We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice for Interlaken accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Interlaken Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I enjoyed our stay greatly with my family in 2012 Winter. There are a few reasons that this is my top choice for accommodation in Interlaken:

1. LOCATION: It's literally 2 minutes walk Interlaken Ost Station
2. Super clean, nice, ultra modern design
3. Low cost (compared to hotel of similar quality).

One important thing is to set your expectation right. Think of it as a hotel or a hotel quality hostel. So don't expect dirt cheap price for a night stay in a typical youth hostel in other country.

But if you compared the price of this with the price on an average hotel in Interlaken, you'll realize this is a great bargain.

The only difference is, you'll need to make your beds and return the linens at the counter upon check-out. But it's no big deal.

Wifi was only available in the lobby area. But it was a cool, and stylish hangout place. So the lack of in-room wifi was not a deal breaker.

We, a family of 4, booked a 4 bed with bathroom and balcony. Room was super spacious. Balcony gave a wonderful view.

Morning buffet breakfast ( included in the room price) was great. Visitors should consider having lunch or dinner here as well because the quality is good and price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms with private balcony is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were a group of four visiting Interlaken for two nights. We booked this hostel on the basis of other TripAdvisor reviews and it did not disappoint us!
The hostel is conveniently located, very close to the Interlaken OST station. The check-in process was swift, the staff was courteous, and the rooms were clean and ready.
The rooms are well thought out. The bunker beds have their own reading lights and charging units. You have to make your own bed though.
There is no refrigerator in the room, but you can ask the front desk for help (we had some medicines we had to stow).
Breakfast was included in the tariff. It was a nice spread for the low price we paid for the room.
Other things to note: There are individuals lockers for every bed in the room, there is an elevator to take your stuff up, and there is a picnic area with a microwave to do some cooking. We would have carried some ready to eats if we had known! There is a Coop supermarket store next to the station for your grocery needs while you stay there.
Overall, an excellent visit and we will most definitely go back if we ever visit there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our first experience staying in a Youth Hostel. and we were pleasantly surprised. The building and amenities were modern. Simple yet comfortable. Of course, being a youth hostel, they didn't offer luxuries, but we were happy nonetheless. The Interlaken Ost train station is just next door, a large Coop (supermarket) is opposite the train station and breakfast is included - cereals, bread, coffee, juices, muesli. If you want croissant, you'll have to pay extra. We didn't have to because what was available was more than enough. Large TV in the common area and free wifi is available. It isn't really a Swiss mountains experience, but it was a great base for us to go up to the mountains and do day trips to nearby Lucerne and Bern.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with ensuite instead of a dorm. The rooms are clustered in the end of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great localization, literally 10 steps from the train station. Clean rooms and bathroom facilities, ok breakfast, friendly helpful staff, big lockers. Best hostel I've ever been. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hostel is as good as the reviews, its new, spacious, warm, clean. The staff speak good english and it all made for a very pleasant stay. You couldn't even hear the trains. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreauwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This youth hostel well surpasses our expectations. Modern, very clean and tidy, 2 minutes walk to Ost train station (yet it's quiet inside the room) and supermarket, very spacious dining area and common area, friendly and helpful staff .... very reasonable rates ... what else can you expect in an expensive city like Interlaken? We stayed at a 2-bed room with private bath and a balcony, very nice and very comfortable beds. If all youth hostels are of this standard, I think we will have no hesitation to stay in youth hostel at all our destinations (but unfortunately two other youth hostels we stayed at after this one in Switzerland were disappointing).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

LOCATION: Interlaken Youth Hostel is located at Untere Bönigstrasse 3, a stone's throw away from Interlaken Ost Train Station. When you exit the station, you will surely notice this ugly monstrosity: a mammoth concrete slab in murky brown. From here, it is an easy 10 minutes' walk into town where the action is.

ROOM: We stayed in a clean and spacious Twin Room with spartan furnishings: 2 single beds (pushed together); a pair of bedside tables with reading lamps; small table with stool; big open-wardrobe with hangers and ample storage space. The huge window looks out onto the main road and lets in not just lots of daylight but also traffic noise. Power sockets are strategically placed around the room for easy charging of electronic devices.

BEDS: both were clean and fairly comfortable. Bed linen was not changed during stay and upon departure, we had to strip the beds and deposit the used linen into a laundry bin located downstairs.

BATHROOM: clean and of good size, it was equipped with the usual: mirror over sink; toilet; and shower with soap dispenser. Clean towels and ample toilet rolls were provided.

F&B: room rate was inclusive of daily breakfast, which was served cafeteria-style in a spacious dining area next to the lobby. There was a generous spread including: bread; cereals/mueslis; butter & assorted jams; milk; assorted cheese & yoghurt; fruit juices; hot chocolate; coffee & tea.

The Hostel has an in-house restaurant that serves international cuisine; it is open daily from 7am till midnight.

SERVICE: Room Reservation, Check-In & Out all proceeded smoothly. Full payment is required upon arrival. Frontline staff spoke fluent English and provided prompt, efficient service.

FACILITIES: Bike Rental & Storage Service; Comics Library; Guest Lounge; Internet Station with Free WiFi (available in lobby only, not in rooms); Laundry Room; Lockers for secure storage of personal belongings; Play Room for kids; Pool Table; and TV Room.

IN SHORT: Although the structural design & interior decor of Interlaken Youth Hostel are devoid of any aesthetic appeal, the property does succeed in providing clean and functional rooms as well as comprehensive facilities at reasonable rates. If I had to stay overnight in Interlaken, I would probably choose this Hostel again, mainly for its convenient location.

However, I did find Interlaken to be overcrowded and touristy; the place was overrun by hordes of Asian tourists which made us feel as though we were no longer in Switzerland... I would prefer to stay elsewhere in a more tranquil small town (e.g. Brienz or Meiringen) and make a day-trip here instead.

Room Tip: Rooms situated at end of hallway may be quieter, else you may have to contend with noisy kids runnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interlaken
1.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
722 reviews
9.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 29 in Interlaken
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Youth Hostel

Address: Untere Boenigstrasse 3a | 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Interlaken
Price Range: £58 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Interlaken Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is a town with international flair. The unique location of the youth hostel next door to Interlaken-Ost Railway Station and at the foot of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains offers boundless pleasure for adventurous guests. A train journey up to Jungfraujoch is one of the highlights of a trip through Switzerland. Jungfraujoch also boasts the highest railway station in Europe - at an altitude of 3,454 metres in a high-alpine wonderland of ice, snow and rock. The extensive ski areas with over 200 kilometres of pistes are also very popular in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Interlaken Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing