are switched off at 11pm so be careful if you have a late night out!

Room Tip: If you book a double bed room then ask for Room 2A, it has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonUK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great location - Interlaken West train / Bus / Boat station just 2 min walking distance away ... Clean....spacious ... Supermarket (Migros) just across the street ... breakfast was decent ... You have access to a refrigerator and microwave ... Since we stayed there with family and kids for almost a week, these were very useful for us ...

You need to be aware of that there is no lift and bathroom is shared ... We were told at the time of booking - so were not surprised ...

Overall good value B&B ... certainly recommend to fellow travelers ...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajFromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here as part of our Rome to Paris intrepid trip for three nights. We found the place cheap and cheerful but dont expect the hilton. Shared bathrooms/toilets etc... but it is clean and homely.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights in a room with a balcony, its own toilet and shared shower. The building is old but well looked after, the room its self was clean, quite spacious and well furnished. Breakfast was very basic (bread, ham, cheese, two kinds of cereal as well as tea juice and coffee). For the location and price its worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyBee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Large room, older style but comfortable and clean. Great facilities. The manager was very kind and accommodating to let us check in at 11am and have an early breakfast before departure. Great location. Recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 721daryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#17 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loetschberg
Hotel Loetschberg
#13 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphorn
Hotel Alphorn
#2 of 46 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Happy Inn Lodge
Happy Inn Lodge
#20 of 46 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
MyHotel Merkur
MyHotel Merkur
#39 of 46 in Interlaken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
#19 of 46 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katy's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katy's Lodge

Property: Katy's Lodge
Address: Bernastrasse 7, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Katy's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing